We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady on the Lake Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hankinson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lady on the Lake Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hankinson B&B and Inns
West Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sandy and Marshall have a BEAUTIFUL home and lakeside property. The big windows lakeside has an amazing view, which we enjoyed in the chaise loungers. There is a great patio area up along the lake with a great fireplace. The rooms are so beautiful and comfy. The breakfast was extremely good. Sandy makes everything from scratch and it was all amazing...if you are lucky you might get to have the honey-glazed bacon!! Sandy and Marshall are wonderful people and fun to chat with. They did an amazing job on the house!! This is our favorite B&B so far!! You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaneJennyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy M, Owner at Lady on the Lake Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2015
Thank you so much for all the nice comments, We appreciate you.

Till we see you again.

Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wow! We came here not really knowing what to expect of a bed and breakfast, as this was our first time. We came with another couple for her birthday. When we arrived we were greeted at the door by Sandy & Marshall, we could not have asked for a better host and hostess. They accommodated our every need with a smile. The highlight of our weekend was spending the day on the beautiful patio down on the lake and playing with the canoe, kayaks and paddle boat! The breakfast was all homemade from scratch and delicious. Sandy has a gift to cook! She even made our friend a birthday cake and always went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The owners have taken much time and energy to make this home into a wonderful place to stay. We loved the view of the lake from the chaise lounges in the living room. We stayed in the Colonol Hankinson suite on the 3rd floor. Lots of stairs, so pack light. But the huge jetted tub and the balcony in the trees overlooking the lake was well worth the climb! Sandy is a wonderful cook and she and Marshall are welcoming hosts. The food at the local pub was good too. Give it a shot. I'm sure as they continue with their plans it will be even more beautiful than it is already.

Room Tip: If you need room to spread out, try the Colonel Hankinson's suite. All suites are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 788Pamela_O_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

"You'll be incredibly happy here, what a fantastic place”.
We had the privilege of staying for the grand opening of the B & B over the City of Hankinson’s Quasquicentennial weekend 1–4 July 2011.
The city’s founder, Colonel Hankinson’s homestead has been lovingly restored to it’s former glory, a credit to Marshall & Sandy Meyer. We stayed for six nights and found this to be an excellent choice. The setting and the grounds are lovely, and Lake Elsie provides the perfect backdrop.
Sandy & Marshall are very thoughtful, the most personable, accommodating and gracious hosts and their home is immaculate and beautifully presented, this is a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay. The food was outstanding! Sandy is a truly the best chef in America, every morning we had fresh-ground coffee, tea & juices, fresh fruit, homemade pancakes, and the most wonderful American cooked breakfast's.
We checked-in as guests and left as friends. We feel we have truly made friends and we will be back someday, maybe for the Sesquicentennial in 2036!
Thank You both so much.
Phil & Sharon Hankinson

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HankyPanky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hankinson
21.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wahpeton
Show Prices

Been to Lady on the Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady on the Lake Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lady on the Lake Bed & Breakfast
Address: 16604 94th St SE, Hankinson, ND 58041-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Hankinson
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hankinson
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lady On The Lake Bed and Breakfast a Historical Home of Colonel Hankinson Offers couples a blend of history, romance and charm. Choose from four suites overlooking Lake Elsie, explore over 400 feet of private shoreline; participate in fishing opportunities, enjoy easy asscess to nature and bike trails. When it's chilly outside...No problem! Relish the breathtaking 40 foot lake view from the living room; snuggle up with your favorite book or IPOD near one the cozy fireplaces and reading niches. No matter the occasion, you will feet right at home with hosts, Marshall ad Sandy Meyer, serving an unforgettable homegrown menu, sure to please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lady On The Lake Bed & Breakfast North Dakota/Hankinson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing