We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gambling, Smoking, Drinking, Eating...”

Dakota Magic Casino
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Hankinson
Attraction details
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

Do you like to gamble? Well, here you go! Do you like to gamble and smoke? This is your place! Do you like to gamble, smoke and drink? This place is looking really good for you! After gambling, smoking and drinking, would you like a buffet to get your eat on? This Is It! Need a place to sleep after all of your gambling, smoking, drinking, and eating? There's a hotel here too! You're all set! What are you waiting for?? And if you like to golf, you can do that too!

I was impressed by the amount of one cent machines all over the floor.

A lot of work is going on here right now inside and outside. Renovation is evident as soon as you walk in the front door. Landscaping is underway outside the front door. I'm looking forward to seeing their finished product after this round of improvements.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ShanOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 42 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2018

we went on Friday for crab legs and they were not hot but just warm alot of the food like chicken or fish was overcooked or dry so nobody really wanted it,we went back a couple weeks later and tried the restaurant but that was bad too eggs runny,about a third od potatoe for my hashbrown,wife had hot beef and they used heel for bottom piece

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Nice selection of machines and table games. Good players' benefits when booking the stay & play packages. Would come here again.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank hellmbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

This place is a great place to see country western and pop acts of the the 70's, 80's and 90's, especially, and at a good price as they do concerts once or twice a month during the school year. They have a good snack bar before and during the concerts also. The rooms are fine and the food is all right too. The buffet is kind of costly though. We like most of the food at the grill restaurant next to the buffet, but the seating is quite limited. You can order food to take out from there though, so keep that in mind, if you don't mind eating in your room sometimes. It would be nice if they offered picnic tables outside, though many days are quite windy there. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful. The head security people are especially good as they were honest and helpful when they found an electronic device that we forgot in our room last year. I can't say a whole lot about the gaming area itself as we spend more time eating or at the concerts or golfing than we do with gaming. Wouldn't mind seeing more healthy food options and a workout gym/waterpark/pool area. They are currently doing renovating at his location, so you may want to check on that before scheduling your next trip. It is conveniently located off of Highway 29 which also was a great and fast highway before the construction started this past spring. Always check the weather in winter, when traveling to this location, just in case. It's windy and cold and snowy at times, but still nice to have in the middle of nowhere.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Bearsy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2017

This is a small casino that mostly has slots. Unfortunately I was there in the morning and they do not open their table games (maybe one craps table, maybe something else) in the evening. I was not overly impressed.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank StephenChess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakota Magic Casino also viewed

Been to Dakota Magic Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing