We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place that you will never forget !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming Place that you will never forget !!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Charming Mount Lavinia hotel is a place where you will never forget once you visit. I always book this hotel when I have family or visitors from UK come on holidays.My family who like in S/L also sneak in to spend a few days.My kids love the terrace pool & the rooms. The hotel staff always remember us & come over for chats. The breakfast time is always a highlight as we while away time sipping tea & eating hot hoppers. The sea view old wing rooms are our favourite. The sea food cove though expensive is an experience.My friends from South Africa really loved it last month when we had dinner there.

Room Tip: Sea view old wing.( or garden view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roshan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear reviewer thank you for noting our property as one unforgettable place for visit. Thank you for your repeated patronage of our property and we hope to have many more pleasant encounters with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    857
    350
    137
    73
See reviews for
534
964
141
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here on our last night in Sri Lanka and loved it. We had taken a relatively extenisve tour of the country and were pretty tired so it was nice to stay in such a comfortable and pleasant environment on our last night.

Room was very nice and spacious with a balcony providing a stunning sea view. I probably had the best night sleep I have had in weeks travelling here as the bedding was so comfortable, the air con units quiet and the room itself well insulated from outside noise.

Staff are all well trained, professional and courteous. Enjoyed dinner here, breakfast was ok and had the only good coffee Ive had in Sri lanka at the lobby cafe! Price wise I was suprised at how reasonable the food was. Ok it is not expensive but I have eaten at empty restaurants in sub standard hotels that have charged the same or more in some cases and the food at Mount Lavinia is far superior.

Staying here is obviously not a cheap option but at the same time it wont be a decision you regret if you go for it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_conway_twitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest thank you for choosing to stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel. Thank you for the lovely comments on cuisine and services provided, our entire team greatly appreciates any feedback provided. We hope you will return to stay with us for a longer period during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Mount Lavinia Hotel made our dreams come true on our BIG DAY. The services offered by the staff coupled with the ambiance of the hotel made our wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable one. Kudos to the whole team! Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punsara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest it was indeed our pleasure to ensure that your big day was a success. We hope to see you with us again to celebrate your wonderful wedding anniversary next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Mount Lavina is the perfect base for a stay in Colombo. Not only can you enjoy the peace and serenity of your own private beach on the Indian ocean, you can enjoy the nightlife of a busy and vibrant city. We've been going to Mount Lavina for ten years now, and will certainly be returning. The hotel rooms are bright and beautifully designed, and always very clean. The staff always go above and beyond to make sure we have a amazing stay, from the doorman to the manager everyone seems to ensure our holiday is special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your repeated patronage of our property and as always it’s a delight to have you with us. Hope to see you again at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

After travelling for two weeks in Sri lanka was Colombo our last stop and Mount Lavinia our last hotel in Sri Lanka.What a great choice from our travel agent. The hotel had a kind of colonial setting and the overall service was perfect. Special thanx to the waiters of the hotel.Food wise no complaints either.I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: choose a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at MLH. We greatly appreciate the comments and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is charming and has great character, very clean but a little dated.
the staff were very polite and friendly and could not do enough for us. minor problems were soon sought-ed. the food was very good and overall service was excellent.
The crows and chipmunks were a bit of a nuisance at breakfast and lunch but not as bad as one tripadvisor review mentioned prior to our visit. Would we use the hotel again? Yes definitely!

Room Tip: Away from music halls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZackJulie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor. Your comments are duly noted and we will be taking further corrective measures to ensure the best service is provided to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and one year old daughter stayed at Mt Lavinia for 3 nights - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were exceptional - prompt, efficient, accommodating and very helpful. It was a great place to stay with a child though meals for a one year old were difficult at times to get. Despite this, the room was spacious; the pool was clean; the food was delicious - the buffet spreads were amazing; and babysitting services were provided at a very affordable rate so my husband and I could go and get dinner together after putting our baby down. We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaCaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer, thank you for choosing to stay at MLH. We are glad that you enjoyed our services and hope to see you again at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
3.4 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Property: Mount Lavinia Hotel
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing