We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mount Lodge(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Mount Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anarva Mount Lavinia(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berjaya Hotel Colombo(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivi Ras Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropic Inn Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royce Hotel(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Confifi Marina(Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,882)
Filter reviews
2,882 results
Traveler rating
1,230
1,000
393
164
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,230
1,000
393
164
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachcolonial hotelseafood covemount laviniagovernor's restaurantsri lankapool terracedirect ocean view roomhigh teaindian oceanlobby managerseafood restaurantold worldoverlooking the seamain restaurantcolonial stylecolonial feel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,436 - 2,441 of 2,882 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2008

The Mount Lavina Hotel has a reputation which precedes it, but thankfully it did everything it was supposed to.

Check in and the service thereon in was perfect and the staff made you feel nothing was too much effort.

There was a choice three restaurants. The first serving help yourself buffet meals and open at breakfast, lunch and dinner; the second serving light snacks and open at lunch and dinner; the third on the beach and specialising in seafood - evenings only and reservations advised. We sampled all and found the food to be of high quality with excellent service.

The hotel has its own private beach and whilst swimming is not often advised due to strong currents, there is a lifeguard on duty to advise. The beach is long and tranquil and I was suprised by the lack of guests on it. I think I only counted five in the middle of the day! I have read that the waters are sometimes polluted from nearby Colombo, but I saw no evidence of this during my visit.

The rooms were well proportioned - larger than European standards, but smaller than North American ones - and well equipped. My room had a lovely view over the sea and up the coast towards Colombo.

The hotel is about 30 mins drive from Colombo and the hotel provides a taxi service and special tours to Colombo, as well as other nearby places of interest. There is plenty of opportunity to sample other areas of Sri Lanka without breaking the bank.

The hotel provides quite a few activities, but it should be noted that these are often restricted to certain days only, so if there is one thing you are keen to do, make sure you ring the hotel to check the days it is offered.

In summary, it did everything you would expect of a five star hotel - just beware the volume of weddings the place has!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babydrag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed in the Mount Lavina for the 1st night of our tour and found the hotel very comfortable. We ate in the restuarant on the beach which was lovely, we were able to pick what fish we wanted from the display they would weigh it and then cook it for us very nice.

Although we only stayed in the hotel for 1 night our rooms were very nice with a sea view and very clean. The staff were very attentive and we would have like to have stayed longer to really get a feel for the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed as a family at the Mount Lavinia for two nights before starting a tour.
We were tired when we arrived and were a bit dissapointed with the rooms as they smelt damp and the room for the children (teenagers), only had twin beds in, however reception promptly sorted out an extra bed.
When we had recovered from travelling we began to enjoy our surroundings.
We liked the railway line by the hotel, and spent time watching out for the trains -although we might not of liked it if we had been closer!
The food was pretty good and we loved an ice carving of an elephant in the restaurant.We also ate at the seafood restaurant on the beach which was very nice
We did a historical tour of the hotel which was quite interesting but some of the rooms were being refurbished.
All in all Mount Lavinia was perfect for our first hotel- we had a chance to catch up on sleep and recharge our batteries before we set off on a tour.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbow67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Very good hotel
Very good staff. Most of them come just after Hotel School.
Fantastic Location.
If you don't have time to stay one night, try to have a lunch in the buffet restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Service
Thank buzz1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at the hotel in June 2008 for 12 nights. Room in the Governors Wing which i felt left everything slightly damp. Also believed we were the only ones on the floor as it was not very busy. Standard of service very high and staff always willing to help and chat. Felt that the retention of the "colonial" feel was more for the locals who got married there and then had homecoming parties after the honeymoon - often as many as 10 wedings a day going on so often felt we were intruding as we walked around in holiday clothes.

Food was either a buffett at a cost of about £10 a head, good value if you can eat till you drop. Or in the Governors restaurant which was ok for a la carte. There was also a poolside snack bar. Beer and wine reasonable priced but a massive wine list was in fact over ambitious and they seldom had a choice of more than 3 or 4 types - even the staff were embarrased about constantly saying no we havnt got that one.

The town was pretty standard and bustling with nothing of note to see and down a long road to get to. Had a meal at the Lion Pub - (not a pub at all), very reasonable chinese and big portions. The little supermarket over the road from the Lion is worth a try as it has a cafe which does nice snacks sweet and savoury at local prices - so about £1 for a plate of samosas and nibbles of various sorts.

Restaurants nearby - down on the beach at the end of College Avenue to the left was the Golden Mile and to the right was saefood on the beach. Both are worth missing although they looked promising - or perhaps we ordered the wrong thing.

Our find was just outside the hotel about 100 yards called THE ANGLER. A small place run by husband and wife. Basically if you wanted local fare Mr Thushil would tell you what he had in today and his wife cooked it fresh in the back - all home made and lovely sauce spiced to your liking. Plus if you wanted english or chinese that was on too.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brian96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews