We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dean's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Dean's Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place with great staff”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have been here twice now. I love the owner, who is always there. The bar is fully stocked with something for everyone, prices are reasonable, staff are extremely friendly. Not a drunk in the place. Great for parties of 100. has a back room for parties of 40 or less.

Everyone there gets along ans works as one large team. Open kitchen so you can see what's going on - I like that. Hours can be short, so call to see if they are open when you want to go.

I love the place, but if you are sensitive to salt, let them know. they seem to salt the food a lot. I plan on asking them for "salt-free" next time and I'll season it myself.

Nice, small, fresh salad bar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alansands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Cold food, brought wrong order, if you like prefab food then this is the place for you. All out of a box or can. alfredo from a jar, tacky noodles, frozen vegetables boiled to mush. Horrible, will never go back Way too expensive for what you get.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite place?”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I love deans. The food is wonderful the prime rib is the best I've ever had! Service is always awesome and friendly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cowchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dean's Steakhouse”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

substandard to no service - ho hum food - nothing new - same old cafe food - steak tasted like liver - lacking attention to detail...management not visible -

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank thumperrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is the 3rd time I have had Dinner here. The steaks have so much flavor and was done just right. Give Dean's a try next time you are in Mandan.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snootzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing