We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of LOON TAO

LOON TAO
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: LOON TAO was rated the 3rd Best Restaurant in Sri Lanka for 2011 ! We are located right on Mount Lavinia Beach giving one of the best views of the Indian Ocean. The Restaurant is built over the Golden Sandy Beach of Mount Lavinia few meters away from the Ocean Waves ! This is an open plan eco friendly architecture with thatched roof deriving from Bali. Guests have a choice of indoors or outdoors seating. Our aim is to make every Guest's visit a memorable experience !We serve catch of the day Seafood supplied to us all 7 days of the week. All our vegetables and Fruits are sourced daily and are Organic where possible. Our meat is non frozen and fresh sourced every other day for freshness and better taste. All our meat is HALAL. Our culinary Team is headed by a Master Chef from mainland China. Most our ingredients are hand picked by the Master Chef and imported directly by us from China. This is our secret that makes our food better tasting bursting with authentic flavours. We dish out the best of Chinese Cuisine in Sri Lanka. We serve authentic Cantonese, Peking, Szechuan and Shanghai Cuisine. We entertain all our Guests with Live Acoustic Music performances with some of Colombo's Best Loved Artists from 7.15 pm daily.Secured Parking. Kids play area. Come experience LOON TAO hospitality......We are passionate about what we do......!
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Amzing food, lovely ambience and beautiful beach side place. Good live music enterntainment and the staff were very friendly and the service was faultless

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us. Much appreciate your encouraging words. We work hard to make every single Guest visit a memorable one where food quality, ambiance, entertainment and service standards are concerned. We are overwhelmed by your comments.

Look very much forward to your patronage again at Loon Tao.

Warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    184
    60
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful food but..”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Chinese Food at this restaurant is excellent and it is a great location but...
there is something fundamentally wrong with the front of house. There are many staff but they lack organisation. I felt a safety related incident was poorly handled. We had too many needless waits in the meal. I spoke to a Senior Manager/Owner but did not get any feel for willingness to improve. Moreover, no reply to a comment made through website contact process which is discourteous. So great food, which is a primary reason to return but could we trust the rest of ambience which is what makes the good restaurant great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Mr.Colin,

We value your patronage and comments. Thank you for the encouraging comments re quality of food. We may have not responded to your earlier comments due to an oversight. We value every single comment and take them very seriously. We discussed this incident internally and have given further training to our staff to avoid similar incidents in future. Also took appropriate action in this regard. Please accept our sincerely apologies.

We look very much forward to serving you in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“boring”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

most of the food I wanted wasn't available and we left, annoyingly it took them ages to acutally come and tell us

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleBrooks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the valued patronage and feed back. Please accept our apologies for very unlikely / unusual situation you had to be faced with. This is the first such incident in 5 years for us.

We serve the widest variety of Seafood, Meat, Vegetables for any restaurant in the country with a record (almost) 300 different dishes. Yet we serve "catch of the day Seafood" combined with freshest vegetables and fruits sourced daily (Organic where possible). Meat is "non-frozen" and sourced every other day for freshness. We strive hard to have no more than 5 non-available items out of almost 300 dishes on any given day. Our apologies if your choices were among these.

Hope to see you on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Warmest regards,
The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice location for dinner, good food”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch with friends early afternoon so it was rather hot. I've been here before during the night and its pretty nice... The food is good. You have to try the hot butter cuttle fish. The best ever. Also, most of the crab dishes are pretty good too.

Helpful?
Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Loon Tao !

Thank you for the patronage and valued comments.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, service ennoying”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Food was good, service was pushy, pretentious and ennoying, not very child friendly. I sadly had to be a little harsh myself to get the staff more respectful and considerate. Good place for a couple, less for family.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank benjamincovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your patronage and comments. We are glad you enjoyed the food. Our staff is known to be very friendly,respectful and non-pushy. Ours is a family restaurant and the hostesses are trained for childcare etc. Your experience may have been with a new comer or a trainee. Please accept our apologies. We have discussed your internally in order to avoid similar incidents in future. Thank you for letting us know.

Hope to see you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LOON TAO also viewed

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to LOON TAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing