We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little paradise on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ibo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ibo
Tampere, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little paradise on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is the kind of place that once you get there, you never want to leave! The bungalows are fantastic and have the best bed we've ever experienced while travelling. Delicious breakfast, beautiful views and lots of useful information about the Quirimbas. Baobibo's dhow safaries are a must: you get a chance to swim with the dolphins, snorkel around a beautiful wreck and experience delicious lunch on a sandbank. If you enjoy walking Lucie's devoted dogs are ready to keep you company. If the tide is right you can even walk from Ibo to the Quirimba island - an unforgettable experience! Be sure to check about the tides and winds when planning your trip, since so much of what you can do and when depends on them - although just gazing the sea and doing nothing special can be a perfect day on Ibo, too :) We loved our stay and 1,5 weeks went way too fast. Lucie and the great staff at Baobibo, we want to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyyris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was not able to stay in the bungalows, as they were booked out, but I did join their guests on a sailing safari aboard their Dhow to the islands which was great fun - Lucy, the owner, is a great host and the bungalows look terrific and have a great view across the sea.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time as their are currently two bungalows with one more being constructed - and ask ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlakeRoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a real insider tip. Since it is new, it is not yet listed in the travel guides and booking is more by mouth to ear promotion than through ads. The bungalows are new, the sunsets overwhelming and the food great and come with the care of a fantastic host, who will help you to arrange whatever trip you have in mind. I would not stay in any other place on Ibo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Situated in between the harbour and Ibo Island Lodge, this is a nice place to camp. It's not really a campsite but there is space in the garden for a tent and you can use the bathroom of one of the rooms if they're not full. The breakfast is good and there is lots of useful information about the island and what to do. If you can afford the rooms then they look very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibo
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ibo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
10.3 mi away
Azura Quilalea Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices

Been to Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes

Property: Baobibo - Casa de Hospedes
Address: Marginale | Vila of Ibo, Cabo Delgado Province 3212, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Ibo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ibo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baobibo is offering quiet accommodation on sea front. 3 Charming, eco, comfortable bungalows and a nice resting area overlooking the entrance of Ibo bay, its mangrove and gorgeous sunsets over the continent. We have a traditional dhow with engine and organize private sailing trips of 1-3 days around Ibo, the sandbank, and to the islands of Matemo and Rolas. On the seafront side, 200 meters from the public jetty and at the end of Ibo vila's main street, this little spot of paradise is perfect for nature lovers. May it be for a loving bird escape, family discovery, or backpackers looking for a longer rest. Our goal: make you feel home and help you get the best of Ibo & Co... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing