We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MLH no longer the hotel it use to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had the worse experience in August this year when we had our wedding in MLH. The event organiser was willing to give his arm and leg at but the question was did he have the power to do anything. A big hotel with a lot of staff but when it comes to errors, mistakes and failures no one is willing to take a blame. The following are a list of failures
- no umbreallas were offered to guests who had to soak in the rain
- paid full price for a full lit hall/ hut but only 30% was lit
- paid full price for beach illumination but it was only 20% of what was shown in the photographs
- paid full prices for a bon fire but it was lit up at 7pm and the fire subsided by 8pm
- paid Rs2000 per table decor for exotic water flowers but it was done with flowers from shrubs of Sri lankan back yards eg wathusudda
- paid Rs4750 per head for a meal but the string hopper pilau(main stach item) took 40min to be refilled so people lost their apetitie/ disatisfied
- there was no prawns ready when we (bride and groom) had their first meal
- started folding chairs while the party was still going(2315) on even though extra payments were made till 1am
- our room was not cleaned since morning ie had to ask for a broom to clean the room when we got back(wedding night)
- lunch remains left outside room door was still there at midnight
- no complimentary/promised fruit basket for the wedding couple
- no complimentary/promised cake for the wedding couple
- MOST IMPORTANTLY LOST A VALUABLE WEDDING GIFT AT MLH
This is what we paid for our wedding. Needless to say MLH is able to hold nearly 4-5 weddings at a given time. One wonders where the interests of this organisation is now! I don't think it will take too long for people to realise.

Room Tip: Make sure you select a side that is serviced frequently
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write to us on tripadvisor. Whilst we sincerely apologize for the shortfalls from our part we would like to ensure that we have taken measures to ensure such will not be repeated in the future. I believe our director, catering and conventions have got in touch with you already in regards to this matter. Whilst we wish to stress that this is not in line with the high standards we have set for our performance, we have taken the information into consideration to provide a better and customized service in the future. Whilst expressing my sincere apologies once again, we hope that you will return to our iconic heritage hotel by the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,731 - 1,737 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were staying in the same street as the Mount Lavinia Hotel (at the tiny Mount Lodge homestay), and decided to treat ourselves to afternoon tea. We weren't disappointed. Dainty sandwiches and savoury pastries, scones, tarts, iced fancies and chocolatey treats, accompanied by a refillable pot of Ceylon tea. It was our last afternoon at the end of a 3-week holiday in Sri Lanka and a lovely way to round things off. The hotel's setting is lovely with the sound of the sea below and a distant view of Colombo city without the urban bustle. We studied the menus for dinner. They looked very tempting. But we had already planned dinner at Mount Lodge. Another time I believe we would stay here for a couple of nights and hope that the standard of the food lives up to its description. Back to high tea, though. A friendly staff member advised us that one tea between us would be sufficient. As it happens, it was. But go for one per person if you are feeling gluttonous!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear reviewer we are delighted that you enjoyed our spread provided for high tea, hope that you would stay with us on your next visit to our beautiful island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A very good property at the other end of the Colombo, most of the rooms facing Indian ocean and good spacious rooms with good service. Points to note.
1- pls check "POYA DAY" the full moon day as it is called in Sri Lanka and none of the bars , restras serve alcohol so one must have own arrangement.
2- hotel is at other end of the city, so it is preferable to have full day cab on disposal as the cost is very low, 50 US$ for a day along with travel in the city.

Nice place, great property ( actually Governor house during RAJ ). Must visit

Room Tip: Sea view even at ground floor is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manishkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear reviewer thank you for the wonderful points noted about our hotel, the hotel was a mansion which housed four British governors and has a timeless love story rooted to the hotel. Hope to indulge you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Have stayed at this fantastic hotel since 1993. This year my wife and 9 month old baby spent 2 great weeks at the Mount Lavinia during the T20 cricket period. We were treated so well. They even cooked food for our baby each day to give her some variety and they did not charge. The staff were awesome as always and nothing is too much trouble.

The food is superb and the terrace must be the most relaxed place to chill out with a cold beer.

Anyone travelling to Sri Lanka you must stay here.

To the MLH team thanks for making our honeymoon so special, see you in a couple of years.

Romesh

Room Tip: Bay wing has large rooms and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Romesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear guest we are extremely pleased that you chose to visit us again, whilst thanking for your repeated patronage we hoping to see you again at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hello, fellow travelers ... If you are planning a trip to Sri Lanka but dont have much time to travel around this amazing Island, then consider breaking up your stay between the Mount Lavinia Hotel and a centrally located hotel in Colombo. (see my other reviews of the Colombo Hilton & the Galle Face Hotel). The Mount Lavinia Hotel is located about 12 Km's from Colombo and about 60 mins from Bandaranaike International Airport. The traffic is a nightmare so allow yourself plenty of time when heading back to the airport for your departure. Okay many years ago when I first visited Sri Lanka for work purposes we were accommodated in the Mount Lavinia area and I remember going for walk along the beach after I had checked in when I got my first glimpse of the Mount Lavinia Hotel. There it was this amazing white grandeur hotel perched up high on a mount over looking the Indian ocean. I said to myself that one day when I return Sri Lanka this is where I'm going to stay no matter how much it cost me. In April this year I decided to do just that and I booked my accommodation online and was thrilled to find sea view rooms for $AUD119.00 per room, per night. When you arrive at the Mount Lavinia Hotel you are met by door staff with what it seems to be very old world British uniforms which compliments the exterior of the hotel. The check in process was good but not excellent, however this was due to the number of guests checking out as I arrived so it was mayhem. Having arrived early in the morning I was thankful when they made an effort to prepare my room as quickly as possible rather than having to wait for the standard check-in time. So after been offered a cool drink I was taken to my room by a member of staff from the concierge desk. The room did not blow me away, I mean it was not what I had envisaged.. I thought I would have this old world room, however it was quite modern and simple... It reminded me of a typical beach style unit...in saying this though it was comfortable, clean and the views from my balcony.. well what can I say .. Amazing !! All staff at the hotel are friendly and courteous and will do anything to make your stay a memorable one. When you stay here you need to walk around this grand hotel.. Some areas are kind of spooky and you can almost feel what it was like over 100 years ago..anyhow let's talk about the amazing array of food at the hotel...again amazing... I could not stop eating... Breakfast is excellent with plenty to choose with both local and western choices. Lunch and dinner menus change and provide various buffets or Al Carte options. The food is incredible and I give it 5 stars. You can eat your meals in the fancy Govenors Resturant or the out door Terrance or if you love seafood head down to the hotel's private beach & Resturant... Very romantic but I was solo so I just ate at the Govenors Resturant and people watched. Now of course let's not forget the famous Governors High Tea on the terrace...Yummy!! ( how come the tea in Sri Lanka always tastes better there and not when I make it at home? :)). Now outside the hotel complex the Mount Lavina area is not very attractive but you learn to appreciate it. There are many locals that live near by but the area is full of budget hotels of which many sit right on the beach. So if you a staying at the Mount Lavinia Hotel you have the option to spend your time at the hotels private beach or it's public beach. I liked the public beach as you get to meet the locals and their families plus there are some great beach bars as well. What's interesting also is that their is a train line that practically runs just on the outter of the hotel and through the grounds of some of the beach hotels.. Quite interestings. Now shopping my favorite topic... Okay for those that love shopping then there a a couple of places outside the hotel grounds but these are the usual souvenir shops... If you take the main road as you exit the hotel grounds and follow it to the end about a 20 min walk you will get to a small Odel store... It's okay but if you have the time go to the original Odel store in Colombo 7 now that's worth a visit... Fantastic western shopping for both men, women and children. You can take a Tuk Tuk there it's takes about 20 mins or so, then if you want you can visit the house of fashion, not as good as it use to be but worth a look and cheaper than Odel although there is no comparison. Majestic City and Lucky Plaza are very ordinary and really not worth visiting unless you want some local items. Have a look around the Galle Road area heading south of Colombo towards Mount Lavinia.. In this area you'll see some interesting stores that are quite modern.. For example I bought some beautiful leather shoes for work and 12 slim fit business shirts that were incredibly cheap, hence why I bought 12!!. Anyhow my stay a the Mount Lavinia Hotel was a memorable one and I would definetly go back again... The real highlight for me was their overall service and their amazing selection of foods. For those wanting access to Internet the hotel sells internet cards that you can buy for 24 hours periods which will give you access everywhere within the hotel complex. Money change places are always better than changing your money at the hotels.. So there are a few on the main road outside the hotel grounds. Apart from a number of Sri Lankan weddings that were being celebrated their during my 3 night stay and the hoards of tourists on tour buses.... It's definetly worth visiting and I recommend it for business, couples, family, friends and the solo travelers like me. Hope you have enjoyed my review!!

Room Tip: When booking your accommodation at this hotel definitely go for the sea view rooms in the new wing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest thank you for choosing Mount Lavinia Hotel as you’re point of indulgence. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will be more than pleased to accommodate you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week during the T20 cricket World Cup and enjoyed it. Check in and early check out was efficient, with a packed breakfast on check out. Service was friendly and efficient and food excellent. This is the home of Slow Food in Colombo. We loved relaxing at the poolside and sundowners on the terrace.

Room Tip: We loved the fourth floor room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leila16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear guest thank you for staying with us at the mount Lavinia hotel, we hope you enjoyed you’re stay with us as much as the cricket. MLH is proud to be the pioneers of the slow food movement in Sri Lanka and we strongly believe in the farm to table concept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Quintessentialy. British I only stayed one night but would definitely return it was like stepping back to the days of Empire the staff were so courteous food excellent only fault if it can be called that is the adjacent rail line

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveywavey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLHG-Management, General Manager at Mount Lavinia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear reviewer thank you for writing to us, it’s always nice to hear back from a guest. We wish to indulge you again for longer on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
6.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
532 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.3 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
126 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia Hotel

Address: No. 100, Hotel Road,, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10732, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $108 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Lavinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history spanning over 200 years, Mount Lavinia Hotel Colombo is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. This premier colonial heritage hotel in Colombo has earned a reputation over the years for its magnificent structure and ambiance, the old world charm which harks back to the grandeur of old Ceylon, a romantic legacy left by the colonial Governor General who used it as his residence, the exceptional service offered by its well-trained staff and its popularity as a venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Mount Lavinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia Hotel Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing