We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”
Review of The Toasted Frog

The Toasted Frog
Ranked #2 of 165 Restaurants in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Far and away the best food we ate in Grand Forks. They have a great atmosphere and VERY friendly and attentive staff. Highly recommend!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank binmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    88
    24
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is very busy! Get there early. When you go inside it doesn't seem like your in Grand Forks, ND but in downtown Minneapolis. Food and service is great. We always get what the waiter suggests and have never been disappointed. Great place to go before or after a show.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the long wait”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a VERY popular place. We had to wait a long time to get in.... didn't plan ahead. But the food was fabulous and the service was very good. Try the fried pickles. I didn't know if I would like them but they were excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenwoodMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

A group of six from our company had dinner on a Friday Evening. The Trip Advisor ratings prompted our visit and we are very thankful we reserved one week ahead of time.

Surprisingly good wine list for a restaurant this size. The place was packed and everyone clearly were having a great time. The owner was present and was very busy ensuring guests were being served promptly and that everyone was enjoying themselves.

We had Buffalo Wings and Fried Pickles for appies. The wings were incredible! They tasted really spicy and had a unique flavor that borders on addictive. I will definitely return for the wings. The fried pickles were tasty but not recommended if you are concerned about salt, cholesterol or calories.

Several had the filet mignon and found it perfectly prepared and really tasty. The New York Strip was cooked just right but slightly overdone around the edges. The Lamb Burger is tasty with the sweet potato fries a good side dish. The Mahi Mahi is also a good choice.

The Wasabi Mashed potatoes come with any meal. The flavor is really good -- better than if you had horse radish -- subtle flavor but not hot. Potato sides are Wasabi Mashed, Fries, Sweet Potatoes and Rice Pilaf. A baked potato would be a good side to have but they don't offer it.

The beer selection was really good. They have Heiniken, Newcastle and Blue Moon on tap. They have a wide selection of bottled beer. They also server Glenmorangie - a single malt Scotch that is very fine!

The desert selection is very attractive but we were full by then. We did order the Pear Pie with ice cream. It was not remarkable and would avoid it next time.

The atmosphere is festive and there is a wide range of patrons including younger singles, couples and older people. The noise level was acceptable but could be loud for some poeple.

I would highly recommend The Toasted Frog for anyone -- I was really impressed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco_Island_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakota, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service, the food and the drinks are all great. You must arrive at the restaurant early or you may need to be put on the waiting list. Menu could be expanded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N0dak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toasted Frog also viewed

 

Been to The Toasted Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing