We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Azura Quilalea Private Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have been lucky enough to visit many islands and can't honestly say this was the "BEST"! From arriving on the island by Helicopter and met by Andrew and Drienie it just got better. We were showed to our Villa which is breathtaking from the Decor to the views… The Staff all so friendly and a special thanks to Abdul for making the fishing trips so exciting… It was one of the best Deep Sea fishing trips ever!!! I caught my first GT with Andrew THANK YOU and Abdul and it will be a memory i will cherish forever. All in all Azura Quilalea is a must on the list for Island Destinations.
The only down side of our trip was… we had to leave this beautiful island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quintinonsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 192 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a super time here, it was so quiet and peaceful. Nice walks around the island. Snorkeling right outside your villa. No need to lock doors. gorgeous views. no noise (ie. jet skis, etc) The food is lovely, service is great. Our only request is if it had a gym!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is the second time that we have visited Quilalea and we thought it was even better than the first time...which is a tough feat. We loved the small touches (sunset cocktails, romantic dinners), the amazing personal attention and hospitality from all the staff and the night snorkelling was just fabulous...seriously recommend this. One of the things that makes this island special is the fact that there is a beautiful coral reef right off the sunset villas side and main beach. Pure snorkelling overdose! We will be back.

Room Tip: Sunset villas to be close to the reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My birthday treat to myself and to thank my husband so much......
Wow wow wow. From beginning to end perfection. Thank you so much for making me feel so special on my birthday.
The walks the snorkeling the FOOD!!!! The service the friendliness the Eco awareness the room the decor the "touches". There are no words. Amazing. Never mind the last night's jumping water pipe - haha just added to our memory. Wonderful. Hope to return one day

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Glynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Quilalea takes understated luxury to a whole new level. We were particularly impressed with:
- The rooms are airy, tastefully decorated and ours (a sunrise villa) opened out onto a non-swimming beach which meant that it was pretty much totally private
- The food was excellent without being too heavy and over-the top.The venue for each meal is a surprise - sometimes the beach or under the trees which really makes you feel like you have the island to yourself.
- Service is top-class but very subtle - you don't ever feel like you are bring fawned over but you never want for anything
- We did some great dives with the well run dive operation, especially good sightings of turtles as well as a good selection of game fish as well as smaller critters and a good variety of coral.
- The helicpoter ride is spectacular as well as beiing great fun and making you feel like the rich-and-famous.
- The Quirimbas are fabulously isolated and unspoilt. We were pleasantly surprised by the great bird- and plant-life on the island with beeaters nesting on the ground between the villas and magnificent baobabs
.

Definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

A truly memorable experience. A beautiful location, exceptional management and fabulous staff.. Great food. Everything considered to the last degree.
A veteran of many African lodges both bush and beach, Quililea exceeded my expectations.
Imagine stepping 3 metres off the beach right in front of the Lodge into a coral wonderland.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Quilalea is the best kept secret in the ocean. We just got back from our honeymoon and it was nothing short of fantastic! The flight to Pemba from Jhb was fine. The helicopter ride to the island was magic as we flew over whales with their babies. From the moment you land on the island, the service is phenomenal; the staff have one response to any question and that is "no problem!" They give you a private, personalised experience, nothing is too much to ask. The accommodation is luxurious and clean. We stayed in Sunset Villa no 7 -on the beach just a few steps from the sea. You couldn't ask for a more private living space with such an exquisite view. The sunset's are breathtaking - with or without cocktails! The attention to detail all over the island is amazing - even the foot pools have petals in them! The snorkelling around the island is unmatched - although there is a scuba centre, there is no need to as the snorkelling is unbelievable and it is at your doorstep. The ocean safaris are great - we saw whales up close. The fishing is superb. The bird life is abundant, with two resident fish eagles on the island. There are many turtles as turtle beach is the most important breeding ground in the area. We called turtle beach "hermit crab highway" - the little guys are everywhere! The food is exceptional - we never tired of the variety or the taste experience in over 2 weeks. The chef is brilliant - the fresh sea food is outstanding. Quilalea is a once in a lifetime experience - the challenge is to find a way to visit a second time!

Room Tip: sunset villa no 7 was superb! The wind seems to blow onto the island from the ocean on the east - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeAnne510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quilalea
10.4 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
198 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
0 mi away
Guludo Beach Lodge
Guludo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Quirimbas National Park
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Ulani Lodge
Ulani Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ibo
7 reviews
10.2 mi away
Miti Miwiri Guest House
0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azura Quilalea Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azura Quilalea Private Island

Address: Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique (Formerly Quilalea Island Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Quilalea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Quilalea
Price Range: $1,579 - $2,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azura Quilalea Private Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azura Quilalea is the second luxury Indian Ocean Retreat from the Azura Retreats group. It is bringing Azura's trademark African-chic style to Quilalea Private Island, a private, wholly uninhabited island paradise, with just 9 handcrafted seafront villas, ensuring total privacy and exclusivity. The island is approximately 86 acres in size, and boasts 4 fabulous beaches. Snorkel the island's shores, dive the house reef that spans the main beach, picnic on remote turtle beach, kayak through mangroves or relax in a hammock beneath the giant baobabs that stand sentinel over the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Azura Quilalea Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quilalea Island Hotel Quilalea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing