We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ibo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ibo
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Brilliant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Last December I went on a 2 day dhow safari with Lucie (the host) and some other people I met who were travelling on Ibo on their own. As I say I didn't know the other people very well but Lucie made us feel very comfortable and I can honestly say was a brilliant host. It was by far the best, most organized, well thought out trip I had been on in Mozambique and having lived there for a year and a half I had travelled a lot in the country. The safari was also by far the most value for money dhow safari on Ibo, I checked 3 or 4 different options, and it had something that can be lacking from excursions/tours in Mozambique - customer service. We really were made to feel at home, and any thing we might have asked to do Lucie was open to and tried to accomodate us. The Islands (Matemo and Rolas, as well as the shipwrecks etc) were stunning and we stayed in beautiful A-frame huts that really added to the atmosphere of the whole trip. You felt that you were really travelling in a beautiful little corner of the world that hadn't yet been touched/ruined by tourists. I loved it!!! I cannot recommend this highly enough!!

Room Tip: Go in mid-December so that Ibo is not dead (few bars etc open) but not full like it will be around t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_kildea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lucie and her team at Baobibo made our stay on Ibo. High winds caused by a cyclone off the coast of Madagascar meant no boat trips were possible from Ibo, but Lucie provided lots of other options to keep us entertained, including a hike to Quirimbas through the mangroves with an excellent local guide. We also loved just hanging out at Baobibo - it has a great location right by the water and there are lots of dogs and cats around to play with if your interested.
The bungalows are stylishly decorated and well equipped, and as well as great breakfasts, we loved Baobibo's traditional lunches and dinners - the octopus and calamari were highlights.
We visited most of the other accommodation options whilst on Ibo island, and can confidently say that Lucie provides the most genuine advice - she really cares about her guests and will help in any way to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilds282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Amazing place, Lucy is so kind and accommodating and does the BEST day trips. The bungalows are lovely, really nicely decorated with great views, peaceful and great breakfast.... amazing day trip on the boat, thanks Lucy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The bungalows are fantastic, are stylishly decorated and have an excellent location. Lucie was really helpful and made sure everything was perfect. Staying here was the highlight of my trip to Mozambique.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was actually staying up the road as Baobibo was full, but a friend of mine was staying there. The owner Lucy helped arrange excursions for us, and when I stopped by each morning she treated me with a wonderful attitude and better service than other places I was actually a guest of in Mozambique. Ibo is definitely worth the visit, go swim with dolphins and see the old forts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I visited Baobio in August with a friend, boyfriend and pup and keep finding reasons to go back! Between spectacular views, the best beds in the country, lovely company with the staff and Lucie, and a wide variety of well organized (and well priced) activities, you'll be hard pressed to find a better place to stay in this area.

Baobibo has two (nearly three) breezy bungalows that look out directly onto the ocean. Lucie has designed a beautiful common sitting area with books, great breakfasts, cold beer and a comfortable couch which is ideal for lazing away mornings or watching an impressive sunset.

It is completely worth taking the dhow out for a day (or two) to swim with dolphins, snorkel the wreck, have a great pasta salad on the sandbar and work on your tan. With a bit more time, we ended up taking the dhow to Rolas, a neighbouring island, with Lucie's two captains for a night on a truly deserted island.

A handy perk at Baobibo is also that it is the only place with a kitchen for guests - should you want a break from 3 course Ibo meals. ,

Hoping for many more visits back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay_seegmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is the kind of place that once you get there, you never want to leave! The bungalows are fantastic and have the best bed we've ever experienced while travelling. Delicious breakfast, beautiful views and lots of useful information about the Quirimbas. Baobibo's dhow safaries are a must: you get a chance to swim with the dolphins, snorkel around a beautiful wreck and experience delicious lunch on a sandbank. If you enjoy walking Lucie's devoted dogs are ready to keep you company. If the tide is right you can even walk from Ibo to the Quirimba island - an unforgettable experience! Be sure to check about the tides and winds when planning your trip, since so much of what you can do and when depends on them - although just gazing the sea and doing nothing special can be a perfect day on Ibo, too :) We loved our stay and 1,5 weeks went way too fast. Lucie and the great staff at Baobibo, we want to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyyris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibo
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ibo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
10.3 mi away
Azura Quilalea Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices

Been to Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes

Property: Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes
Address: Marginale | Vila of Ibo, Cabo Delgado Province 3212, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Ibo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ibo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baobibo is offering quiet accommodation on sea front. 3 Charming, eco, comfortable bungalows and a nice resting area overlooking the entrance of Ibo bay, its mangrove and gorgeous sunsets over the continent. We have a traditional dhow with engine and organize private sailing trips of 1-3 days around Ibo, the sandbank, and to the islands of Matemo and Rolas. On the seafront side, 200 meters from the public jetty and at the end of Ibo vila's main street, this little spot of paradise is perfect for nature lovers. May it be for a loving bird escape, family discovery, or backpackers looking for a longer rest. Our goal: make you feel home and help you get the best of Ibo & Co... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing