We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tons to see”

Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Mandan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Rich in both military and early Native American history, Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park is your destination! The North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department is the state agency charged with administering selected parks and recreation areas that are deemed to have state-wide or regional significance. In addition, the department has responsibility for the following functions: ◾Off-highway vehicle planning and safety program ◾Snowmobile safety programs and trails ◾Nature Preserves Act ◾Outdoor recreation grants and statewide recreation planning ◾State Scenic Byways Program The mission of the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department is to provide and enhance outdoor recreation opportunities through diverse parks and programs that conserve the state's natural diversity. Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park in North Dakota is one of the outstanding historic areas within the state. The park is made historically important because within its boundaries are the ruins of On-A-Slant Mandan Indian Village and the Fort Abraham Lincoln cavalry and infantry posts. Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park is located 7 miles south of Mandan, ND, on Highway 1806. For those touring the historic fort buildings and Mandan Village, interpretive passes are required in addition to the vehicle entrance fee. There are daily tours of the Custer House and the On-A-Slant Indian village (May - September). Amenities ◾1,006 acres ◾Campground ◾Electrical ◾Reservations ◾RV Dump station ◾Showers ◾Cabins ◾Visitor center ◾Historic buildings ◾Interpretive tours ◾Picnic shelters ◾Playground ◾Horse corrals
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tons to see”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Strap on your boot s and take a trip back in time though history. This is a great adventure for kids to learn some history while having the opportunity to explore.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    46
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
grandmahenry
Level Contributor
475 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Just stunning!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Dropped in and didn't expect anything fancy but the scenery was breathtaking across the Missouri. The recreation of the stockade towers really gave you a sense of how isolated it must have been in the 1800's. Loved teh Mandan village with it's excellent guides. Custer house was neat and the docents in period costume were knowledgeable and funny! Nice gift shop - we loved it and pland on taking our grandkids back to see it. Well worth the trip and admission cost whih was low!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
292 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Interesting tour, history, and campground”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very interesting history of the fort and Custer home. Definitely buy a pass for the tours which also includes the Mandan Indivian village. Stop in to the visitor center before the tours.

We stayed overnight at the campground which was very nice on the Missouri River. If you want electric you have to reserve a sight; we were a little annoyed since there were electric sights available but they could only be reserved so instead of giving us one they sat unused! Very noisy on a Saturday night, though. They did not stick to the quiet hours after 10 p.m. They were having a special Friends of the park weekend so we got to enjoy root beer floats, bingo, and watching a watermelon contest.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank katebrymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
578 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Wonderful State Park!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Visited here last month while traveling in North Dakota. This is one of the best historical sites we visited on our trip. There is much to see here, so plan to spend at least several hours or more. We started by taking a tour of the On the Slant Indian village with a tour guide. The tour guide was informative and the village very interesting. I loved seeing the reconstructed earth lodges that the Indians lived in and there were several we could go inside. The lodges have period furnishings and implements inside and the tour guide allowed people to pick up and inspect the items. After seeing the Indian village we checked out the museum/visitor center which is close by. The historic stone building is very nice and was constructed by the Civilian Conservation Corps. A number of exhibits about the history of the area, including life on the fort for military personnel and Indian memorabilia. After the museum we drove to the parking area close to the house where Custer lived which was a very short drive away. A living history tour was given by a docent who portrayed himself as a soldier. This gentleman kept during the "time period" when Custer lived here all through the tour which my husband found annoying at times. It was a little difficult to ask questions or feel comfortable around him. He was intense, a little pushy and seemed more concerned about putting on a show, then making sure the tour participants had the information they needed. But, that was a minor issue for me and he did a great job of playing the fiddle and harmonica for us at different times. The Custer home is beautiful and each room is furnished, with a few original items. I very much enjoyed seeing this reconstructed home which is very well kept. After seeing the home, we toured the cavalry barracks. It was interesting how they had beds in the building and at the end of the bed was a footlocker with the name and description of the man that had the locker. I thought it was a neat way to show the number of men that were in the cavalry, their country of origin, the age that they joined and if they died in battle. There was also a mess hall building as well. I wish they had done more with the barracks, mess hall, etc. Having some people in there in period costume, explaining more of life in the army at the time would have been a neat addition. I also visited the stable building which is closer to the Missouri River and there were carriages, wagons inside and also horses! The fort is in a very pretty area, overlooking the river. We next drove up the hill to the block houses that are the remaining buildings of the infantry post. They command a strategic view of the river and surrounding countryside. I went inside one of the blockhouses, nice to explore and see the views! The park also has a "commissary" store near the Custer house. There are a variety of foods that can be purchased including some snacks. I bought some jars of chokecherry and june berry jam (native fruits) that were made in North Dakota that I could take back for family, friends, etc. This store has a large room with books for sale regarding the history of the area, as a well as a meeting room. It was enjoyable to see this well managed state park and the visit complemented our trip to Little Bighorn Battlefield in Montana that we had seen earlier on the vacation. Custer and the calvary at Fort Abraham Lincoln left from here to go fight at Little Bighorn where many of the men were killed. Cost to enter by vehicle is $5.00 and then $6.00 to tour the Indian village and Custer house. Don't miss seeing this park, it is a great historical adventure!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McVille, North Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great historic site. On a Slant Mandan village was very interesting, great tour by interpreter kept the kids interest easily. Infantry post and calvalry buildings were also interesting. Great views of the river valley from the block houses.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nodak788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park also viewed

 
Theodore Roosevelt National Park, ND
 

Been to Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing