We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandeur of the past disappointing in the present”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I booked 3 days at the Mt. Lavinia Hotel to celebrate my first trip to Sri Lanka. While the location is wonderful and the building stately, the service, food and general ambiance are very disappointing. Hot water that turns cold (or scorching hot) in the shower), hard to find waiters, front desk that was unhelpful all made this not worth the luxury premium that you pay to stay here. Suggest you stay at other hotels that are not just resting on their laurels.

Room Tip: worth the extra money to have a view of the ocean. That is why you are staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingprofessor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel… we are truly sorry for any shortcomings from our end and we will take necessary actions to rectify same. Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 2,679 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at the Mount Lavinia Hotel during January at the end of a tour of Sri Lanka. We were disappointed with the overall condition of the accommodation. Room and bathroom could have done with a good scrub and polish; also a coat of paint. Towels badly in need of renewal and replenishment. Needs an overall facelift to justify a four star rating. This was the only hotel we stayed at (and we stayed in several all over the island during our tour) that did not provide free wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor. We are truly sorry for any discomfort that you might have faced during your stay due to the room conditions and we assure you that we have undertaken a soft refurbishment of our property to ensure the best in ambiance and facilities to our valued guests. It will be a pleasure to once again to extend our hospitality to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed with my wife during Sep 2012. Good food. Reasonably priced. Mount Lavinia is a good place to be if you are staying in Colombo. Nice colonial style buildings. Nice story about the history of the place. Staff are very much attentive. Buildings are a bit old. But I guess thats the whole idea of the place - A colonial style hotel. Buffet is tremendous with a wide choice.
Overall, a nice stay.
Tips - Try to get a sea view room. They are on the right side of the hotel.
For non Sri Lankans, dont forget to try king Coconut available at the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. You will love the view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dushan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor…we hope to see you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

we stayed here last year for bead and breakfast and the place was a touch expensive as you'd expect. But I didn't feel I received the value for my money. The service, cleanliness is very good. But the food (breakfast in our case) was not fine. The hotel and its interior is very rich, given the colonial roots. But you wouldn't find much 'activities' to do at this place except for the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Udendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear guest thank you for choosing to stay at the mount lavinia hotel…whilst noting that you enjoyed our facilities…we do take your feedback as constructive criticism and will work our way towards achieving the best standard to exceed your expectation during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

we stayed 2 nights in this hotel in Mount Lavinia. The hotel is very nice with a good staff, particularly the supervisor Samantha who was very caring and always checking that everything was OK - also Chris the cook came to enquire about our food.
The buffets are really good with so many varieties to please everybody.
You should not miss the breakfast buffet which is catered for everybody around the world. The fresh fruit was excellent and prepared in front of us.
The room was comfortable with the direct view to the sea - but not to the standard of a 5 star hotel, more of a 3/4 stars.
We had a problem settling the bill. We had already paid one night which was not taken into account in the final bill. There seems to be a problem of communication. You should always check your bill before paying.
We were driven to the hotel by Kuma who works for Niky Travels in Dehiwala Sri Lanka (not far from Colombo) - this agency can organise all sorts of trips around Sri Lanka and we found they were very efficient and reasonable in price. Kuma is a very nice person who helped us a lot. We will contact them again on our next trip to Sri Lanka

Room Tip: You have to chose a room facing the sea otherwise you will hear the trains go by on the other side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear guest thank you for choosing to stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel…we are delighted you enjoyed our services and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Mount Lavinia
Colonial jewelry
I stayed here for the third time
The location is great! An heritage palace on the beach with a fabulous love story  ! Everything is so romantic...
It is peaty that the hotel is not well maintained as  a western tourist would expect!
The breakfast is great and the terrace  for the breakfast is making it even better... If you can ignore the crows and listen to the waves only!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaMariaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor…we hope to see you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are looking for a modern , slick hotel then this is not the place for you. We stayed at Mount Lavinia for 8 days , and so had time to assess the hotel properly. Our room was very clean, and cool and bathroom good, and we had a lovely view of the sea. The food in the hotel was of a good standard, and as we had only opted for bed and breakfast, we could also go outside to other local restaurants which were all in walking distance. One of the things that I found a little frustrating was that there was no real area to sit in the evening with a drink, or a coffee outside. There was a lounge indoors, but for me the point of going long haul was for the weather, and so the very limited space to sit outdoors if you weren't dining of an evening was an issue that could easily be addressed. The staff on the beach were very helpful, and it was nice to get lunch and drinks easily there, but there was a lack of shade/ umbrella's by the pool. They have a very good spa which is not really advertised which was a shame as it was under utilized and very nice, I have never seen so many weddings at a hotel, with on average of 4 a day, every day, and so at time its felt like we were incidental to the wedding business, but no problems really. A nice hotel, but would not recommend this as somewhere for longer than a week.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DenRuss15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear guest thank you for staying at the iconic heritage hotel by the sea…we are glad you enjoyed our facilities and services…and we hope you will return to our mansion to indulge on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#2 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#3 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
133 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,438 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: No. 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $100 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing