We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic Place to Stay!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
CHANDIGARH
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exotic Place to Stay!!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was fabulous staying in Mt Lavinia Hotel surrounded by sea water , having private beach... Looks like colonial luxurious stay .... Regarding Staff, i say it was delight .. and hospitality was uncomaparable.. Especially front desk exec Ms Ashani, Enthusiastic, synergic and ofcourse beau with pleasant smile... She was amazing guiding me... Further security was also friendly and good guide.. I have beed regular visitor to SL, i would prefer staying in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms should be preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANJAY008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for the wonderful comments mentioned about our team members…your comments are highly appreciated and will be shared with our team…it was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again in your future visits to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    881
    357
    141
    80
See reviews for
565
990
145
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the wing with the dated rooms and decor but with gorgeous ocean views. The bathroom and room could definitely do with a makeover but we nevertheless loved our stay. Why?probably because it is a grand old dame, the location and the hearty Sri lankan breakfast!

The staff are friendly and the breakfast is delicious-espceially the egg hoppers and curry!

The location is also excellent - by Mt Lavinia beach. It is a bit expensive for the state of the rooms/hotel but I would still include it in my list of places to stay in Colombo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySydChampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your current stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel…Our entire team appreciates your generous comments regarding the location and cuisine… Hope you will patronage our property during your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folkestone
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to what must be our 2nd home We just love everything about this hotel. It holds so many happy memories as we were married here almost 5 years to the day. Nothing has changed she is still the same regal hotel we so much love. Thankyou for the cake and the flowers.Sorry we could not meet up with Thakshila but we will be back your hotel is so good !!

Room Tip: choose an upgrade to an acean view its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest we are delighted to be referred to as your second home…as always it was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to many more visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The cinnamon scented lobby on arrival had us taken immediately. Nice touch. Check in was easy and polite, the staff here are amazingly good.

Booked a direct ocean view room and was ensured it was in the new part of the hotel, which it was but not sure how new it actually is as it seemed pretty dated. However the room was great and the view superb. Bed was hard but slept very well. Bathroom was atrociously decorated back in the '80's and not up to standard, infact it just didn't match the room. Hot water was infrequent but it was very clean and fine or us.

The best feature of this hotel and the main reason for us selecting this hotel was the food. I had booked in advance for a table at Chef Publis Sri Lankan buffet for dinner. After checking in we went to look at the dining area during lunch and was greeted by name and shown our reserved table for dinner later that night. The staff knew me immediately and showed us around the dining area and explained what to expect. This was exceptional service. The buffet dinner was astounding and sadly too much choice as we wanted to try absolutely everything but there is just so much you can eat. They really do make the dining experience something to remember.

Breakfast was also a wonderful experience. So much choice and we thoroughly enjoyed the egg hoppers. You would be hard pressed to not find something to satisfy you.

The pool area was probably the downside. Great area but badly managed as guests were dragging furniture all over the place and it looked a shambles. We discovered that outsiders can buy day use and enjoy the area. This resulted in hotel guests not getting priority and having to just sit anywhere. Food at the pool area was again exceptional but as guests of the hotel we felt let down.

Hotel service was exceptional. I injured my foot while swimming at the public beach and was suppied wih ointment to sooth the swelling. Genuine care was provided.

We loved staying here and will do again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for choosing to stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel…we are glad that you enjoyed the authentic Sri Lankan hospitality and cuisine at our heritage property. Your feedback is duly noted and steps are taken for rectification and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not at all a pet friendly hotel...
They didnt welcome a trained dog in a leash anyways he was not going to sit on our table for tea .... we were not allowed in just cos we had a pet dog ... an old heritaged hotel should think more. very disappointing I had to turn around and take him to the common beach not even an option to leave him at the security

never go with your pets your not welcomed in this hotel

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanishka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest thank you for leaving a comment about you recent experience at the Mount Lavinia Hotel…we are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to the policies adopted with having pets at our property…please note this policy is for the benefit of all hotel patrons as some guests have allergies etc…our policy does in no way reflect our organizations overall attitude towards all animals. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Classical Grand Oriental Hotel on lovely beach. Food and drink pricey but what do you expect. Buffet for lunch or dinner has enormous range of food from east and west. Unbelievable number of staff in lots of fancy colonial uniforms.
Pros
Good atmosphere and loads history. Spacious well equipted rooms, most with seaview. Super food in seacove restaurant.
Cons
Rooms at Columbo end have noisy railway nearby. Much quieter after 9.00 pm. Poorly managed restaurant systems cause peak hour delay despite lots of willing, helpful staff. T & M study badly needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer thank you for choosing us as your preferred holiday destination. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our cuisine…negative feedback highlighted will be taken as constructive criticism and will be improved upon to ensure that your next stay with us will be nothing short of memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I think it is the service that really makes this hotel special. I have stayed at many in Colombo and more widely in the asia pacific region and the Mount Lavinia does stand alone for excellence in service and attention to detail, a quick email at Heathrow and a car was waiting when I landed in Colombo, and they even had my soya milk ready for me at breakfast upon my arrival. The hotel is built in a heritage fashion and is quirky and elegant, but has full wi-fi, and during my stay provided meeting rooms for my delegates. Travelling with my children often, I find the beach there secure and pristine, and service on the beach of food and drinks was great for the children. Because of my business and family needs from a hotel I have found it's the best place to get what I need. I also found them caring and appreciative of the children which was nice. The rooms were amazing with crisp white sheets, british plug sockets, plenty of space, wifi, a desk and good lighting and a safe. Housekeeping was excellent, often fresh flowers are placed in the room and I loved the shower in the newly refurbished wing, There was never any problem if I wanted extra complimentary water or bathroom accessories and just generally they are really responsive. Just an all round good experience for all of us. Would go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleBrooks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor about your recent stay with us…thank you for the wonderful comments mentioned it is highly appreciated by our entire team…we consider our team to the best asset of our organization. Thank you for your recommendation and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.3 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
126 reviews
6.3 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Property: Mount Lavinia Hotel
Address: No. 100, Hotel Road,, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing