We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Food is by far the best I ate in Sri Lanka! Stayed here for only one night but could have stated far more! No it's not overly modern, but that is it's beauty... It has character and personality! The beach is gorgeous and amazing that it is so close to colombo, whilst escaping the madness! Chipmunks on the beach are lovely and I loved the great food ( and cocktails) served on the beach. When I return to Sri Lanka I will be staying longer here 100% rooms r clean n although I had a sand stain on my bed, housekeeping came straight up n changed everything. Sea view rooms r stunning! Hallways make u think that the rooms won't be great, but they Are perfect! Loved the polite service throughout, although free wifi would make this hotel perfection!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Sel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,559)
There are newer reviews for Mount Lavinia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Really big and busy hotel; several large weddings be held simultaneously morning and afternoon on the three days we were there. This makes for a lot of people and very busy staff.

Breakfast was fantastic.

Rooms were comfortable, and hotel readily moved us when there was a awful (sewerage) smell outside our room (i.e. we couldn't open the windows/doors).

Overall the hotel could use a refurbishment, and greater attention to maintenance, especially in communal areas is required.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor/far left of the new wing (terrible smell in the afternoon).
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoJo_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at Mount Lavinia and stayed 2 nights., really liked the breakfast buffet, great terrace, nice beach, good size and clean rooms, old colonial look & feel, nice band playing some kind of 'Sri Lankan jazz' on the lawn. We received great service too (needed help to get the right papers to self-drive with a UK driving license and got so much help it was awesome). I read in a review below that someone had to pay for the WIFI: we didn't have to pay and had good, fast WIFI.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chokees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My travelling partner and I arrived on Christmas night. We loved the colonial atmosphere right down to the doormen in colonial costume. The atmosphere was buzzing and welcoming. We were shown to our sea view room and immediately hit with a very musty/mouldy smell. We had to endure this for two nights and it was not pleasant. All other aspects of the room were fine - good space and adequate supplies. It was no bother to call for more towels etc. We had arrived during the Christmas buffet for dinner. It was impossible to get a table and we had to go to the manager in order to be seated. This was a very uncomfortable experience as we felt we had stepped above the waitress' authority. The meal was delicious as was the rest of the food and experience here. We were lucky to have an ocean view room where we couldn't hear the trains passing by. These were frequent and very loud. The prices of meals and drinks were quite reasonable for the quality. We were also able to get a hotel car to take us into the Pettah markets for quite a reasonable price that included the return trip.

Room Tip: Beware of musty rooms. This is definitely a place to relax is there isn't anything to do close b...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tweeds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Mount Lavinia Hotel and it was a wonderful experience. Set on a headland, it used to be the govenor's house in colonial,times. Great view of beaches and there's a railway line running past. A trip on the train is an amazing experience! Staff efficient and friendly, wonderful food. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolMooney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Plenty of character at the hotel. Service was fine and the food was average. The seafood grill was above average. I also ate the best bread and butter pudding I have ever had! However, the hotel is not in great condition and has clearly seen better days. there was a constant stream of wedding parties that blocked movement from one section of the hotel to another as photographs were continually beeping taken. The place was OK for a nights stay but I would not plan on staying there any longer than that

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dvicary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest thank you for writing to us about your recent stay at our property. Thank you for highlighting the positives as well as the negatives which you encountered during your stay will no doubt help us in continuous improvement to provide a much more satisfactory service offering in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

When you arrive at this hotel, maybe you are very happy to see the grand colonial style.
But I was really shocked to see the dirty inside. The curtain,the bed cover, the floor and the bath room are not at all clean.
I don’t understand why the hotel management destroys in that way the hotel which seems to have been very good also inside.
Simply too dirty, no appropriate cleaning and maintenance.
I was really happy to stay there for just one night.
The staff here is also not sincere and very bad example of too too easy going and not being honest.
Please avoid this hotel unless you are sure to get a very clean and renovated room, although I do not know at all whether such one exists in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mitsuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
529 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.3 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
126 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: No. 100, Hotel Road,, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $103 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing