We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Returns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to what must be our 2nd home We just love everything about this hotel. It holds so many happy memories as we were married here almost 5 years to the day. Nothing has changed she is still the same regal hotel we so much love. Thankyou for the cake and the flowers.Sorry we could not meet up with Thakshila but we will be back your hotel is so good !!

Room Tip: choose an upgrade to an acean view its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear guest we are delighted to be referred to as your second home…as always it was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to many more visits in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,709 - 1,715 of 2,682 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

The cinnamon scented lobby on arrival had us taken immediately. Nice touch. Check in was easy and polite, the staff here are amazingly good.

Booked a direct ocean view room and was ensured it was in the new part of the hotel, which it was but not sure how new it actually is as it seemed pretty dated. However the room was great and the view superb. Bed was hard but slept very well. Bathroom was atrociously decorated back in the '80's and not up to standard, infact it just didn't match the room. Hot water was infrequent but it was very clean and fine or us.

The best feature of this hotel and the main reason for us selecting this hotel was the food. I had booked in advance for a table at Chef Publis Sri Lankan buffet for dinner. After checking in we went to look at the dining area during lunch and was greeted by name and shown our reserved table for dinner later that night. The staff knew me immediately and showed us around the dining area and explained what to expect. This was exceptional service. The buffet dinner was astounding and sadly too much choice as we wanted to try absolutely everything but there is just so much you can eat. They really do make the dining experience something to remember.

Breakfast was also a wonderful experience. So much choice and we thoroughly enjoyed the egg hoppers. You would be hard pressed to not find something to satisfy you.

The pool area was probably the downside. Great area but badly managed as guests were dragging furniture all over the place and it looked a shambles. We discovered that outsiders can buy day use and enjoy the area. This resulted in hotel guests not getting priority and having to just sit anywhere. Food at the pool area was again exceptional but as guests of the hotel we felt let down.

Hotel service was exceptional. I injured my foot while swimming at the public beach and was suppied wih ointment to sooth the swelling. Genuine care was provided.

We loved staying here and will do again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest thank you for choosing to stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel…we are glad that you enjoyed the authentic Sri Lankan hospitality and cuisine at our heritage property. Your feedback is duly noted and steps are taken for rectification and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not at all a pet friendly hotel...
They didnt welcome a trained dog in a leash anyways he was not going to sit on our table for tea .... we were not allowed in just cos we had a pet dog ... an old heritaged hotel should think more. very disappointing I had to turn around and take him to the common beach not even an option to leave him at the security

never go with your pets your not welcomed in this hotel

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kanishka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear guest thank you for leaving a comment about you recent experience at the Mount Lavinia Hotel…we are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to the policies adopted with having pets at our property…please note this policy is for the benefit of all hotel patrons as some guests have allergies etc…our policy does in no way reflect our organizations overall attitude towards all animals. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Classical Grand Oriental Hotel on lovely beach. Food and drink pricey but what do you expect. Buffet for lunch or dinner has enormous range of food from east and west. Unbelievable number of staff in lots of fancy colonial uniforms.
Pros
Good atmosphere and loads history. Spacious well equipted rooms, most with seaview. Super food in seacove restaurant.
Cons
Rooms at Columbo end have noisy railway nearby. Much quieter after 9.00 pm. Poorly managed restaurant systems cause peak hour delay despite lots of willing, helpful staff. T & M study badly needed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Reviewer thank you for choosing us as your preferred holiday destination. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our cuisine…negative feedback highlighted will be taken as constructive criticism and will be improved upon to ensure that your next stay with us will be nothing short of memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I think it is the service that really makes this hotel special. I have stayed at many in Colombo and more widely in the asia pacific region and the Mount Lavinia does stand alone for excellence in service and attention to detail, a quick email at Heathrow and a car was waiting when I landed in Colombo, and they even had my soya milk ready for me at breakfast upon my arrival. The hotel is built in a heritage fashion and is quirky and elegant, but has full wi-fi, and during my stay provided meeting rooms for my delegates. Travelling with my children often, I find the beach there secure and pristine, and service on the beach of food and drinks was great for the children. Because of my business and family needs from a hotel I have found it's the best place to get what I need. I also found them caring and appreciative of the children which was nice. The rooms were amazing with crisp white sheets, british plug sockets, plenty of space, wifi, a desk and good lighting and a safe. Housekeeping was excellent, often fresh flowers are placed in the room and I loved the shower in the newly refurbished wing, There was never any problem if I wanted extra complimentary water or bathroom accessories and just generally they are really responsive. Just an all round good experience for all of us. Would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleBrooks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor about your recent stay with us…thank you for the wonderful comments mentioned it is highly appreciated by our entire team…we consider our team to the best asset of our organization. Thank you for your recommendation and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fine place. Lovely views. Breakfast choice is a little lighter than could be expected but everything is of good quality. Rooms are very good. Linen well maintained. Steps to climb for practically everything. No elevators. Water supply good. Hot water good. Morning news papers not delivered. Phone service excellent.

M Seshagiri Rao
Bangalore, India

Room Tip: Room 207 is a corner room with sea views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moorchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Mr Rao, thank you for the wonderful comments left about our property on tripadvisor and it was wonderful having you with us…we hope that you will visit us again during your next stay in Sri Lanka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a huge old colonial hotel about 4 miles outside colombo where we have stayed many times. Staff service can be erratic but if you are courteous and polite you get treated in the same way. Our experience has shown this. For example I injured my leg whilst there and could not walk easily to the dining room, so the duty manager was willing to allow us a concessionary dinner room rate for the night against our half board cost. Another staff member found me some ayurvedic balm to ease the leg pain.
Food here is good on a mass catering level, but excellent if you choose a la carte, with excellent fillet steak. The occasional blips we find endearing rather than inefficient, this is an Asian country not new York! The many weddings are a source of interest to us rather than annoyance, and there is a great sense of bustle and occasion about the whole place, particularly on Sunday's when a Jazz band plays by the pool and locals come out from the city for lunch.
Beach and terrace staff are very attentive, although sometimes could use more initiative when things need doing. We found room cleaning to be adequate, but the beds a little hard. The bay wing rooms are quiet but if you have a linked room beware if the person in the next room is noisy or smokes, as noise and smoke can leak through to your room. The bay wing rooms need updating and balcony furniture needs replacing.
I guess with this hotel, you get fond of it and enjoy its sense of history despite the occasional inefficiencies and quirks, or you go to a newer, anonymous, efficient place which has no atmosphere. We have been in both and prefer the former.
Our special thanks to the bespectacled beach bar attendant (never did know his name) who has been there for years and gives excellent service, and terrace waitress Aruni , again a long term employee, who has unfailingly anticipated our every need each time we revisit, and always remembers us. She is a gem.
Internet access was not fast and should be free given this is not a cheap hotel.
This is a very conveniently placed hotel if you want to be near colombo but not in the city centre. Cars with drivers from the hotel can be hired for approx £20 for 4 hours which was a great way to get around Colombo or further afield.
There is a railway station adjacent to the hotel where trains run to Galle one way or colombo the other. We have travelled in this train to Colombo (cost 20p!) and it was great, following the sea all the way in.
There are also some restaurants within walking distance of the hotel but we have not used them on this trip.
There is a seafood restaurant on the beach which is connected to the hotel. Previously half board guests could get a big discount using a voucher obtained from reception. Unfortunately they no longer offer this which is a pity. As a result we did not eat there so cannot comment on the food.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with link doors to next door, or by the lift. Higher bay wing rooms facing Colombo have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Reviewer thank you for the comprehensive review of our property. Thank you for the lovely comments mentioned about the hospitality of our team which we consider our biggest asset here at MLH. We hope to see you again at our iconic heritage hotel by the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#2 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#3 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
133 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,439 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: No. 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $100 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing