We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Azura Quilalea Private Island
Certificate of Excellence
Suisse
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Paradise Island”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visited Quilalea shortly after it reopened and were really impressed with the care and attention to detail of the staff. The island is small, beautiful and intimate; the accommodation is excellent; the food is inventive, varied and very good (no mean feat on an isolated island); and the atmosphere is comfortable and extremely relaxing. The diving is good but quite dependent on the weather; the one-room (hut) spa is simple and charming but limited, I think, to a (very good) massage; other activities including canoeing off the beach, walking in the rainforest, excellent bird-watching and turtle spotting. It's a remarkable place and we would love to go again however we were lucky to get a two for one offer which made it just affordable; at advertised prices it would be more than we want to pay (the value for money rating below is based on advertised prices).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
119
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I doubt that there is a more beautiful place in the world! This small but lush and diverse paradise island just takes your breath away over and over again, from the magnificent snorkelling and abundance of fish you can see from the cliffs of your villa, to the colourful birds and the genuine care and embracing service.. The villas are stunning and your every need is met, even if you are difficult, like me (a vegan!!). You literally walk 10steps down from your deck and see unimagined things in the water, or just sit in your deckchair and watch the trees teeming with colourful birds.. Nature undisturbed and untouched. Baobabs, fish eagles, rays, a little shark, morays, all kinds of marine life imaginable, you name it. And you don't even have to dive - I saw all of this just snorkelling out front!
The service is beyond comparison and appointments spotless, and the food heavenly delicious and varied.
Despite the perfect peace and remoteness there is so much natural beauty you could spend a month and not get bored.
You really couldn't ask for anything more in a romantic paradise island getaway.

Room Tip: all are amazing and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeddaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a fantastic place, truly the most relaxing place I have ever visited and the perfect level of service and hosting from a superb team of people led by Kelly and Paul, to ensure your every need is met! Accommodation standard for an island resort is World Class and so intimate with a maximum of 18 guests, although we had the place to ourselves, which made it even more special!
Food, was skillfully prepared by their resident Chef, Jade from Cape Town and to die for!
This is a remarkable venue and one for the bucket list!
Every effort was made to accommodate all requirements and even our children were highly entertained.

Room Tip: sunset rooms are worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you want to get away from a busy life, here is the place to come. Slow and peaceful and a great place to unwind. Thanks to the tireless efforts of Kelly and the team, the place runs beautifully.
A few points to know ahead. Some people say how was the journey? The journey was great if you like travelling. We transited DAR and took a Coastal flight down to Mocimbao di Praio in Northern Mozambique for immigration. We were five of us and the only ones in the airport! Buy your visa ahead if you can. Wait for the connecting flight and a land rover and boat trip and you are here. Brilliant!
Hotel has nine villas so is never busy.
Take a boat trip and see dolphin and tuna jumping out the sea. GREAT.
Rooms are very spacious but this is not five star glitz. If you want that, go to the Malidives!
There is a coral reef right in front of the bar. A three minute swim and you are amongst a whole array of fish and even turtles.
Better not say anymore, otherwise there will be no surprises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a blissful Honeymoon spent at Azura, Quilalea. The island is a slice of heaven on earth and we both feel so fortunate to have been able to experience it. The staff, accommodation and food all exceeded our expectations. It's a small island but the staff use all the amazing things it offers beautifully! Was very romantic and felt a world away from everything which is just what we wanted! Thank you Azura for a wonderful week and we look forward to seeing you again someday!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTown
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

One cannot speak highly enough of this beautiful Island Retreat - is is pure heaven on earth ( as one could imagine it to be like!). we had an amazing 5 dream days!

Food has a great "Mozambique Twist", chef is superb, the team are really spot on, always smiling and genuinely happy - all helps to create the perfect Island Holiday.

Diving out of this world, never gets too hot as it is cooled by the trade winds off the East Coast of Africa!

Simply cant wait to go back and this is a dream island! The Azura brand is really understated and simply "great taste" lovely interiors, great shampoo's, conditioner and liquid sopas and you can get a great massage from a really lovely Mozambiquecan lady that simply sends you to sleep as you look out of the azure blue waters!

Room Tip: Sunrise suites are just beautful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My partner and I went to Azura at Quilalea October 13-17, and it was the best vacation I have ever had. We arrived in Pemba on SAA in the afternoon, where we were greeted by Azura staff, who sheparded us through the baggage area and on to the CFA waiting room. The CFA flight was a marvel - a tiny plane with just us and a swashbuckling young pilot. On Quirimbas we were greeted by a modern Crocodile Dundee who drove us through the coconut plantation to a beach where we were greeted by additional Azura staff who changed us into water boots to splash out to the boat. On the boat we met Paulo, who kindly answered all our questions and humoured our stupefied response to the natural scenery surrounding us - aqua waters, classic Portugese fishing boats, amazing wildlife.

Upon landing, a large group of staff greeted us, and our personal butler Nelson presented us with a tray of hot towels and coconut shavings. Then Nathan, the magnificent operations manager, gave us a grand tour of the facilities and our room, which was actually a private villa larger than my NYC apartment. The decor was in perfect keeping with the surroundings and the facilities were eco-friendly - the entire island functions off desalinated water from the Indian Ocean that is safe to drink. Additionally, since there is no standing water on the island, it's a low-risk malarial area (an added bonus).

For the next few days, we were treated to delicious multi-course meals in different spots on the island selected by Nelson, snorkeling over the amazing coral reefs in the water by our villa, sunset cocktails whipped up by the friendly bartender, ocean kayaking, star-gazing lessons by H, and massages by the very sweet Mariamo. We took a walk around the island and saw flora and fauna we didn't know existed - blue paper trees, thousand-year old baobab trees and fairy-like dragon flies.

Perhaps the most meaningful part of our trip was our interaction with the school sponsored by Azura's Rainbow Fund. I read about the fund before our trip and asked Nathan if there was anything we could bring for the school or the local medical clinic. He promptly sent me a list and I was able to pack a backpack of supplies to carry with me. I was just expecting to hand them off to Nathan, but he asked if we would like to go to the school (in a small village on Quirimbas Island) to meet the teachers and view the facilities. When we disembarked the Azura boat, a group of little children from the village met us with cheers and laughter - they don't get many visitors. We were driven to the school building and introduced to the head teachers, who graciously thanked us for our contribution. It was wonderful to see how the local community lives and how Azura is integrated with it.

At the end of our stay, the Azura staff came on to the beach and sang to us as we waded out to the boat. It was a special experience, combining pleasure with wonder and warmth. If you have the opportunity to go to this place, you are very lucky indeed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OS_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quilalea
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
10.2 mi away
Ulani Lodge
Ulani Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ibo
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azura Quilalea Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azura Quilalea Private Island

Property: Azura Quilalea Private Island
Address: Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique (Formerly Quilalea Island Resort)
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Quilalea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Quilalea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Azura Quilalea Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azura Quilalea is the second luxury Indian Ocean Retreat from the Azura Retreats group. It is bringing Azura's trademark African-chic style to Quilalea Private Island, a private, wholly uninhabited island paradise, with just 9 handcrafted seafront villas, ensuring total privacy and exclusivity. The island is approximately 86 acres in size, and boasts 4 fabulous beaches. Snorkel the island's shores, dive the house reef that spans the main beach, picnic on remote turtle beach, kayak through mangroves or relax in a hammock beneath the giant baobabs that stand sentinel over the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Azura Quilalea Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quilalea Island Hotel Quilalea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing