We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,069)
Filter reviews
3,069 results
Traveler rating
1,331
1,050
416
172
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,331
1,050
416
172
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachcolonial hotelseafood covemount laviniasri lankagovernor's restaurantpool terracedirect ocean view roomindian oceanhigh tealobby managerseafood restaurantold world charmoverlooking the seamain restaurantcolonial stylecolonial feel
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 3,069 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

We love Friday dinner buffet at Mount Lavinia Hotel. It is without a doubt the best in Colombo. The staff was friendly and helped my family to surprise me on my birthday. The cake was really delicious. Looking forward to dine there soon.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Venurika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is the biggest reward for all our efforts towards creating memories for our guests. We appreciate your generous compliments on our friendly staff and food. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

Had a two night whilst on a working trip at this superb hotel. The 1.00am checkin was managed superbly with the minimum of fuss ( 22 in our party). The rooms were clean and tidy and the linen fresh. The restaurant served an excellent array of meals. Only negative is hotel guests are permitted to smoke in and around the dining room.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
Thank Thommo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is the biggest reward for all our efforts towards creating memories for our guests. We appreciate your generous compliments on our friendly staff,service, food, and rooms. We however, must state that guests are only permitted to smoke in open dining areas such as the terrace and not within enclosed dining areas. Nevertheless, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018

Mount Lavinia Hotel - arrived there very early in the morning. Room was spacious and clean with a large balcony. What a surprise in the morning to see a lovely unrestricted view of the ocean< Beautiful grounds with manicured lawns. Our buffet breakfast was delicious. TIDDY BALDSING was a very nice and helpful waiter - it was very easy to communicate with him because he knew perfect ENGLISH!!!

Room Tip: Lovely ocean view pool
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is the biggest reward for all our efforts towards creating memories for our guests. We appreciate your generous compliments on our friendly staff, rooms, food and amazing views. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Old hotel built at 1900
Nice view over Colombo
Perfect breakfast and dinner
Very good and quick room dinning
Nice pool areas
There is 2 wings in this hotel: old one with very small rooms( did not like it at all)
New one with nice view and better bathrooms

We booked 9 rooms, at first the man in reception was not quiet clear at difference between both wings, he was rude and very slow.
Later the job was transferred to a very nice gentleman, we got us much better rooms, was very fast, understanding and nice. Very professional and he surprised me with an upgrade to nice Sweet as an apologize for the late check.
I am so sad I did not get his name to thank him.

In this hotel I enjoyed tasty breakfast with amazing view over Columba and the ocean

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Omnia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is the biggest reward for all our efforts towards creating memories for our guests. We appreciate your generous compliments on our food, pool, room service and amazing views. We do however, apologize for the inconvenience caused due to your unfavorable experience with one of our staff members. Overall, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is old and charming, but it is now time to update some of the rooms. We were on the lower level room 058. Nice balcony over the sea. Room and bathroom both spacious but carpet was stained, and bathroom needs an update. The air conditioner is so noisey it drowns out the lovely sound of the sea. Taking breakfast on the roof terrace is delightful and we enjoyed our Sri Lankan breakfasts. A lovely old hotel, but old rooms aren’t so appealing to tourists

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank annaabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor on your recent experience at the hotel. We value your feedback to us and appreciate you taking the time to bring the matter to our attention. It is with much regret that we read of this unsatisfactory experience of yours with the old rooms, stained carpet, noisy air conditioner and bathroom. Please accept our sincere apologies for same. We believe that it is only by accepting and working on constructive feedback from our guests, that we can achieve the highest levels of service that we aspire towards. While we truly value your patronage, may I request you to kindly consider this incident as a one off case and not a reflection of the usual standards that we at Mount Lavinia Hotel follow or aspire to deliver to our most valued guests! We are however, extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our terrace and traditional Sri Lankan breakfasts. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and we hope to serve you better for your next visit with the best of our services provided to you.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews