We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ibo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We did some extensive web search to find this characteristic restored old mansion and scenic place, full of atmosphere, and which had also someting interesting to do on the island.
Our seaside room was spacious with an equally large bathroom and rain shower.
The larger swimming pool and deck next door with sufficient shade under the palm trees and a fabulous view over the bay. The other building had a smaller pool in an enclosed garden.
We had two walks through the small village, but our (hotel) guide needed some stimulus to get some interaction with the villagers, otherwise it would not have been so interesting.
The complimentory early morning breakfast on the sandbank was an exciting trip with the dow. The captain cought actually a fish. Snorkling over the low-tide coral with the many couloured fish, including the poisenous lion fish, was like floating around in a big tropical aquarium. The next day we did another snorkling trip in another location, equally great, but that day the water was choppy and cooler than normal (June). Nonetheless we snorkeled for almost two hours.
Sitting on our own veranda below or at the high breakfast and dinner terras overlooking the bay area was great.
The lunch and dinner meals were a bit disappointing, not really fresh catch and two of the three days the same slice of kingfish including the same dessert (by imported cook from S.A.). We found the wine expensive, considering South Africa is next door.
We did the canoe/kayak trip through the mangrove, against the current. Somewhat interesting, but hard on the lower back because of the low (or no) back support, and not many birds or so. We assumed the birdlife walk would not have been very exciting either.
We could download our e-mail at the reception, but a bit of slow connection.
Although we found that Mozambique is expensive compared with other countries (India, Indonesia), and the island resort is remote, we considered that is was a much better deal comparing it with the Guluda resort in Quirimbas park.
We found communication with reservation service in South Africa excellent and friendly. Good communication about the flights was also appreciated.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms with sea view, but their porch area may be hotter in August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thuys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is a place where I immediately felt I could kick my shoes off and feel at home. The view from the rooftop lounge is incredible. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and well looked after. There is a definite warmth in the way one is treated here. They really care about the comfort and well being of their visitors.

I liked the way they offered a variety of activities for the following day, without putting pressure on us. We experienced the island and it's people to the fullest in the short time that we were there.

The food was interesting, tasty and well presented. All together a wonderful experience and money well spent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed at the Lodge for five nights as a solo traveler looking to get away and relax, and that’s exactly what I found.

My room was in the main lodge. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was HUGE. View was INCREDIBLE. That said, remember that you are on an island with limited electricity and water. So, your aircon won’t work 24 hours and the hot water may be more like lukewarm sometimes. Once you’re on the island though, it doesn’t matter, and you’ll be impressed with what they have been able to do.

The food was wonderful. Your day starts with coffee or tea brought to your room. Breakfast is served on the room and includes a list of cold and warm items cooked to order. Lunch is served in the garden and generally included a main (e.g., wrap, fish skewers, etc), a side (e.g., salad, potato wedges), and sometimes a dessert. Snacks (e.g., spring rolls, calamari) were served with sundowners. Dinner included three courses every night, plus some extras. My meals included lobster tail, crab curry, steak, fish, and a seafood platter. You will not go hungry.

My goal was not to occupy every minute of my vacation. So I was quite happy to spend a good deal of time sitting by the pool or reading in the shade. (Did I mention it was HOT?) But the tours of the island were informative, the kayaking trip to the mangrove trees was just the right amount of activity, renting a bike and taking it around the island felt adventurous, and the trip to the sandbank was absolutely decadent.

I found the staff to be very accommodating. As a solo traveler, one sometimes gets the sense that the staff are a little put out by having to arrange for one. However, I did not get that sense here at all. Further, I arrived with a broken toe and came down with a 24 hour stomach bug, and got just the right amount of TLC. (Thanks Everyone!)

Overall, I loved the place. However, I could see someone that’s a stickler for the “rules” of luxury or someone that needs to be occupied every minute of the day being slightly less impressed…

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopheliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Huge cool comfortable rooms with marble shower. Gorgeous grounds and bar deck overlooking bay and mangroves. Two pools.

Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Food was consistently excellent (although sadly no prawns).

Owner and manager engaging and helpful. Tour guide was awesome and tours were interesting.

Tarnished slightly by theft from on of our party's rooms and noisy aircon that only operated on one setting: full blast! Also, be prepared for mosquitos and heat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaneBez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Ibo Island Lodge after a sailing trip in the Quirambas Islands. The resort is a lovingly restored set of old mansions that definitely recalls a faded grandeur. The whole island is filled with faded history. We had a lovely few days with great hosts. If we had wanted, there were tours of the mangroves and sandy islands offshore (there are no "beaches" on the island, but we contented ourselves with a tour of the old Portugeuse fort, seeing a few craft cooperatives and a tour the hotel's gude took us on of the village.

We were there in a VERY hot time, and as mentioned, the bay view rooms are hot in the afternoon (but lovely in the morning when taking our breakfast) so we spent time in the 2 pools in the afternoon to cool off. There are no "suites" that would accomodate our family, but we had 2 side by side rooms that worked out terrifically. There is no electricity during the day and the a/c goes from 5pm to 5am so we got up early when the heat started. Still, this forced us to get up with the island and we spent many hours watching life of the bay

This was a very interesting island and place to stay. For people interested in culture and unplugging it is a lovely staty

Room Tip: Bay rooms have the view - Garden rooms are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbuckito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We went to Ibo Island to just get away from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives in the city and for some quality time together. That is exactly what we found. With a compliment of friendly, well trained and competent staff members that make you feel like one of the family Ibo also has the best restaurant on this side of the equator.
All the activities at the lodge are well worth taking. Completely cut off from the rest of the world on a secluded Island just off Pemba it is the ideal place to take your partner and just enjoy yourselves. I would highly recommend this destination to any person who is looking for a "break away" holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corne088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My Mum and I had a fantastic time at Ibo Island lodge. The lodge, rooms and veranda and beautiful with plenty of space to relax, read and enjoy the views. The lodge staff were all friendly and helpful but also get the balance just right, leaving guests in peace to relax. The food is excellent and the veranda is a top spot in all of Mozambique for a sun downer G&T. Although there is no beach on the island itself, a day trip to the sandbar off the island is a great way to spend the day snorkelling and swimming. I really enjoyed kayaking through the mangroves. Ibo Ilsand itself is an incredible place, full of history and character and a good few days can be spent exploring and learning about the place. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJRANSOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibo
0.3 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
10.4 mi away
Azura Quilalea Private Island
0.3 mi away
Ulani Lodge
Ulani Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ibo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Miti Miwiri Guest House
0 mi away
Guludo Beach Lodge
Guludo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Quirimbas National Park
115 reviews
752.9 mi away
Casa Jules
Casa Jules
#2 of 10 in Vilanculos
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibo Island Lodge

Address: Rua Bela Vista, Cabo Delgado Province 3212, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Ibo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ibo
Price Range: $641 - $854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibo Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibo Island lies in the Quirimbas Archipelago of northern Mozambique. Nominated for World Heritage status Ibo has been described as one of the most unique and atmospheric islands in the world. Ibo offers pristine beach excursions, snorkeling, sea kayaking, dhow sailing, birding, mangrove forests, sumptuous seafood, romance, simplicity, tranquility and a perspective that will change your life forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibo Island Hotel Ibo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing