We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for dinner, good food”
Review of LOON TAO

LOON TAO
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: LOON TAO was rated the 3rd Best Restaurant in Sri Lanka for 2011 ! We are located right on Mount Lavinia Beach giving one of the best views of the Indian Ocean. The Restaurant is built over the Golden Sandy Beach of Mount Lavinia few meters away from the Ocean Waves ! This is an open plan eco friendly architecture with thatched roof deriving from Bali. Guests have a choice of indoors or outdoors seating. Our aim is to make every Guest's visit a memorable experience !We serve catch of the day Seafood supplied to us all 7 days of the week. All our vegetables and Fruits are sourced daily and are Organic where possible. Our meat is non frozen and fresh sourced every other day for freshness and better taste. All our meat is HALAL. Our culinary Team is headed by a Master Chef from mainland China. Most our ingredients are hand picked by the Master Chef and imported directly by us from China. This is our secret that makes our food better tasting bursting with authentic flavours. We dish out the best of Chinese Cuisine in Sri Lanka. We serve authentic Cantonese, Peking, Szechuan and Shanghai Cuisine. We entertain all our Guests with Live Acoustic Music performances with some of Colombo's Best Loved Artists from 7.15 pm daily.Secured Parking. Kids play area. Come experience LOON TAO hospitality......We are passionate about what we do......!
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went for lunch with friends early afternoon so it was rather hot. I've been here before during the night and its pretty nice... The food is good. You have to try the hot butter cuttle fish. The best ever. Also, most of the crab dishes are pretty good too.

Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Loon Tao !

Thank you for the patronage and valued comments.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 369 of 472 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Food was good, service was pushy, pretentious and ennoying, not very child friendly. I sadly had to be a little harsh myself to get the staff more respectful and considerate. Good place for a couple, less for family.

Thank benjamincovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your patronage and comments. We are glad you enjoyed the food. Our staff is known to be very friendly,respectful and non-pushy. Ours is a family restaurant and the hostesses are trained for childcare etc. Your experience may have been with a new comer or a trainee. Please accept our apologies. We have discussed your internally in order to avoid similar incidents in future. Thank you for letting us know.

Hope to see you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Loo tao

We were suggested by a local to try this restaurant and when I saw that the access in only possible from the beach  I was not very enthusiastic but...
After tasting many dishes with chinese flavor everything changed!
The food is really very good, so is  the view and atmosphere ! Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnaMariaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note your comments ! Thank you for visiting us and for making the effort to comment on us.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked a meal for my partners birthday, and weren't disappointed. A table had been reserved for us, and the staff gave the warmest of welcomes. We were lucky enough to meet the owner, and asked him to recommend some food as the menu is extensive and everything looked so good. The food was fantastic - and the chili crab the star of the meal. We got messy tucking in , which was part of the fun, but washed down by a great passion fruit mojito, we had a ball! We were stunned that the staff then brought out a birthday cake and sang happy birthday, making it a truly remarkable evening. We went back a second night without booking, and the food was every bit as good, and the service still terrific. For 3 courses with drinks it was around £50 - really good value for the quality of food. This restaurant is easily walkable from the Mount Lavinia Hotel - please have no concerns about walking to the hotel - it took us 15 mins stroll. This restaurant should not be missed!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DenRuss15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Owner at LOON TAO, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hello and Greetings from Sri Lanka !

Thank you both for visiting our beautiful country !! Hope you both enjoyed true Sri Lankan hospitality and memories to cherish for a long time.

Thank you so much for visiting LOON TAO during your short stay at Mount Lavinia Hotel. It was my pleasure meeting you both particularly on that special day. Thank you for all the comments.
My staff are very committed and passionate to make every Guest's visit a memorable one. I am very pleased to hear your overwhelming comments. Hopefully we shall get a chance to serve you both sometime again.

Ayubowan,
Janaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loon Tao is a Chinese restaurant located on the beach, about 1 Km from Mount Lavinia Hotel.

The location is good and they have live music.

The food is excellent -- we had crab and an assortment of fish and could not fault anything.

Liquor is available and the staff are courteous and attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ismad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, Manager at LOON TAO, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for visiting us and also for your comments.

Our Team of Passionate Chefs are delighted with your comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LOON TAO also viewed

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to LOON TAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing