We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, will not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Forks Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Reviewed May 24, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 658 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Waldemar B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel should not even be allowed to rent rooms, there is a strong moldy smell in the hall ways and there was mold in the bathrooms. It was so bad we had to sleep with our own blankets. I would have checked and moved to a better hotel but we where there with my sons hockey team.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Jeff C,
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson Grand Forks. We are committed to customer satisfaction and apologize for any concerns you may have encountered during your stay. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay you may contact me directly at 701-772-7131 or email me at anna@grandforkshojo.com I look forward to speaking with you soon. We are currently undergoing renovations and are so excited to improve our overall guest experience.
Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Isaac C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked a 2 Queen Suite room via phone, showed up and they had me in a King Suite. They moved me to a run down, old, mildew, water coming in from glass 2 Queen Room. Sink backed up, leaky roof, dirty tub. Wifi did not work all weekend. Hot tub was not working. Change machine in arcade out of service. Mystery hairs in the bathroom. Stains on wall.

I then was told I'd be put in a 2 Queen Suite for night 2. When I went back at 4pm to switch, they knew nothing about it. They finally put me up in a King Suite with 2 pull outs, so my kids got a nice bed for the night and I slept on a crappy spring single pull out.

Pool was nice for the kids, but not very clean. Band aids floating around, wrist bands all over the place, a hotel guest came in to squash a giant Queen Bee on the deck, 2 bird flying around inside one day. No one watching the kids on slide, 10 rules all were being broken all day and night. Hallways were wet all the time, stained, dirty, fans running all day long.

Key cars worked 1/4 the time, broken and hanging off doors. Laundry and garbage and fans flowing all day in hallway as water was everywhere.

I don't think it has been renovated or upkepts since HoJo bought it out from Holiday Inn.

If it wasn't for the waterslide and my kids enjoying it, the w/end would have been a total bust/waste.

Again, Anna & Tifffany went above and beyond to help on the last day and checkout to make things right for me and my kids, but the overall experience in the HoJo couldn't have been worse. The hotel is old, stained, dirty and run down.

When we got into our Presidential Suite, there were still some issues. Busted tiles, tub wouldn't drain properly, light switch almost burned me when I touched one of the securing screws, lights burnt out, key card machine fell off inside door, last guest keycard and pen found under bed etc.

A couple of the front staff were exceptional (Anna & Tiffany), the others were rude, not helpful and looked plain miserable and offered zero help or suggestions. In the end Anna and management gave me the room for free and a GC for a future stay.

Don't believe me, look at the pics of my room (2 Queen).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlingshotBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Winnipeg Traveler,
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize we fell short on our commitment to better serve you as a guest. I'm glad that Tiffany and I were able to make things right for you. You will be happy to know that we are currently undergoing renovations and you can check out the progress on our facebook.com page. We are excited to be able to better serve our guests. We invite you to come back and try us out again.
Thanks for your patience and we look forward to speaking with you soon.
Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Quiet, had three nights with a good nights sleep. Older hotel, needs to be updated. Carpets, weatherizing, etc... Nothing new that hasn't been brought out before on TripAdvisor hotel reviews for this facility..Very good floor manager. Watch out for the add-ons, refer, microwave.

Room Tip: My room was a little dusty, due to bad door weather strip. Take a good look (white glove test) befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Traveler,
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Forks Howard Johnson. I will be sure to let our floor manager know a job well done. We are currently undergoing renovations and are excited to better serve our guests. We invite you to come and try us out again.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
2.5 mi away
TownHouse Hotel Grand Forks
TownHouse Hotel Grand Forks
#23 of 28 in Grand Forks
134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 28 in Grand Forks
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#10 of 28 in Grand Forks
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#24 of 28 in Grand Forks
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn and Suites Grand Forks
3 mi away
Travelodge Grand Forks
Travelodge Grand Forks
#26 of 28 in Grand Forks
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Forks Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Forks Inn & Suites

Address: 1210 N 43rd St, Grand Forks, ND 58203-1932
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range: $69 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Forks Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Forks Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Grand Forks
Clarion Grand Forks
Clarion Hotel Grand Forks
Holiday Inn Grand Forks
Grand Forks Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing