We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

After five days jungle trekking in the mountains around Kandy, arriving at this property was a most welcome experience. I was travelling with my family, the most important needs was fully taken care of before I was even shown to our suite; children first, traditional welcome drink and refreshing towels. The corner suite was spacious and bright interior, which included a living room with a large flat screen TV and the Indian Ocean view from the bedroom was spectacular. The Bathroom also included both a bath tub and shower. The House Keeping team made a fantastic job, the hand towels have been folded into a shape of birds and elephants! Outstanding cleanliness and impressive service we received throughout the stay. The seafood dinner at the beach was fantastic and the daily breakfast buffet was also good. Attentive employees and friendly atmosphere made our stay more memorable. A big thank you to the entire team at the Mount Lavinia Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    849
    348
    136
    72
See reviews for
529
958
139
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We visited this hotel and decided to dine at the Seafood cove restaurant. Personally this place has been a favourtie and it was at my suggestion that a few of us friends decided to pick this hotel.

We were horribly disappointed by not just one but many things. It appears this beautiful hotel has lost its standards of service, etiquette and even sadly, basic hygiene in the food.

To start with, when we went there n settled in we were given only one menu. once we placed the order for drinks, its took 25 minutes, to be served with drinks, it was surprising as we were the ONLY guests there at the time.

when the drinks came the hot beverages were already cooled down. We decided to place the order for the mains at the same time, however getting the food to the table took close to 45 minutes! again, the items ordered were a bowl of fries, Fish n chips, and a Ceasar Salad.

By this time we were pretty annoyed at having to inquire a few times on the status of the food. My friend ordered a Ceasar salad, and offered us some, as we both took our first bite of it, who should CRAWL OUT OF THE SALAD but a WORM!!!! This was disgucting beyond expression for us, and we immediately called out for the serving staff's attention (which was not attentive at all). When the waiter came we showed him the worm crawling on the plate and we also wanted some water as we were both feeling disgusted.

Not being able to bear it, I walked behind him myself to get some water and what i saw absolutely infuriated me. There was our waiter amusingly saying to the chef, "There's a worm on this, these people are fussing about it" and laughing about it!!!!!

So to add to the fact that they failed to maintain BASIC HYGIENE in handling food, the attitude of taking it as a joke was appalling! Where a well trained waiter would at least have rushed to get us water or apologized, this guys did nothing of the sort.

Needless to say, we walked out. A manager did come to speak to us, however we were too put off by this to eat anything from there.

This was an experience beyond disappointing!!!!! Hotel management, please pay attention to the standards of service maintained by your staff and make sure they are well trained! I have experience far better service and attitudes from restaurants which don't proclaim themselves "star class"!! I have written this review under the hotel and not just the restaurant because as a hotel, it is your responsibility to provide a uniform service at ALL customer interaction points.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

After the mayhem of driving through Colombo, the colonial grandeur and calm of the Mount Lavinia hotel was a sight for sore eyes.
We had a direct sea view room with a small balcony on the 3rd floor. Lovely room and beautiful view of the little bay and across to the expanse of Mount lavinia beach.
The staff is superb, very friendly, helpful and immaculately dressed in a variety of extravagant uniforms.
The breakfast buffet was amazing; eggs any style, bacon, sausage, beans, cereals, fruits, pastries, curries and juices. Eating on the terrace overlooking the bay was sublime.
The pool is nice, and sun loungers comfortable.
There were a lot of weddings going on, and nice to see so many people dressed up and happy.
The hotel is only a short walk from the train station which goes directly into Colombo; a half hour journey for 30 rupees.
There are a few small restaurants nearby which were good, but nothing beats the cocktails at the Mount Lavinia!
The spa is nice, and we had a really good Balinese massage.
Seafood cove on the beach is also good. We only had lunch here but it was excellent.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel; it's a bit pricey but you definitely get what you pay for. It's not immaculate but for a grand old building it's pretty close!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delfusilage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The mount Lavinia is a lovely old Hotel. It has a nice coloninal style. What i really have to give 5 stars is the food. Such a great taste and the variety. There should be some food for everyone. Also nice beach sea food restaurant is there. There is a travel counter where you can make some great tours. We first made the colombo city tour and later a safri. This was a great experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After staying in about seven other places during our stay in Sri Lanka, we decided to end our holiday in style and pushed the boat out by choosing Mount Lavinia. The lobby, bar, swimming pool and terrace were all very well looked after - although the rooms themselves seemed a bit dated. We successfully requested to move room once shown our ground floor room, which was musky and we didn't enjoy being at ground level with staff walking past our window. Although the curtains in our new room didn't meet... The terrace was a great seating area (yes many crows) and we also enjoyed the evening buffets, probably just about verging on the ok side of good value.

Given the room fee, it felt like we were paying for the hotel's decorative investment and staffing levels more than room quality itself. Also, given that we paid close to 2x here compared to our other stays in Sri Lanka, we didn't feel it was twice as good as our other stays.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room not on the ground floor, as it is at height level - staff/others wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

very good friendly service by all staffs,especially the front office manager highly
skilled, very experienced and very help full,he has made sure that we had a pleasant stay at hotel.break fast is excellent also i recommend the sea food restaurant next to the beach


Room Tip: sea view rooms is the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Ahilan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veracruz
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

My family and have stayed at MLH three times, best food, warm people, always smily and friendly, great rooms, lovely music at the terrasse at night, awsome views. Still missing all the staff and fun got there!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank conociendoelplaneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
496 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 50 in Colombo
1,649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
149 reviews
3.4 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 50 in Colombo
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Property: Mount Lavinia Hotel
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing