We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miti Miwiri - the place to stay at on Ibo!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ibo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miti Miwiri Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ibo
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Miti Miwiri - the place to stay at on Ibo!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at Miti Miwiri in July 2013 and highly recommend it – simple, clean and pleasantly furnished rooms and friendly staff. The owners, Jorg and Elder, are especially helpful and offer plenty of good advice on what do to and see on Ibo and surrounding island. I stayed a week and wish I’d stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
36
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Big rooms, very good food, great staff, located in the heart of the old town, a perfect choice. The German manager is very helpful. I recommend. Do not forget to tell him your flight as the airport has no taxi service!

Room Tip: The Fatima room has a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lafforgue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ibo is a great place to be. And Miti Miwiri fits just the purpose. Jorg, the owner is very nice and helpful as is the general staff. The rooms are very comfortable and simple. The food in the restaurant is really good. We were treated very well. The common area is really good place to chill, play with the unnamed cat, meet other people.... Soon they'll have a pool as well.

Room Tip: Got the impression that the rooms on the first are quieter. All seemed good apparently
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esbleki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The owners are probably the most patient people I encountered on my whole trip. They are super generous with advice, assistance, ideas.
The food there is amazing. Expensive, but amazing. The bed was super comfortable, the shower was clean, we had a whole balcony area to ourselves. You can also organize all sorts of trips through them, but they won't pressure you to do so, like other places generally do.

When they serve dinner, they place all the meals at one table - so you naturally get to know the other travelers. It's a great place to meet people. I have zero complaints about this place - I definitely recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room - much airier, especially after the rainy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Best for: everyone, couples, friends and family

Pros:
- Elder, one of the managers of the hotel was very helpful, social and pleasant. Very caring, he went out of his way to confirm our CFA flight back to Pemba to make sure it had not changed. (they had indeed changed the time to 11am from 4pm) He gave us background information on Ibo and many options on how to enjoy the island. The Italian lady was also pleasant and helpful. Main staff people speak English.
- You can get all your IBO information here.
- The initial cost of the hotel is economical, and you can get everything you need here from breakfasts to trips to the surrounding islands.
- Contrary to the reviews from 2009, now the dinner is on time. The service was great!
- The rooms were tastefully decorated, the lodge is charming. Ours had a wide veranda area to sit outside.
- The garden is beautiful and it has swings from the trees.
- The meeting room and bar area allows people to come together to chat. It's a very social place at night.
- Great coffee. (Ibo Island coffee)
- The only midrange hotel open in Ibo in May. Other were closed due to low season. (Expensive Ibo Lodge and the simple Karibu campsite were the only other options)
- The employees had matching pretty uniforms.

Cons:
- The food was expensive. Ibo coffee was 110 meticais for one espresso (1.5 cup) delicious though. 800 meticais for a bottle of wine. 60 or 80 for a roll with jam in the morning (scarce resources?)
- The breakfast menu lacked volume.
- Walls are thin in my room on the 2nd floor. Conversations were heard.
- On Saturday night the local disco blasts music until 2am. Ear plugs recommended on that night. Maybe a garden facing room may help.

Cost:
- $60 per night per room (2 people) excluding breakfast
- Motorbike ride to and from the airport 300 meticais (for 2 people). It's a bit of a walk I would get a ride.
- Dinner was 500 meticais (3 course meal, need to order in advance)
- Boat trips cost $95 per day for a boat (8 people) to Matemo, sandbar and ship wreck (only if the tides are calm)
- Abu's Quirimbas tour, a couple of hours at the beach in Quirimbas, a tour of the town, lunch and a dhow trip back (3 hours total walking in the mangroves in the low tide) 500 meticais per person (we had 4 in our group). Great tour! It's all about the mangroves.
- Raul's tour of Ibo city. 500 meticais per person (approx 4 hours), didn't go but I heard it was great.

Location:
In city center, not facing the bay but with in a beautiful garden setting. The first big hotel coming in from the airport across from the white monument.

Others:
If you are doing the Quirimbas tour bring comfortable reef/water shoes that do not slip off in the mud.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Matatu7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I've just came back home...but my mind still there, still around those islands, still dreaming with that small paradise.
I've travelled along Mozambique for more less one month...but I did no find any place so unic as Ibo island, maybe because and for my unic experience at Miti Miwiri...
I planned to stay on Ibo just for 2 days but in the end I decided to stay longer (1week!)...because I wanted to discover more about the beuty of that island and the Quirimbas Arquipelago.
Thanks to Elder and Jorg, the two owners of Miti Miwiri, I really enjoyed my experience on Ibo, and that's why I think that sometimes people make the difference in one place...
Elder and Jorg are a real good team, they know how to deal with local people and they know how to sort out any problem...unic people in a unic place!
MitiMiwiri was build by Elder and Jorg, basing on the ancient portuguese colonial house...all its interior is impressive and everything remind to the colonial period! The rooms are really big and decorated in African style...simples but really nice, that's what I really liked them! If you are an active person MitiMiwiri is the ideal place to go: Elder and Jorg can offer to you many activities to do on the island...kayaking, tracking to other island, bycles...but if you find just a place to relax, MitiMiwiri offer a peacefull garden where you can read a book laying on a amaca!
The only negative point there?...I took a lot of kilos, as the food is really good!!...that's because of Serena, a cute and smart italian girl, who since few month arrived at MitiMiwiri and joined the French (Elder) and German (Jorg) team...she's the kitchen manager, and what I really liked about their food is that is simple but with unique flavour. I liked the idea to combine the mozambican and italian food: italian bruschetta, banana soup, matapa and a really delicious grilled lobster in a butter,lemon and garlic souce!...
Now it is easier to understand why I loved so much that place...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in total; the original plan was just 4 nights but since the airline (CFA) we had booked our flight back to Pemba with, forgot to pick us up (true story!!!), we had to stay an extra night. Joerg and Elder, the co-owners/managers, were super extra helpful and efficient in re-organizing our trip back to Pemba and then to Nampula. Big thanks to both of them, you did a great (stressful) job there!

Which reminds us : should you fly back to Pemba, make sure to confirm with the airline or travel agent 24h prior to flying, to double check the flight schedule!

Miti Miwiri is a very laid-back, back-packer's style, easy and charming type of place. A little heaven on IBO, where all cultures and people mix. The atmosphere is very welcoming and relaxed. They serve very good food (which you need to order in advance but they still manage to come up sth tasty for us, even that one time we had forgotten to pre-order). So, flexibility is part of what they have to offer. They really go the extra mile to satisfy the guests' needs!

We enjoyed the relaxed Mozambican pace there, to chill-out after a walk or an excursion in or around IBO ... Good music in the evening, good bar and a selection of books, should you run out of stuff to read! And you get the free company of two adorable kitties who love to snuggle close to you if you let them!

Our double room was clean and tastefully decorated. It was cleaned daily, which we had not expected in this back-packers' type of accommodation. A few suggestions to the owners, as discussed with them : add some useful furniture to the room, so guests can organize their luggage while staying there, instead of having the bag stacked on the floor. Add a few shelves and hooks here and there to make it easier and more practical. And something on the big roof terrace to enable guests to hang their personal towels, snorkelling wear and clothes out to dry ...

Miti Miwiri is very involved with the local community; there's always locals hanging around (which is confusing because you don't know who is staff and who isn't), which adds to the very multi-cultural welcoming ambiance. Maybe Staff uniforms may come in handy at some point? ....

Wake-up calls are not necessary because the local community around Miti Miwiri starts their day just before the sun rises and you can hear everything from the room... So forget about sleeping in and welcome the symphony of a wide variety of noises : kids, chicken, birds, goats, motorbikes, brooms on the floor, etc. ... Interesting, to say the least!

Elder and Joerg are passionate about Ibo and its surroundings and can tell (and sell) you anything you wish to do in and around Ibo. They know the area very well and are very helpful with valuable info you need!

Internet connection (not wifi yet) is available on their laptop, at the bar, for a reasonable price. It's slow but it allows you to read your emails at least! And no one else offers it on Ibo at this time.

They have their own generator and you'll have electricity in the room from 5pm till 10pm only. Just a matter of getting organised. Wanna read later than that? Bring your head-lamp ;-)) Elder mentioned that Ibo will have electricity from the mainland by end if this year, so that might change a lot of things! Let's hope hot showers will replace the cold showers by then!

Thanks again to all the Staff @ Miti Miwiri and special thanks to Elder for his efficiency in dealing with our unexpected "missed" flight!

Kate (USA) and Val (Belgium)
July 2011

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullesdebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibo
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#3 of 3 in Ibo
186 reviews
10.1 mi away
Azura Quilalea Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
156 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Miti Miwiri Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miti Miwiri Guest House

Property: Miti Miwiri Guest House
Address: Rua Antonio de Almeida | Avenida da Republica, Cabo Delgado Province 3212, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Ibo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ibo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miti Miwiri which in the local language, means "Two Trees", is located at the heart of the old town. Surrounded by nature and mango trees, impregnated of an imperial atmosphere that reminds the old Portuguese colonial rule, is the perfect place to begin your African experience and to explore the Quirimbas Archipelago; embracing its virgin islands, its turquoise waters, its golden beaches and a Mwani culture still proudly preserved.Our lodge is located on the beautiful Ibo Island, the most famous amongst the thirty coral islands that make up the untouched and wild Quirimbas Arquipelago.Ibo Island, Quirimbas capital for centuries, considered culturally and historically one of the jewels of Mozambique, known as the little sister of “Mozambique Island” because of their architectural similarities, is located in the central area of the islands, or in the heart of the archipelago, just 45 minutes by boat from the mainland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing