We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better stay somewhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Forks Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Apple Valley
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Better stay somewhere else.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Checked in on 9/5. Expedia charged my card on 9/4. Even though I already paid for the room, a day in advance, using Expedia, they needed to see my driver's license and take an imprint of my credit card. Then I was asked to sign a form that was somewhat blank because they had printer problems. Oh, I also had to give them my phone number. When I refused to sign the form because I couldn't read what it said, I said they could catch me in the morning when I can read it after they fixed their printer. Then we left to go to a wake. They effectively locked me out of my room, even though my stuff was in it because I didn't sign their form.
BTW, carpet was filthy and the drape was broken so I couldn't close it completely. When I signed the form, after they fixed the printer, they gave me two keys that worked.

Now, if I can only remember not to use Expedia again, and never stay at a Howard Johnson's again, I'd be ahead of the game.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mah7925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey V, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. We strive in customer satisfaction. I apologize if our policy was not explained properly and was new or different for you as this is a common practice in most hotels. We ask for ID verification and phone number from every guest for the safety of all guests and if there were ever an emergency we would have a way to contact you. Our credit card policy is also the same for each and every guest that walks through the door regardless if they have a pre-paid reservation or not. We are currently in the process of renovating our hotel, but I have addressed any concerns you may have encountered with the appropriate department for review/corrective action. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay with us please give me a call at 701-772-7131 or email me at lindsey@grandforkhojo.com.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    131
    165
    167
    145
See reviews for
442
69
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived at 3:55, gentleman (who apparently prefers to CONSTANTLY sniff, than blow a runny nose...) at front desk had to radio with cleaning staff to see if a room was clean and available. My look of confusion must have been evident as his response was "well check in isn't until 4". 5 minutes early and rooms aren't ready. They had no record of my poolside reservation which was booked and paid for 3 weeks prior. The entire check in process took just over 15 minutes. NOT fun with 3 young kids running around lobby. we finally got into a poolside room. I went to look out window and door to see pool...window was clearly not washed since last visitors, and door was disgusting. I asked a cleaning lady who was 1 room over if she could fix that up for us. She rolled her eyes and said yes, then never showed. I didn't fight it as for fear of annoying the cleaning lady-who knows what she may be capable of doing! Pool area was decent. a tad run down, but ok. We stayed 2 nights, and first day I made note of a black unknown clump of mystery on the pool deck....during our last swim on the last day, low and behold, the mystery clump hadn't been touched. Overall Impressions... Personnel - poor, room - meh, cleanliness - brutal, pool facility - decent at best. I guess you get what you pay for. Not likely to return though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey V, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. We strive in customer satisfaction. I have addressed any concerns you may have encountered with the appropriate department for review/corrective action. We apologize you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay with us please give me a call at 701-772-7131 or email me at lindsey@grandforkhojo.com.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Parking lot full of drifts of cigarette butts, plastic cups, and other garbage. No restaurant on site even though it says there is online and in the rooms. No mention at check-in either so that left the bartender to do the explaining to guests. Lounge is smelly with crappy plastic cups. Not even pizza available. We were told we could bring food in to the lounge if we wanted. When the employees are out taking their many smoke breaks, perhaps they could clean up outside. What a mess! At check-in only 1 clerk on duty so waited in line for over 20 minutes to check in. Breakfast is a noisy, dirty free-for-all that we will never experience again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey V, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. We strive in customer satisfaction. I have addressed any concerns you may have encountered with the appropriate department for review/corrective action. We apologize you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay with us please give me a call at 701-772-7131 or email me at lindsey@grandforkhojo.com.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Forks hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked poolside room, arrived and got keys to a poolside room, only to find that other people were already in the room, even though our keys opened the door. Back to desk, assigned another poolside room - bathroom ceiling tiles were moved and obviously some repair was going on, used hand towel on counter and garbage in garbage pail. Assigned 3rd poolside room, this one appeared OK.
Went to the pool area through the poolside door of our room. Couldn't re-enter the room through the poolside door. I had locked the hallway door and put the deadbolt on, so no one could enter while we were at the pool (as you can understand my concern, since we entered a room with our keys that was already occupied). Back down to the desk, explained the situation to management and I was bluntly told "Go back to your hallway door and stand in the hallway until maintenance can get there in about 10 mins." The maintenance fellow and I finally connected and he couldn't get our keys to work, so the entire lock had to be changed.
The ventilation system in the pool/waterslide area was not working. It was like sitting in a sauna. Only reason we stayed for two nights was that the grandchildren enjoyed the pool/waterslide.

At no time was there an apology from management on the confusion of the room assignment. Compensation was that we didn't get charged $10. a night for the use of a fridge, which to me is pretty standard in any hotel room nowadays.
The night person on maintenance was very courteous. A new clerk (second night she worked there) was very helpful. However, the management person was very offhand and not once apologized for sending us to three rooms before one was suitable, and the lock issue on the poolside door was just another inconvenience to her.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey V, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback in regards to your stay with us. We strive in customer satisfaction. I have addressed any concerns you may have encountered with the appropriate department for review/corrective action. We apologize you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay with us please give me a call at 701-772-7131 or email me at lindsey@grandforkhojo.com.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#9 of 28 in Grand Forks
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn and Suites Grand Forks
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#24 of 28 in Grand Forks
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
2.9 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Forks Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Forks Inn & Suites

Property: Grand Forks Inn & Suites
Address: 1210 N 43rd St, Grand Forks, ND 58203-1932
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Forks Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Forks Howard Johnson is your destination! Whether it's a weekend or a weekday we are a great getaway! Located just off I-29 and Hwy 2, the Howard Johnson features an indoor water park with a kiddie pool area as well as a 110' slide, complimentary hot continental breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, a fitness center, game room, complimentary toiletries, complimentary single cup coffee makers in each room, and a bar/lounge area. We also have meeting rooms and ballrooms for all your special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Forks Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Grand Forks
Clarion Grand Forks
Clarion Hotel Grand Forks
Holiday Inn Grand Forks
Grand Forks Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing