We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to spend a day here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent a day around this hotel, had a light lunch at the pool area, few mocktails, and it was very relaxing. Later we walked over to their beach area, which are also very clean, felt safe, and there were a few good eating places there too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malnit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 2,731 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with our office colleagues for our management meeting. As it was a group booking I'm not sure about the deal we got but the property was very nice and a perfect place for relaxation. Though we had a group of 80 people reaching almost at the same time, staff was prompt enough to complete check in formalities. The hotel is nice colonial property with ample of space to roam around. Our room was sea facing and we could have a fantastic view of sunset right from our balcony. The rooms were neat and clean and with decent amenities.
They have a nice private beach and beach facing pool and restaurant. It could be ideal place for couples traveling for honeymoon.
The buffet spread for breakfast lunch and dinner was excellent with good mix of Indian, continental and Sri Lankan delicacies.
The plce is little far from city centre and approach road is very narrow. Rest everything was just perfect.
I enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will certainly recommend this place for peaceful relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Please ask for sea facing rooms on second floor for better view of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avadhutjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice hotel, good selection of vegetarian food. Nice ambiance.

The beach to the left of the hotel is nice and very open, worth a stroll at sunset. To the right of the hotel it is rather rocky, but does have nice views of Colombo city. The pool seemed a bit on the small side for such a hotel, and would probably be an issue for some.

Highly recommend spending an afternoon here for lunch. Didn't stay but wouldn't hesitate to in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dover6Juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Check in was relatively slow but we were taken to our room after 45 mins or so.

When booking, we had the choice of a partial sea view or full sea view. We decided to pay the additional price and go all out for the full sea view, but in my personal opinion, the view we had was partially of the sea and mostly of trees. Although I was happy with the view, I didn't want to pay for a full view and only get part, although reception were adamant this was a full view.

The rooms available do seem very varied. Our room looked very dated but others had been and were being updated. Definitely pay extra for a sea view room as the alternative seems to be next to a train line and trains beep their horns and drive past all day long.

Apart from the room being a bit dated and old, the rest of the hotel is very impressive. The food is excellent (both buffet and sea food cove on the beach) and the pool/terrace area is really nice.

The gym was pretty tragic, very small and hot with a strange collection of old machines/weights.

At any given point, there are at least 5 weddings taking place, the place is just churning them out!

Service here is slow, it takes a long time to get someone's attention, once you do it's a good while til your drinks arrive.

The food is really good, especially the food stations where they prepare and cook food in front of you.

Although this hotel is nice, I found it lacks the personal charm of smaller hotels and the impressive newer hotels such as the Jetwing hotels in Negombo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is great, like a blast from the past, very colonial and traditional and gives you a lovely feel as soon as you arrive. The hotel staff are very attentive and the location of the hotel right on the beach is beautiful. It's an instantly relaxing place and the setting helps that. The gardens are beautifully manicured and the place is obviously well cared for and keeping the old feel alive. Breakfast was unreal with absolutely every type of food you could possibly choose from, buffet style, served out on the terrace by the pool and overlooking the sea, wow. The room was huge and right overlooking the sea which was great for sunset just after I arrived. The rooms are a little bit tired, but that doesn't matter as you're in instant relaxation heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthy_HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on two occasions in February 2014. We booked a direct seaview room, and stayed in room 157 ( on the same floor as reception ) The room had a good view over the sea and beach, and was of a reasonable standard, though rather worn. On the second visit we had a room about two floors down facing the sea and opening on to the garden. Room 14, I think. This was very modern, and had clearly been recently modernised, however there were significant signs of dampness in both the room and bathroom. Others in our group got very poor rooms indeed and were unhappy.
The good news is : Great beach location, good swimming pool, very good quality food with lots of choice in the main buffet restaurant, old colonial style building, friendly and helpful staff, Beach Sea Cove restaurant allows you to select your fresh fish and have it cooked as you like.
The less good news is that some bedrooms are good and others are poor, and you won't know till you arrive and check in how you have fared in the lottery. Certainly start by booking a seaview room, and if you don't like it you will have to really fight to get a change as the hotel is usually very full. Breakfast is very busy and getting a table requires effort. Similarly the space by the poolside is limited as are outside tables for dinner. You can resolve this by pre-booking and giving a small tip to Pool-man and waiter. If you don't, then getting a place will be more difficult. Railway runs alongside hotel and warning hoots of trains can be disturbing.
Lots of local weddings take place here which provide interesting local colour.

Room Tip: Book a Direct Sea View Room. Avoid low floors which can be damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 224DavidR224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

After a long flight from Heathrow we stayed at this hotel overnight before commencing our trip around Sri Lanka. Very colonial down to the doorman having a pith helmet! Very friendly staff and good service. Would recommend that you upgrade to a room with a sea view or partial sea view. Only downside was the railway station and track running behind the hotel with regular sounding of whistles hence the suggestion to upgrade! Lovely beach but beware of sellers! Lovely light show put on at night. The traffic on the journey from the airport to the hotel was an eye opener!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#2 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#3 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#8 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
136 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: No. 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $120 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing