We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranveli Beach Resort
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Having spent 5 weeks travelling around Sri Lanka staying in guest houses we finished our trip with a lash out staying here for 4 nights.
The swimming pool area is lovely and relaxing through the day (when not visiting Colombo city) and for the afternoon the beach area just across the railway lines made for a pleasant walk and people watching experience.
The rooms were of a good standard and when we had a plumbing problem it was taken care of immediately. Overall I would have to say that the service we received here was excellent.
My only caution would be that if you are of a nervous disposition the train line runs literally past the back fence and during peak periods trains can be quite frequent and noisy. For us this was not a problem however I did hear someone else complain.
The food that we ate at the resort was very nice and available at all reasonable hours and down on the beach were dozens of alternative food and beverage outlets.
All in all, I thought it was a well run establishment. I did feel that it was a bit over-priced however in general I found Sri Lanka to be ridiculously expensive for the quality of accommodation and at least here at Ranveli the service was good and the pool lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AugustineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

we are so happy to hear that your stay in our Beach Resort was wonderful .Thank you so much Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Ranveli Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 281 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed for a day in Nov 2013. Property is bit old and need renovation. There are no rooms which overlooks sea. Staffs were friendly. We have to cross the railway track to reach the beach. The pool is almost on the entrance. AC was not working and water leakage from it, they corrected after complaining. Overall VFM for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nissamudeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was the last stop of our Sri Lankan honeymoon. Our room overlooked the beach, and the resort has a part of the beach as a private area for its guests. The staff were helpful, however the room service was a bit expensive. The rooms also overlook a swimming pool which is a good place to hang out in the evenings (if you are looking for some private time in the waters), and adds to the feel of the sea.
The resort is located at a good distance from the bus stops, but is away from the noise of the city. This place is good for honeymooners who are looking for some calm and quiet in a place just overlooking the beauty of a beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSP_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We where were were satisfied with our stay and would like to come back. Great pool area, both for us and our kids, aged 9 and 11. Super frendly staff. We did not mind the trains. It was just not that many and fun to look at when they drove by.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

That resort was our first place in Sri Lanka, and that was the best choise we could. The staff was really nice and helpfull, and they tried to help everytime we need. (we had a lot of question about the city, the country and everything)
The beach is really close, and beautiful (and the resort has swimmingpool as well)
We really loved it!

Zoli and Gyöngyi

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gyöngyi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

we are so happy to hear that your stay in our Beach Resort was wonderful .Thank you so much Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel April/May 2012 for 10 days with my teenage daughter. We were walking distance to a three story Odel store, two grocery stores, and had beach access. At first I was worried that we would be too far from the shopping areas (House of Fashions, the main Odel, Majestic City) but everything was just a short tuktuk ride away. All of the staff were very friendly and the owner was incredibly helpful. I was trying to find some very specific items and the owner spent a lot of time calling many people he knew to help me locate what I was looking for (he did help me find the items). I requested a room near the back away from the train, and back there we didn't find the train bothersome--we actually enjoyed watching it go by with loads of people on it. We didn't have an a/c room and we were fine. The rooms are sparse, but clean. I would definitely stay there again, as it was staffed by wonderful people that made you feel welcome, like family, and they were willing to go the extra mile to help you out. Note: Some staff have worked at this hotel for over 25 years and the owner (a very kind man) donates bags of food staples (rice, lentils...) to feed over thirty poor people each month.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank helma_tra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We can't say enough good things about this hotel. We have stayed in many lovely hotels, including budget hotels in many countries,and this rates among the best value for the money. Lovely clean pool, beautiful long sandy beach, clean rooms, helpful friendly staff and free Wi-Fi. Only downside, train passes between hotel and beach. However, all beach resorts in this area have the same issue.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room facing the beach. Rooms on the back side are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

we are so happy to hear that your stay in our Beach Resort was wonderful .Thank you so much Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anarva Mount Lavinia
Anarva Mount Lavinia
#4 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranveli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranveli Beach Resort

Address: 56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range: $30 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranveli Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In operation since 1972,one of the oldest budget hotels in mount Lavinia, which has been creating memorable holidays for thousands of satisfied visitors from around the world, such as USA, UK, Australia, Germany, Italy, France, Netherlands, Sweden, India, Maldives etc.Due to our long experience in the hotel trade we have many repeat guests. The main attraction in our hotel is located by the beach, adjoining to the famous Mount Lavinia Hotel and the affordable rates that we offer. Ranveli Beach Resort has 32 comfortable, Clean, well furnished rooms (with attached bathrooms) equipped with standard and Semi Luxury amenities. All A/C double rooms and family rooms are equipped with Air Conditioning, hot/cold water and cable TV and also over looking the Indian ocean. Most of our rooms are with private Balcony where can watch the incredible “sunset” or the breath taking view of the Indian Ocean.In addition we are famous for our very friendly and helpful staff. The well laid large Garden and our private beach can be used for “sun bathing & relaxing while enjoying the fresh air of the Mount Lavinia beach.Most guests like our “Rice & Curry “However our restaurant offers its guests a tasteful a la carte menu of Eastern, Western & International cuisine at a very low price. Sea food "Platter” which is prepared by our well experienced chef is delicious and popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ranveli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranveli Beach Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Ranveli Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing