We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,073)
Filter reviews
3,073 results
Traveler rating
1,333
1,051
417
172
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,333
1,051
417
172
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachcolonial hotelseafood covemount laviniasri lankagovernor's restaurantpool terracedirect ocean view roomindian oceanhigh tealobby managerseafood restaurantold world charmoverlooking the seamain restaurantcolonial stylecolonial feel
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 3,073 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2017

I had the pleasure of going on a trip across lovely Sri Lanka with a fairly large group, staying at over 9 hotels. This is a review of Mount Lavina Hotel based on our group's experience during our stay -

Pros:
+ Beautiful scenery. Hotel faces the beach with private beach access.
+ Lovely architecture.
+ Standard rooms were clean and large sized. There were 2 armchairs, a coffee table, a writing table. Even with all that and my luggage spread open, there was enough space to walk comfortably.
+ A bonus if you get a room that's sea-facing. (i got mine. Came with a small balcony)
+ Food was good. Decent variety during buffet. Waiters were polite and prompt.
Didn't had time to try the bar so no comment on that.
+ Good getaway for couples. Young kids might enjoy the sand but the water is very rough. Swimming is only for strong swimmers.

Cons:
- Room decor is slightly dated.
- Very long and dim corridors. If you get an a corner room, be prepared to walk!
- Not much to see around the hotel. Don't expect shopping and such. More of a get away hotel.

Overall:
Lovely hotel with beautiful surroundings as long as you don't mind slightly dated rooms.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank WCCL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is the biggest reward for all our efforts towards creating memories for our guests. We appreciate your generous compliments on our amazing views, rooms, food, private beach and iconic location. We value your criticism toward our room decor and dim corridors and will take relevant measures to improve our standards. Nevertheless, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017

Many times I went there and also to the restorants and Ms Priyanthi, Ms Piyumanthi Ms Kumari staff members were provided excellent service with very friendly mood as well as all other staff too. The swimming pool and the panorama excellent.

Room Tip: Ocean view in the old annex.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kair01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is the biggest reward for all our efforts towards creating memories for our guests. We appreciate your generous compliments on our friendly staff, service, panoramic views, restaurants and iconic location. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017

Being at the hotel was such a wonderful experience. The Suit and its facilities are way beyond superior.The food, atmosphere, peaceful environment,dinner with soothing music near the pool, sea view of the room was breath taking, helpful staff and entire hospitality was fully completed without and hesitance.

Omal.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kalpasha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is the biggest reward for all our efforts towards creating memories for our guests. We appreciate your generous compliments on our friendly staff, service, food, colonial ambiance, amazing views and iconic location. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

This was my solo trip to srilanka and i am glad that i choose mountlavinia. Its an excellent property with awesome breakfast options i had never seen so much variety in food and it tasted so good.Superb private beach area to spend your time peacefully extra friendly staff i had my grear time there just wanna say thanks for making my trip memorabale:)

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
2  Thank dlml-ghnvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is the biggest reward for all our efforts towards creating memories for our guests. We appreciate your generous compliments on our friendly staff, service, private beach and iconic location. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

Colonial hotel steeped in history. Views from our room where great and the food was also very good. Lovely pool area again with very nice views of the ocean. Room was nice and clean but felt a little tired. Main criticism would be the rubbish on the beach. Pics below. Just felt it would have been easy to have a daily sweep of the beach to remove plastic bottles etc.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHGroup, Public Relations Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Dear Valued Guest
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is the biggest reward for all our efforts towards creating memories for our guests. We appreciate your generous compliments on our amazing views, rooms, and amazing views. We do apologize for the tired rooms and the rubbish on the beach, measures have been taken to rectify these issues. Nevertheless, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Team MLH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews