We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lobster!!”
Review of LOON TAO

LOON TAO
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: LOON TAO was rated the 3rd Best Restaurant in Sri Lanka for 2011 ! We are located right on Mount Lavinia Beach giving one of the best views of the Indian Ocean. The Restaurant is built over the Golden Sandy Beach of Mount Lavinia few meters away from the Ocean Waves ! This is an open plan eco friendly architecture with thatched roof deriving from Bali. Guests have a choice of indoors or outdoors seating. Our aim is to make every Guest's visit a memorable experience !We serve catch of the day Seafood supplied to us all 7 days of the week. All our vegetables and Fruits are sourced daily and are Organic where possible. Our meat is non frozen and fresh sourced every other day for freshness and better taste. All our meat is HALAL. Our culinary Team is headed by a Master Chef from mainland China. Most our ingredients are hand picked by the Master Chef and imported directly by us from China. This is our secret that makes our food better tasting bursting with authentic flavours. We dish out the best of Chinese Cuisine in Sri Lanka. We serve authentic Cantonese, Peking, Szechuan and Shanghai Cuisine. We entertain all our Guests with Live Acoustic Music performances with some of Colombo's Best Loved Artists from 7.15 pm daily.Secured Parking. Kids play area. Come experience LOON TAO hospitality......We are passionate about what we do......!
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is worth a visit only for the lobster! Allthough it is quit expensive (5600 rs for 700 g) it was still worth it! Best meal and best seafood we had in Sri Lanka (and we visited many of the top-ranked restaurants from tripadvisor)!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note your comments ! It is such a great compliment having compared us against some of the top ranked and best as you described.

We work very hard to bring you the freshest seafood in town by sourcing them daily. We also source our vegetables and fruits daily. These are organic where possible. We also use "fresh" meat sourced every other day. This is how we keep to our motto "eat fresh" and take great pride in that ! We take every care to make your dishes as authentic as possible using ingredients hand picked by our Chinese Head Chef.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    184
    60
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dehiwela, null, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food meets a fabulous ambience”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you're a seafood lover, this is THE place to visit. The beach restaurant is fabulous for a dine-out with your friends and family. It is quite crowded all days, so make a reservation to be on the safe side. May not be a good place for business as it is a bit noisy with lots of people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AjithBopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for visiting us . We value your comments and patronage.

Moreover, we are pleased that you have had a pleasant experience up to your expectations. We are passionate about hospitality. This is what we always strive for.

Looking forward to serving you soon at LOON TAO !

Warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Strange Place to Dine”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Visited yesterday. As vegetarians we had a good choice for which I am thankful. The kids enjoyed the unusual combination of Chinese food by the beach. The service was quick and upto standards. The waiters were friendly. This place deserves more guests.The setup was very simple but classy.Music - Acoustic guitar added spice to the mood. The only negative thing(for which the management should not be blamed at all) was the approach road, partially crowded with unruly folk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Himantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Loon Tao .

Thank you for all the comments. Much appreciate.

Even though there has never been any unpleasant incidents the Tourism Authority have decided to set up a Tourist Police post to be manned round the clock everyday. Construction of this structure is just being completed at the entry point towards our main entrance on the beach. This will be jointly manned by Police and Navy.

Looking forward to seeing you and family soon at Loon Tao !

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Affordable!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a private party with girls there and the food was lovely. The location was amazing with beach view and lovely atmosphere. It's nicer towards the evenings and this is a place for family dining.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Treshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the visit.

Much appreciate your comments.

Looking forward to serving you soon.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Very unsatisfactory !!!We went to eat and came home hungry.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Last night my husband ,my nephew and i went to Loon Tao (Mt lavinia ) for a meal expecting to eat well and satisfy our hunger for Chinese food. We ordered A large rice ( supposed to be enough for 3 ppl according to the waiter) and 3 other side dishes.After about half an hour, the rice was brought, next came the fish dish, next after about 15 minutes the Vege dish. The rice dish was enough only for 2 people and while we were waiting impatiently for the 3rd meat dish after more than half an hour the last dish arrived. By this time we were so hungry that we ate most of the food that was on the table, and the last dish was eaten without any rice due to the delay. The food was cold as we had to wait for other dishes to arrive for about 15 minutes always. The rice was just enough for 2 people and i disagree with all those who have said good about the place as the prices are high like in a 5 star hotel (where we would have got a better deal than this). i advice the management to go to another Srilankan Chinese Restaurant and see how people are served . When we complained about the portions all the manager said was that its their standard size and offered us a Jasmine tea on the house (what a joke that was !!). At least an offer to reduce the bill was not given whereas other restaurant would give us a total refund(which of course was not in our minds), but we hoped that at least a reduction on the rice would be given.The final bill was Rs. 5000.00 and i say it was certainly over priced for the size of the portion! We therefore decided never to go to Loon tao again as we do not wish to pay so much and come back home hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peetha499079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Public Relations Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us.

Noted your comments below. Please accept our sincere apologies for the food delay from one dish to another. This is very unlike LOON TAO. Every single order is done at once hence this is a very unusual instance.

As regards the rice dish, we are known to be generous with our portion sizes. Something may have terribly gone wrong with your order on that day.

Once again, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LOON TAO also viewed

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to LOON TAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing