We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach location colonial hotel with a lovely sea view!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach location colonial hotel with a lovely sea view!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the mount Lavinia for 4 nights, and really enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is a lovely old colonial building situated on the beach front- great sea views (make sure you ask for one with the view)!
The rooms are a little dated, but the location makes up for it!
Nice outside pool, and bar area which is open day and night. Plus the sea cove restaurant on the beach underneath is really lovely and they cook up the fresh fish right there- straight from the sea.
It's a little further out than some of the others, but well worth the extra 20 mins in the car!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and services. Hope you will return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    866
    354
    139
    74
See reviews for
544
975
143
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ex residence of British Governor has been turned to a hotel by maintaining the era of the British rule in sub continent. Hotel offers excellent view of west coast of Indian Ocean with a private beach and restaurant. Dining experience at the beach restaurant is an experience of its own with the selection of fresh sea food and selected beverages.
Besides beach and dining, hotel is a dream matrimonial spot for every Sri Lankan girl, this is the reason hotel experience one or more wedding reception each day, which itself offers an insight experience in Sri Lankan culture.
Downtown is accessible by local train and other modes of transportation.

Room Tip: Last room on the right wing lower lobby is closest to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kashif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear reviewer thank you for choosing to stay at the mount Lavinia hotel, a hotel with history and character. Thank you for all the lovely comments mentioned. And indeed our hotel is a famous spot for lovers and honeymooners because of the timeless love story rooted to our history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mount Lavinia Hotel is an excellent hotel near to the city of Colombo. An elegant hotel with clean sandy private beach. Has a pool and terrace area to relax and also to have your evening meal under the stars!. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds, air conditioning and all the facilities. When you arrive at the hotel the doormen will greet you with a smile. Excellent staff in all the sections – very friendly and helpful and always service with a smile! Excellent food at all times. A good spread for breakfast to cater for all tastes and the themed buffets in the evenings are excellent and good value for money. If you love sea food then the sea food restaurant on the beach is a must. An ideal hotel to relax and enjoy your holiday. We have stayed at this hotel few times and always enjoyed our stay and keep going back. Recommended to friends and family and they have enjoyed their stay. Vijayakumar UK

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest thank you for writing back to us… it is indeed a pleasure to hear back from a guest. We wish to thank you for your repeated patronage and wish to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are regulars at this hotel, and we were once again residents during the 2012 20/20 Cricket world cup.
For me, this hotel has everything, to relax, and convenience.
Friendly staff, great food,Great views, good beach, and close to Colombo, and down south.
I would recommend to tourists, as we have not been dissapointed, during several visits to this fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShobaniDesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor, we are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to thank you for your repeated patronage of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Going again christmas day,cant waite . Looking forward to sun,sea,and sand. Great food. Loved the sea cove , and breakfast. Well looked after by the staff, very clean , beautiful view from our room, overlooking the sea. Early morning you saw local fishermen. My husbands friend himaz mohammed was very helpful and made us very welcomed. Beautiful beach. Had a Great time wizzing around in tuk tuks . Sri lankan people very frendly waving as we passed. Hope to see more of sri lanka and would highly recomend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suedesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your lovely comments. Glad to know that you will be returning to spend Christmas with us. We look forward to indulging you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Another great trip while staying at Mt Lavinia, this time with baby in tow, the staff really make this place special and the buffet is fantastic. We were not dissapointed on our second stay and plan on visiting every year if we can if only for a few days. I highly recommend this hotel, its a shame some of the patrons don't see it for what it is which is a colonial hotel with history, character, warmth and charm. The sooner you all realise staff arent slaves and show them some level of respect the better your experience might be! I was only dissapointed in some of the clientele, certainly not the staff. The only downfall for us is that smoking is allowed on the Terrace during meal times including breakfast, any civil person would move away from the eating areas to smoke but maybe not. They should just make it NO SMOKING in the eating areas.

Room Tip: Our first room stank of cigarettes and the concierge was even embarressed, we were promptly moved to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairephilandolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor. Your lovely comments made about our property are greatly appreciated. Thank you for the lovely comments on our team we wish to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great food and great location, jutting out into the ocean. Good pool and a separate private beach, with restaurants and bar. Unfortunately this is at the other side of the hotel, so through the lobby and through a small shopping arcade, so you have to cover up in order to get there.
Food excellent, and good wine list. WiFi chargeable, and diabolical! One of those which is almost worse than nothing at all, where you finally manage to log in, only for it to drop out seconds later! The IT guy came by a number of times, and promptly, to be fair, but was unable to help.
The hotel is let down badly by what comes across as a money grabbing attitude. Being asked three times for ones room number at breakfast before they'd even brought the tea. Being brought the bill for a round of drinks before the drinks had been served. Sounds picky maybe, but it all somehow left a sour taste. We were part of a group and not the only ones to comment on this.
Many rooms leaked (although the weather was particularly bad) and this added to the general impression that the hotel was past its colonial best. Shame really, because it could be a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments about your stay and indeed your experience at the hotel..However we do apologize for the continuous interventions by our staff to you, I do understand the frustration. We do not wish to make excuses however the heavy rain and storm caused many damages to our electrical and IT systems which led to WIFI dropping quite often, unfortunately the heavy rains was the cause of the interruption as the water had an electrical malfunction to the system. Therefore on that day the wifi service had no internet coverage to the whole hotel.

We do apologize once again however we hope you will be back at the iconic heritage hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
513 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
1,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
125 reviews
4.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Property: Mount Lavinia Hotel
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing