We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private island paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Azura Quilalea Private Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quilalea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Quilalea takes understated luxury to a whole new level. We were particularly impressed with:
- The rooms are airy, tastefully decorated and ours (a sunrise villa) opened out onto a non-swimming beach which meant that it was pretty much totally private
- The food was excellent without being too heavy and over-the top.The venue for each meal is a surprise - sometimes the beach or under the trees which really makes you feel like you have the island to yourself.
- Service is top-class but very subtle - you don't ever feel like you are bring fawned over but you never want for anything
- We did some great dives with the well run dive operation, especially good sightings of turtles as well as a good selection of game fish as well as smaller critters and a good variety of coral.
- The helicpoter ride is spectacular as well as beiing great fun and making you feel like the rich-and-famous.
- The Quirimbas are fabulously isolated and unspoilt. We were pleasantly surprised by the great bird- and plant-life on the island with beeaters nesting on the ground between the villas and magnificent baobabs
.

Definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 192 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

A truly memorable experience. A beautiful location, exceptional management and fabulous staff.. Great food. Everything considered to the last degree.
A veteran of many African lodges both bush and beach, Quililea exceeded my expectations.
Imagine stepping 3 metres off the beach right in front of the Lodge into a coral wonderland.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Quilalea is the best kept secret in the ocean. We just got back from our honeymoon and it was nothing short of fantastic! The flight to Pemba from Jhb was fine. The helicopter ride to the island was magic as we flew over whales with their babies. From the moment you land on the island, the service is phenomenal; the staff have one response to any question and that is "no problem!" They give you a private, personalised experience, nothing is too much to ask. The accommodation is luxurious and clean. We stayed in Sunset Villa no 7 -on the beach just a few steps from the sea. You couldn't ask for a more private living space with such an exquisite view. The sunset's are breathtaking - with or without cocktails! The attention to detail all over the island is amazing - even the foot pools have petals in them! The snorkelling around the island is unmatched - although there is a scuba centre, there is no need to as the snorkelling is unbelievable and it is at your doorstep. The ocean safaris are great - we saw whales up close. The fishing is superb. The bird life is abundant, with two resident fish eagles on the island. There are many turtles as turtle beach is the most important breeding ground in the area. We called turtle beach "hermit crab highway" - the little guys are everywhere! The food is exceptional - we never tired of the variety or the taste experience in over 2 weeks. The chef is brilliant - the fresh sea food is outstanding. Quilalea is a once in a lifetime experience - the challenge is to find a way to visit a second time!

Room Tip: sunset villa no 7 was superb! The wind seems to blow onto the island from the ocean on the east - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeAnne510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After 4 days on a yacht along the coast, we spent 3 nights at the Azura Quilalea which have been out of this world. The different areas of the hotel are very well integrated in the island and simply but nicely decorated. Rooms are exquisite, mixing comfort and privacy. The food is gastronomical yet very healthy. Staff is very friendly and eager to make your stay special. Snorkeling and diving is just amazing right from the beach, making it even accessible to kids.
All in all, best beach experience ever! We will be back !!

Room Tip: Sunset room preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Total bliss. We might return and stay as long as our money lasts. When it is all gone, it will be time to walk into the ocean (we're seniors). All of northern Mozambique is currently undeveloped and has very few visitors. Go now, someday this will be east Cancun. We loved every minute.

Room Tip: All are gorgeous, beachfront, and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlutistCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Villa #5 was a superb sunset villa. Plenty of space and all you need for 5 days of bliss. We felt totally alone and it was ever so quiet except for the birds and the sounds of the sea. One of the most relaxing trips ever, did a lot of reading and enjoying Kelly's fantastic delights at every meal. Crispin, our host, so to speak, did everything perfectly and was always there to see to all our requests. The walks around the island and seeing these most magnificent baobob trees was a highlight for me, as they are my most favorite trees in Africa. We will recomend this resort to all our future guests at our guest house. Thanks to the entire staff for a memorable holiday and we hope to be back one day. Linda & Ole of Aquavit Guest House, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindaolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The helicopter transfer from Pemba was the very best start to the second week of our honeymoon. Kelly, the GM is the real star of Quilalea and we had a great time experiencing the hospitality of her team. We loved our sunset villa (definitely worth the extra money) and the food was very good at breakfast and lunch - especially the sushi! I just felt the food for supper could have been stepped up a little and it was busier in the bar and at mealtimes than I was hoping for. Secretly I guess I wanted more isolation and quiet from a private island and I felt it missed the hallmark of a true barefoot luxury resort, as there were so few individual touches. The beach villas were not fully occupied when we first arrived, just two other couples, but after 3 days or so, the island began to fill up with other couples, 3 males on a fishing trip and a young family, and I was sensitive to the bustle and busy-ness. What can you say? They tried to separate the tables around the restaurant, but I only felt the intimacy and isolation I hoped for on one evening when we were seated in a very magical place near to, but further away from the restaurant. My new husband would say I was being too harsh as we had been completely spoiled by our epic adventure in Africa up to this point, but overall I feel it was too fully occupied and the staff were too stretched for a luxury private island concept and so my experience is a little marred by that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quilalea
10.4 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
198 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
0 mi away
Guludo Beach Lodge
Guludo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Quirimbas National Park
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Ulani Lodge
Ulani Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ibo
7 reviews
10.2 mi away
Miti Miwiri Guest House
0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azura Quilalea Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azura Quilalea Private Island

Address: Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique (Formerly Quilalea Island Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Quilalea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quilalea
Price Range: $1,562 - $2,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azura Quilalea Private Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azura Quilalea is the second luxury Indian Ocean Retreat from the Azura Retreats group. It is bringing Azura's trademark African-chic style to Quilalea Private Island, a private, wholly uninhabited island paradise, with just 9 handcrafted seafront villas, ensuring total privacy and exclusivity. The island is approximately 86 acres in size, and boasts 4 fabulous beaches. Snorkel the island's shores, dive the house reef that spans the main beach, picnic on remote turtle beach, kayak through mangroves or relax in a hammock beneath the giant baobabs that stand sentinel over the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Azura Quilalea Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quilalea Island Hotel Quilalea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing