We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diferent lodge but amazing”
Review of Guludo Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guludo Beach Lodge
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Diferent lodge but amazing”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was simply amazing. Got there and all the bandas face the sea, every morning the sun shines through the windows and you hear the sea right next to you. The shower for me was definitely the best. There is no power during the day (and you dont need it) in the lodge because the generator is only turned a couple of hours a day so the shower is filled twice everyday with hot water. The shower is outside and to use it you pull a rope and warn water falls on you. Simply delicious. The staff was very nice, and the food also. Everyday a different chef´s choice and always wonderful. There is not much to do besides rest and go to the beach but they do offer some activities. We went to the Rolas Island and did some snorkeling and got a wonderful pick nick at the beach can also do diving if you like. Also went to see the sunset in a belvedere and drink a nice gin and tonic and visited the village they sponsor with the project.
I have to say I really loved that place, even the vervet monkeys wonder around sometimes. Its a peace of untouched land where you can delight yourself with the simple things of life. Really a good different vacation

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guludo, Owner at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and spreading the word. Over the moon that you loved Guludo so much. Hope to see you back again soon!

PS Neal's particularly delighted you loved the showers so much ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    6
    4
    14
See reviews for
15
64
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for a week with my wife recently and had a great time. The lodge is great & the staff are really friendly. Will definitely go back.
The best thing about this lodge is the charity work they do in the community, we could get really involved which was great. The views are amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I went to Guludo convinced by the excellent reviews and the idea of ​​responsible tourism, but we were completely disappointed because it is presented at the same level of exclusive resorts and luxury but it has nothing to do. Think that in 7 days there we could not do anything but watch the sea in the distance, because although there are tides the resort does not seek in any way to entertain guests or indeed any activity is very expensive and often poorly organized.
The sad thing is that so guests leave a bad judgment on responsible tourism, as it seems that the high price of the rooms serve only to finance projects and do not provide adequate services to the guests.
If you can, avoid this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guludo, Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were gutted that it wasn't more positive, although pleased to see you were impressed with the location and cleanliness.

Generally people fill all their days while staying with us, so this was quite surprising to read. With diving, visiting Rolas Islands and Ibo Island, snorkelling, spending time in the community, sunset sails, archery, pottery, beauty on the beach, the bush lookout, local style fishing etc there really is plenty to keep people busy for a week and much longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in Guludo for a week last month and absolutely loved it. Our room was stunning, food incredible (still in awe of Afonso and his team creating such spectacular dishes in such a remote place!) and I think we fell in love with just about every single member of staff!! We drove in and flew out, which we would definitely recommend. We'd also recommend a trip to Rolas and a dive with Carl (who has the patience of a saint!) and a walk around Guludo village with Edrisi and seeing some of the amazing projects the lodge is doing.

OK, I can understand that if you're wanting classic 5 star then this isn't the place for you but if you want to stay in a beautiful place, be surrounded by lots of genuine smiles and stay in eco-luxury then it just doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GemmaRobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The idea was fantastic and the lodge certainly is an experience however it is advertised as a top quality (5* lodge) therefore higher prices. If this was advertised as a 3* and priced that way I would not have had any complaints however we paid $400 per room per night with very poor service.
Food and drink supplies were often low. On the first day they had run out of milk for breakfast and tea/coffee. For the duration of the trip there was no ice for drinks, there was no menu for dinners and we often ate the same food (fish).
Activities are very expensive but there is little else to do in the area.
The dive centre was very ill equipped..often the organisational skills were so low that they would realise at the last minute they didn't have a spare boat for a dive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Every aspect of this delightful lodge reflects the dedication of Amy and Neil to a resort that provides all essential amenites for visitors while caring for the community and the environment. The air-conditioning comes from the sea breezes, the luxury comes from being at one with the environment and the feeling of well-being stems from the knowledge that your stay is benefiting the community....thanks again to Amy and Neil. Ingenious showers are provided with Hot Water twice a day and the composting toilets provide valuable fertiliser....so nothing is wasted. Light from Hurricane lamps bring back a natural rhythm to night and day, but a Head Torch is useful for those wishing to read as well as relax. The views from our Banda of the Violet, Indigo and Turquoise sea are themselves breathtaking and are totally private to you. Conversation over a Gin and Tonic at the Bar precedes excellent dinners prepared from freshly caught fish and local produce. The efforts of Amy and Neil have not gone unrecognised and awards from Conde Nast and others are testimonials above and beyond our own very personal but very sincere admiration for Guludo Lodge and its aims.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guludo, Owner at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We all LOVED having you to stay and really hope to see you again here soon. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The worst ever.
Save yourself stress and money.
Its so bad that describing it is a waste of valuable energy.
If you like diving, forget it, either the engines are out of order or there is no fuel.
Not to mention the lack of food.
If there is no full moon, make sure that you bring your own torches.
Staff - ZERO motivation, they are doing you a favour.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Cristina63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guludo, General Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy Guludo more. As you were made very aware prior to your arrival, your stay was shortly after a fire that devastated our reception, office and back of house, which meant we were running a limited service. We did try and compensate you for this and are sorry that you did not feel this was enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quirimbas National Park
0.0 mi away
Ulala Lodge
Ulala Lodge
#1 of 2 in Murrebue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
nZuwa Lodge
nZuwa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Murrebue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ibo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guludo Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guludo Beach Lodge

Property: Guludo Beach Lodge
Address: Guludo | Cabo Delgado, Quirimbas National Park, Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Quirimbas National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Quirimbas National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guludo is a tropical, barefoot beach paradise; 12km of deserted powder-white sand nestled between the dazzling azure Indian Ocean and wild African Bush. Accommodation provides everything you need and nothing you don’t. With high roofs, gentle sea breezes, alfresco en-suite bathrooms with a stunning “loo with a view”; barefoot luxury never felt more indulgent. The essence of Guludo is relaxation and discovery. Time is spent drifting over magnificent coral reefs, watching humpback whales, visiting islands and mingling in the local village. Guludo is also responsible tourism at its finest, even while snoozing in your hammock you are helping to relieve poverty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Guludo Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guludo Beach Hotel Quirimbas National Park
Guludo Beach Lodge Mozambique/Quirimbas National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing