We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great managers!”
Review of Cinco Portas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cinco Portas
Ranked #1 of 2 Ibo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We are a couple travelling around africa for a month. All we can say about cinco portas are good things. Managers really care for their guests and help in every single task such as activities, restaurantes, transportation.
The place is very nice, with very cute pool by the sea. The food is good and they do their best despite sometimes you have to be fast in the buffet to get a good catch ;)

Definitely we recommend this place.

Diego y Bea

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diegosolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Often our evaluation of the places we visit are a matter of expectations fulfilled or not. We expected from Ibo's Cinco Portas just a clean room in a calm place, and it was widely exceeded. Our room was one of the small ones, but impeccably clean and well attended, in front of the swimming pool and the sea, ... and with air-con! Pity the electricity is not available at all day hours, but you're supposed to be out during the day. Kamila and Ziggy do their utmost to train the local staff and to bring you a pleasant stay with advice and assistance for booking activities in the island.
During our stay at Ibo we visited other lodges for dining, namely the Ibo Island Lodge and the Miti Miwiri. The first one is a little bit too much wanna-be luxury, we actually did not feel comfortable with the 5-course dinner announced and served as if you were in a 200-bucks-per-meal restaurant. The latter is more OK. But we would no doubt be back at the Cinco Portas should we have to chose again (I wish!).

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet enough, but I would try the bigger ones for the additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank homedelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of the most beautiful places i had ever visited.130 km from Pemba by car(in the dry season you do not need a 4X4) to Quissinga.Safe car parking in the Dhau port(Tandanhangue) near Quissinga.Juerg,the owner from Switzerland,will send you a boat from Ibo island,if you contact him before.One our is
the trip by boat .You must check the time exactly-only high tide is possibly.It is fine for 2 or 3 days.
For beach holidays it is not the right place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Cinco Portas for three nights in mid August. We had booked the colonial room, located in the obly part of the property that dates back to Portuguese times. The room still preserves some of its former allure, with a marble bathroom and a stylish bed. The ony drawback about the room is that it was a little noisy, as one of the windows overlooked a sarrow alley that people took to walk to the beach. The property itself is very attractive, with a sizeable swimming pool overlooking the ocean. The pensao is managed by a highly professional Czech couple, Camilla and Ziggy, who go out of their way to make one's stay a memorable one. Breakfast is adequate, although freshly made fruit juices would have been nice. On some evenings, a reasonably priced buffet dinner is organized. All in all I think Cinco Portas is a wonderful option for those of us who seek comfort but are loath to pay the price of a fice-star lodge. Keep it up, Cinco Portas! We shall be back.

Room Tip: The Colonial room, though well-appointed, is a bit noisy. A new suite with a sea view is being built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We strongly recommend it. Rooms are very clean and the service is excellent. Food is good as well. You can arrange several activities once there, such as whales watching (if you are lucky), walk to quirimba island and others. Kamila and Ziggy will make sure that you have a great experience there. The location is very good as it is 5min walk to the dough port.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobeira8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed on Ibo a week and enjoyed the food at Cino Portas so much that I chose to eat there every night. Great care is taken to valorize locally sourced fresh fish, with a mix of recipes from Mozambique and elsewhere. And after a bit of traveling around the country you’ll soon find that that this good food is great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A lovely relaxing place to stay on Ibo. Staff could not be more helpful and the owner was a wonderful host while we were there. We ate dinner there every night with the kids and the food was delicious and different each time and great value for money. They were also accommodating to the children and their fussy food requirements which makes life much easier. Helped to organise day trips with local guides and give advise on the best places to visit.

All in all a very relaxing stay, well looked after and would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracypilirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibo
10.2 mi away
Azura Quilalea Private Island
0.3 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ulani Lodge
Ulani Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ibo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miti Miwiri Guest House
0 mi away
Guludo Beach Lodge
Guludo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Quirimbas National Park
115 reviews
0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Portas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Portas

Address: Rua de la Republica, Cabo Delgado Province 3212, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Ibo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ibo
Price Range: $45 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cinco Portas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinco Portas is a 3 star lodge on Ibo Island, Quirimbas National Park, constantly ranked 5 star by our guests! Our garden, pool and famous restaurant are welcoming you all year round. Cinco Portas is the gateway to Quirimbas and our bar is where you meet locals, expats and other tourists looking for fun and new friends. Cinco Portas cater for around 75% of all excursions in Quirimbas. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cinco Portas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing