We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we won't be staying here next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Forks Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
West St Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we won't be staying here next time.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The carpet in the room was old. and the room had a old smell to it. The breakfast really sucked. I had to ask for bowls, and the milk and coffee ran out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey V, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. We strive in customer satisfaction. I have addressed any concerns you may have encountered with the appropriate department for review/corrective action. We apologize you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay with us please give me a call at 701-772-7131 or email me at lindsey@grandforkhojo.com.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    131
    165
    167
    145
See reviews for
442
69
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

After checking in, we were told there was WiFi access, as advertised, only to find out that it didn't work. Printer did not work thus we had to sign documents that were only half printed. The worst part was the room we were to stay in. The carpet truly looked like someone had changed oil on it. There were numerous large stains on the carpet, and the bed appeared not to have been made. Parking lot was full of cigarette butts and other debris. I certainly WOULD NOT recommend this facility to anyone. It is a disgrace.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank rocko2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey V, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. We strive in customer satisfaction. I have addressed any concerns you may have encountered with the appropriate department for review/corrective action. We apologize you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay with us please give me a call at 701-772-7131 or email me at lindsey@grandforkhojo.com.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Forks hotels

Apple Valley
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Checked in on 9/5. Expedia charged my card on 9/4. Even though I already paid for the room, a day in advance, using Expedia, they needed to see my driver's license and take an imprint of my credit card. Then I was asked to sign a form that was somewhat blank because they had printer problems. Oh, I also had to give them my phone number. When I refused to sign the form because I couldn't read what it said, I said they could catch me in the morning when I can read it after they fixed their printer. Then we left to go to a wake. They effectively locked me out of my room, even though my stuff was in it because I didn't sign their form.
BTW, carpet was filthy and the drape was broken so I couldn't close it completely. When I signed the form, after they fixed the printer, they gave me two keys that worked.

Now, if I can only remember not to use Expedia again, and never stay at a Howard Johnson's again, I'd be ahead of the game.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mah7925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey V, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. We strive in customer satisfaction. I apologize if our policy was not explained properly and was new or different for you as this is a common practice in most hotels. We ask for ID verification and phone number from every guest for the safety of all guests and if there were ever an emergency we would have a way to contact you. Our credit card policy is also the same for each and every guest that walks through the door regardless if they have a pre-paid reservation or not. We are currently in the process of renovating our hotel, but I have addressed any concerns you may have encountered with the appropriate department for review/corrective action. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay with us please give me a call at 701-772-7131 or email me at lindsey@grandforkhojo.com.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived at 3:55, gentleman (who apparently prefers to CONSTANTLY sniff, than blow a runny nose...) at front desk had to radio with cleaning staff to see if a room was clean and available. My look of confusion must have been evident as his response was "well check in isn't until 4". 5 minutes early and rooms aren't ready. They had no record of my poolside reservation which was booked and paid for 3 weeks prior. The entire check in process took just over 15 minutes. NOT fun with 3 young kids running around lobby. we finally got into a poolside room. I went to look out window and door to see pool...window was clearly not washed since last visitors, and door was disgusting. I asked a cleaning lady who was 1 room over if she could fix that up for us. She rolled her eyes and said yes, then never showed. I didn't fight it as for fear of annoying the cleaning lady-who knows what she may be capable of doing! Pool area was decent. a tad run down, but ok. We stayed 2 nights, and first day I made note of a black unknown clump of mystery on the pool deck....during our last swim on the last day, low and behold, the mystery clump hadn't been touched. Overall Impressions... Personnel - poor, room - meh, cleanliness - brutal, pool facility - decent at best. I guess you get what you pay for. Not likely to return though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey V, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. We strive in customer satisfaction. I have addressed any concerns you may have encountered with the appropriate department for review/corrective action. We apologize you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay with us please give me a call at 701-772-7131 or email me at lindsey@grandforkhojo.com.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Parking lot full of drifts of cigarette butts, plastic cups, and other garbage. No restaurant on site even though it says there is online and in the rooms. No mention at check-in either so that left the bartender to do the explaining to guests. Lounge is smelly with crappy plastic cups. Not even pizza available. We were told we could bring food in to the lounge if we wanted. When the employees are out taking their many smoke breaks, perhaps they could clean up outside. What a mess! At check-in only 1 clerk on duty so waited in line for over 20 minutes to check in. Breakfast is a noisy, dirty free-for-all that we will never experience again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey V, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. We strive in customer satisfaction. I have addressed any concerns you may have encountered with the appropriate department for review/corrective action. We apologize you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay with us please give me a call at 701-772-7131 or email me at lindsey@grandforkhojo.com.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#9 of 28 in Grand Forks
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn and Suites Grand Forks
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#24 of 28 in Grand Forks
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
2.9 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Forks Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Forks Inn & Suites

Property: Grand Forks Inn & Suites
Address: 1210 N 43rd St, Grand Forks, ND 58203-1932
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Forks Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Forks Howard Johnson is your destination! Whether it's a weekend or a weekday we are a great getaway! Located just off I-29 and Hwy 2, the Howard Johnson features an indoor water park with a kiddie pool area as well as a 110' slide, complimentary hot continental breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, a fitness center, game room, complimentary toiletries, complimentary single cup coffee makers in each room, and a bar/lounge area. We also have meeting rooms and ballrooms for all your special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Forks Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Grand Forks
Clarion Grand Forks
Clarion Hotel Grand Forks
Holiday Inn Grand Forks
Grand Forks Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing