We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem on Ibo island”
Review of Cinco Portas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cinco Portas
Ranked #1 of 2 Ibo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Cinco Portas for three nights in mid August. We had booked the colonial room, located in the obly part of the property that dates back to Portuguese times. The room still preserves some of its former allure, with a marble bathroom and a stylish bed. The ony drawback about the room is that it was a little noisy, as one of the windows overlooked a sarrow alley that people took to walk to the beach. The property itself is very attractive, with a sizeable swimming pool overlooking the ocean. The pensao is managed by a highly professional Czech couple, Camilla and Ziggy, who go out of their way to make one's stay a memorable one. Breakfast is adequate, although freshly made fruit juices would have been nice. On some evenings, a reasonably priced buffet dinner is organized. All in all I think Cinco Portas is a wonderful option for those of us who seek comfort but are loath to pay the price of a fice-star lodge. Keep it up, Cinco Portas! We shall be back.

Room Tip: The Colonial room, though well-appointed, is a bit noisy. A new suite with a sea view is being built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We strongly recommend it. Rooms are very clean and the service is excellent. Food is good as well. You can arrange several activities once there, such as whales watching (if you are lucky), walk to quirimba island and others. Kamila and Ziggy will make sure that you have a great experience there. The location is very good as it is 5min walk to the dough port.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobeira8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed on Ibo a week and enjoyed the food at Cino Portas so much that I chose to eat there every night. Great care is taken to valorize locally sourced fresh fish, with a mix of recipes from Mozambique and elsewhere. And after a bit of traveling around the country you’ll soon find that that this good food is great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A lovely relaxing place to stay on Ibo. Staff could not be more helpful and the owner was a wonderful host while we were there. We ate dinner there every night with the kids and the food was delicious and different each time and great value for money. They were also accommodating to the children and their fussy food requirements which makes life much easier. Helped to organise day trips with local guides and give advise on the best places to visit.

All in all a very relaxing stay, well looked after and would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracypilirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The views, the pool, the rooms and the general layout are delightful. You walk in from a dusty main street and can't imagine what a lovely view onto the Ocean you'll get.

The rooms are fine, although could benefit if some thought were put into where guests should hang/fold their clothes (just a couple hooks on a wall, no shelves to speak of). Also my mattress was really caving in the middle, at the time this was a big cause of complaint for me but in the two weeks since I left there I've realised that this is just normal here in Mozambique.

The owner was away and the place seemed to be running by inertia. On our first night we ate there and the food was really nothing to write home about. But then we found the Panela Africana (see review) so we never thought of having anything more than breakfast and salad at Cinco Portas again.

I know this is a European obsession but I couldn't help notice how with all the smokers that were staying there really was a paucity of ashtrays. Wind + lack of ashtrays means there is little hope of the cigarette butts not being swept out to sea.

But still this was definitely a nice middle-priced place to spend a few nights on the Island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatktdoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

swimming pool with views of the bay is beautiful. I like the atmosphere, the food, rooms. staff are happy to help with island exploration, tours and transport to Pemba.

surroundings are very nice and calm - it's like eternal Sunday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a charming place to stay on fascinating Ibo Island.

Owned and managed by an urbane Swiss ex-pat, it's right on the water with a pretty garden with a swimming pool and lots of shady spots in which to relax. The restaurant offers good food - don't miss the lobster! - although the instant coffee with breakfast is a shame.

The whole staff is great, especially the two guys behind the very well-stocked bar.

With another lodge opening on the Island soon, Cinco Portas maybe needs to look at perking up its rooms (which are sadly lacking in anywhere or hang or store clothes) and bathrooms. But it's nonetheless a delight and Ibo is definitely well worth the long journey - plan to stay at least four nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibo
10.2 mi away
Azura Quilalea Private Island
0.3 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ulani Lodge
Ulani Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ibo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miti Miwiri Guest House
0 mi away
Guludo Beach Lodge
Guludo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Quirimbas National Park
115 reviews
0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Portas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Portas

Address: Rua de la Republica, Cabo Delgado Province 3212, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Ibo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ibo
Price Range: $45 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cinco Portas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinco Portas is a 3 star lodge on Ibo Island, Quirimbas National Park, constantly ranked 5 star by our guests! Our garden, pool and famous restaurant are welcoming you all year round. Cinco Portas is the gateway to Quirimbas and our bar is where you meet locals, expats and other tourists looking for fun and new friends. Cinco Portas cater for around 75% of all excursions in Quirimbas. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cinco Portas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing