We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food on the beach”
Review of LOON TAO

LOON TAO
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: LOON TAO was rated the 3rd Best Restaurant in Sri Lanka for 2011 ! We are located right on Mount Lavinia Beach giving one of the best views of the Indian Ocean. The Restaurant is built over the Golden Sandy Beach of Mount Lavinia few meters away from the Ocean Waves ! This is an open plan eco friendly architecture with thatched roof deriving from Bali. Guests have a choice of indoors or outdoors seating. Our aim is to make every Guest's visit a memorable experience !We serve catch of the day Seafood supplied to us all 7 days of the week. All our vegetables and Fruits are sourced daily and are Organic where possible. Our meat is non frozen and fresh sourced every other day for freshness and better taste. All our meat is HALAL. Our culinary Team is headed by a Master Chef from mainland China. Most our ingredients are hand picked by the Master Chef and imported directly by us from China. This is our secret that makes our food better tasting bursting with authentic flavours. We dish out the best of Chinese Cuisine in Sri Lanka. We serve authentic Cantonese, Peking, Szechuan and Shanghai Cuisine. We entertain all our Guests with Live Acoustic Music performances with some of Colombo's Best Loved Artists from 7.15 pm daily.Secured Parking. Kids play area. Come experience LOON TAO hospitality......We are passionate about what we do......!
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great food on the beach”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

THis is the best thing about Mount Lavinia. A really good restaurant on a nice beach with fresh seafood and a good choice of Chinese foods. The staff were very helful and friendly. We had a great diinner - a bit expensive though - but quality. Its right on the beach and has a great atmosphere. So well done to the manager and staff - you deserve your award.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Loon Tao !

Thank you for the patronage and your comments. We value them so much.

We are passionate about everything we do. There is no other reward better than your comments . We work tirelessly to achieve this goal. Thank you once again.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    178
    57
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a nice beach side restaurant with friendly staff and a wide selection of authentic Chinese food and drinks. But, one drink and a meal cost me more then a week long stay in a nice hostel, so be warned.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for visiting and reviewing us . We are pleased you had an enjoyable experience as we always strive for.

As regards pricing, to serve you unmatched "fresh food" we spent a lot on Catch of the day Seafood and non frozen meats sourced daily and every other day respectively. We also source fresh vegetables and fruits daily and are organic where possible. These add up to the costs. Yet, it makes it expensive if you order lobster , lagoon crabs etc. Others priced well within normal levels.

Thank you once again for your visit and looking forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“avoid”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

pushy waiter/captain. food portion is small, but the price is expensive. taste is also quite bland. fried noodle and their rice are dry too. there are other better choices around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us.

We regret to note your comments.

We do not have a policy to be pushy. As such, we have since given further instructions to our staff in this regard. We always strive to give all our customers best value in terms of price and portion sizes consistently.

Cantonese dishes are meant to be bland unlike Schezuan or Shanghai cuisine which we also serve in the menu. Noted your comments re rice and noodles being dry, the reason for this is that we are very concerned and conscious about the oil / fat content in our food hence try to avoid these for healthy reasons.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of my all-time favourite restaurants”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have visited Loon Tao many times over the past 5 years. I love their food and the simplicity of the restaurant (it's basically a really nice hut on the beach). Since it's right on the beach, it's most comfortable to visit this place in flip flops (heels are definitely not recommended!) and the setting is simply lovely. It's a nice place to go for a romantic meal for two, or with friends or family.

They have a great menu with lots of options to choose from (note: they don't serve pork) and so far the food's been great every time that we've visited. I will definitely recommend this place if you like Chinese food, and if you're a fan of the ocean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruwani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow !!! We couldn't be happier to note your comments. What a reward for our passionate Team.

Thank you for patronising us over the years. We really appreciate your loyalty.

Looking forward to serving you for many more years to come.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food but need attention on Ambiance”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to Loon Tao last night. I recommend the Prawns with Orange sauce which my son loves and went with 2 more families. The Food was good but the maintenance have to be looked into. The bath room need to be cleaned and maintained and it was smelling and due to that the feeling of dining out gets tarnished. The management need to look into this point as most of their guests are foreigners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Friend141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and comments. We value them immensely .

We are currently at design stage to give a new look to Loon Tao as we just completed 5 years. Toilets etc will be redone. We apologised for the inconvenience caused the other day as the fragrant deodorizer had not been replaced. It had been due for replacement but due to an oversight this had not been attended to. It has since been rectified. Thank you for the valuable comment.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LOON TAO also viewed

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to LOON TAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing