We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Forks Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    130
    165
    167
    142
See reviews for
440
69
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is an older Hotel, which is not very close to the Mall or major shopping or to the Alerus Centre, staff were Ok, rooms are clean and bed was decent, no restaurant except for continental breakfast in the morning, lounge was closed on Sunday, internet in lobby was a disappointment, slow and kept crashing, we had a pool view which was ok, the hot tub was out of order, the swimming pool for the adults is only 3 feet deep, the kids pool is nice for the kids, they also have a water slide which was closed also, not sure why, if you had an outside enter room the parking lot was very dirty and hundreds of cigarette butts were everywhere, not very inviting as they stuck to your shoes. Overall.....find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceboy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Winnipeg Traveler,
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Forks Howard Johnson. We strive in customer satisfaction, we apologize we fell short on our commitment to serve you as a guest. We are currently undergoing renovations, check them out on our facebook.com page. We are always making room for improvements. We would like to speak with you in regards to your stay. Contact us directly at 701-772-7131 or email me at anna@grandforkshojo.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Booked 2 adjoining rooms with 2 queen beds on their web-site at a specific price. When I clicked to confirm the rooms, the price quoted changed to more than double. Tried calling the hotel and HJ head office with no resolve other than stay there and pay the bill then call HJ office for a possible refund. When we checked in, we were told that the double amount was what we would have to pay but later, I spoke to the manager and after hearing what had happened, she honored the lower rate. Rooms were O.K. but very humid. Lots of condensation on the bathroom floor. Cleaning staff could be more diligent as we found toys under the bed and lots of food droppings on the floor. The pool area was also just O.K. but the hot tub was broken again (a friend had stayed there 2 weeks previous and the hot tub was not working then either). Pool attendant was quite dilligent about making sure everybody had wrist bands on at all times but there were also a number of birthday parties going on as well so he had to keep control somehow.

Hotel advertises that it is newly renovated but it sure didn't seem to have been. Everything except front lobby looks well used and tired. Beds sagged in middle. Staff was quite nice and breakfast buffet was decent if uninspired.

Room Tip: Try not to get a groundfloor poolside room because of the additional humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Chris B,
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson Grand Forks. We are undergoing renovations at this time and are happy to be able to better serve our guests. Check out our updates on our facebook.com page. We look forward to being able to serve you in the future.
Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Dirty. Nasty. Humid wet. Moved rooms and did not matter. Carpet, sheets, towels, toilet paper, everything wet. Toilet overflowed in second room we moved to and we were not notified... overflowed again. Kid slipped on smallbathroom floor. No buckets or ice for "bucket" special from bar. Rooms are too small for all the furniture packed in. No outlets for electronics. Coffee in the bathroom. Hairs, mold, germs everywhere. Front desk phone call is always busy. Only saving gracethe managers and staff did everything they could to help....but there is no way to keep up with all the problems this hotel has. I recommend closing the doors for a remodel and maintenance fix up or just bull doze it and start over.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna H, Front Office Manager at Grand Forks Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Walyn V,
Thank you for providing feedback for your stay with us. We have since addressed any concerns that you may have encountered to the appropriate department for further review/corrective action. We apologize we fell short on our commitment to better serve you as a guest. Please contact me in regards to your stay at 701-772-7131 or by email at anna@grandforkshojo.com. I would like to make things right. Look forward to speaking with you soon.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Forks hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#10 of 28 in Grand Forks
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 28 in Grand Forks
272 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Forks Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Forks Inn & Suites

Property: Grand Forks Inn & Suites
Address: 1210 North 43rd Street, Grand Forks, ND 58203
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Forks Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Forks Howard Johnson is your destination! Whether it's a weekend or a weekday we are a great getaway! Located just off I-29 and Hwy 2, the Howard Johnson features an indoor water park with a kiddie pool area as well as a 110' slide, complimentary hot continental breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, a fitness center, game room, complimentary toiletries, complimentary single cup coffee makers in each room, and a bar/lounge area. We also have meeting rooms and ballrooms for all your special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Forks Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Grand Forks
Clarion Grand Forks
Clarion Hotel Grand Forks
Holiday Inn Grand Forks
Grand Forks Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing