We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governor's Restaurant

Governor's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

As the name suggests, this is locate in the older part of the Mount Lavinia Hotel in Colombo. You have a choice of sitting in an air conditioned room, open terrace and in the verandah. I had my breakfasts there (no choice) and a dinner on the open terrace overlooking the sea.
Breakfast is standard but you have to watch out that the fruits, juices, cereals are in the AC room, while other are on the verandah. The toaster has a mind of its own and refused to work one day. By the time I finished breakfast it decided to work again. Choices for breakfast is huge - Sri Lankan, American and Continental. Buffet, so people with appetites (specially after a morning jog on the beach or a work out at the gym) BUT vegetarians may have their choices restricted.
Dinner was on the open terrace and was simply wonderful. It was pleasant weather wise, sounds of the waves and good food. Again choices are a plenty.
Price-wise slightly expensive but worth the experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BabarDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    98
    30
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Training and Supervision”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had lunch and dinner on Sunday 22nd July 2012. Service was average at lunch, but spectacular location. Lime juice was undrinkable and should come with a warning that it is served in its raw state.

At dinner we had ordered bubbly and the waiter spilt it while serving my wife and me. When we pointed this out, he became very defensive and argumentative trying to justify spilling it and then offered the bottle to my wife to pour it without spilling. We found this extraordinary.

I called senior managers to complain in front of the waiter and I was told that he was one of their best waiters. He owned up to it, but blamed the wind for spilling the wine on both occasions and said that he had said sorry, when he clearly had not.

I informed the management that I do not hold the waiter responsible, but blame it on poor training and supervision.

After the complaint and request to remove the waiter from our table, we got another waiter who was able to pour wine without spilling it and was polite. The offending waiter later apologised and service was excellent after the complaint which was at the start of our meal, on a table for 10.

The owner of a large insurance brokerage from Colombo who was also at the table commented that she does not use the restaurant as although its a super location, with spectacular views of the sea, coastline and Colombo, the service has always been poor and slow and in this instance rude. It would have been embarrassing if it was a business meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dushyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Lavinia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quality Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Expensive, but quality is at its best with a lot of variety in a truly colonial atmosphere

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RanilMountLavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, colonial ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spread was very good - vegetarian still have fewer choices, but can feast of the amazing spread of desserts
Don't forget to explore this place it has interesting aspects and is historic !

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“hosted dads 75th there, yum buffet, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

hosted a table for 30 for dinner, buffet was sri lankan (sunday night) almost, almost tasted as good as mums cooking.. thanks for the cake... and the desert mmmm to die for.. once again excellent service and great atmosphere

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marckr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Restaurant also viewed

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to Governor's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing