We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dusty and musty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dusty and musty”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and it was ok, this time I was not impressed at all. I went at 3:15pm to check in and they told me the room wasn't ready yet so I had to wait til 4:45 to check in. I ended up getting a pool side room which was very musty smelling and very noisy. I sat on the bed and when I sat back and touches the headboard it was full of dust. So much for a clean room, I think the cleaning staff need to be taught how to clean a room
properly. The bathroom faucet has pieces of the silver missing from it (needs replacing)
This hotel is okay if you want a
budget friendly family hotel but for anyone wanting a quiet relaxing hotel this would only be good if you has an outside room. I even took pictures of the dust I'm case they didn't believe me but all I for was a sorry from the guy that worked the night I checked in

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaird-gh, General Manager at Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review GuestHouse. I was sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us this time. We really do try to make sure each room is clean and ready for our guests as they check in. I apologize as we did not meet our standards upon your arrival. Please be assured I have passed your comments along to our housekeeping department. I would also like to let you know, we are in the process of starting updates to our property. I hope you would try us again. Please stop at the front desk and let me know what you think. -Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    34
    17
    11
See reviews for
49
26
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good budget hotel with excellent service. It was recommended to me by my uncle. I was travelling on a business trip visiting Fargo and Grand Forks and needed a clean budget hotel. Townhouse was a prefect fit. It's not a new place but it is clean and well maintained. Rooms are nice with enough room to move around, 39" flat screen TVs, small fridge and good furniture. Beds are just the way I like them, not too soft and not too hard. The shower curtains was a bit old and needed to be replaced.

I enjoyed swimming in the large pool and used a sauna twice. The sauna could use some updating but works OK.

The hotel is located in down-town Grand Forks. When you get off hwy 29, take exit 140 and go east towards down-town. I took the wrong turn and it took me a while to find it.

Every single employee I dealt with was friendly and helpful with the exception of one guy whose name I will not mention here. He probably has a "bad hair" day. The hotel has a restaurant and bar where I played a game of pool with my companion. We never had a chance to eat in the restaurant. It was too crowded on Saturday night.

At less than $70 it was a good deal for a full service hotel.

Sorry about my mistakes. English is not my first language.

Ira

Room Tip: Take a room away from the pool. It's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaird-gh, General Manager at Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay and noticed our newest addition of 39" flat screens. We do have a great location whether you want to just play a game of pool or walk to the near by downtown locations. I would, also like to apologize for our "bad hair day", as we do try to always be welcoming and gracious to our guests and I have passed your comments along to my staff. GuestHouse is planning more updates in the near future, please make sure to stop by the desk and let me know what you think. -Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

my husband and I came to grand forks for the weekend and stayed at this hotel, service was great ,rooms were good size and clean but a little outdated.
enjoyed playing mini golf, we had a blast.
we will definitely stay their again in our next visit to grand forks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaird-gh, General Manager at Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your terrific comments. I am glad you were able to enjoy your get-away. You mentioned we were a little dated. I would like to let you know we have some great new improvements coming in the next year. You will have to check them out. -Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altona, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed with my family over the weekend. The room was large and clean. TV's are old, but we've been told that the new ones are coming soon. Front desk staff was very prompt and helpful. Pool and atrium area was a lot of fun for my kids (2 boys, 7and11 years) . Between mini golf and swimming they were occupied for a long time. The service in the restaurant was slow. When I mentioned that to the staff it become less friendly. We found out that restaurant is leased. The owner was not around. Overall good trip. Good to stay in downtown Grand Forks. Walking distance to many attractions. Will come again to check those new TV's

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaird-gh, General Manager at Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the nice things you had to say about your stay with us. I was glad to read you took full advantage of all the amenities. I was sorry to hear your service in our restaurant was not quite up to par during your visit, but I really hope you were able to enjoy your meal. They really do have some good choices and at a reasonable price. I will pass along your comments. Lastly, our TV’s have started to arrive and are being installed as I write this. They really do make a difference and our guests and our staff are both excited to have them. Next time you stay, please let me know how we did. I’ll tell you what new plans we have for our next updates. –Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at the guesthouse a few months ago with my family we got a poolside room it was clean but the air conditioner did not work it was so hot in our room it was hard to sleep and then i noticed we didnt have a microwave in our room when it says that every room has one we ened up leaving two days earlier then scheduled and stayed at another hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaird-gh, General Manager at Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was sorry to read that you were unable to enjoy your stay due to the heat in your room. Our inside rooms are on a central unit, which we try to keep at a comfortable level, pending the time of year. As we take all our comments seriously, I have had our local heating and cooling company come out to take a look at the unit and they were able to make some adjustments. Thank you again for making us aware. -Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room was just okay. It wasn't a bad size but needed a desk or small table for work/eating. It had a chair but there was no type of table or desk for it. Dead cockroach near lamp which was pretty easy to see remained there after room was cleaned.

Restaurant was not bad but it wasn't really that good either. Service was pretty slow considering number of staff.

Room Tip: I stayed in room bordering indoor mini golf. Not too loud but I think the ones backing up to indoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoS1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaird-gh, General Manager at Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We always strive to make sure all of our rooms are clean and pest free. However, on occasion a stray ant or beetle may appear. I also want to assure you, we do have staff training and a monthly control plan in place to help prevent unwanted “guests”. I appreciate you letting us know the areas we can improve upon and I would hope, if you are in Grand Forks again, you would stop by and check out our updates.
-Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I got this hotel through Hotwire and wasn't expecting much at all, but it surpassed and exceeded my expectations. The front desk lady was very helpful and friendly. We asked for directions- we had some business in East Grand Forks -and received detailed explanation and a good advice.

The hotel is located right in downtown , Grand Forks within walking distance to many bars, restaurants, business district, and , most importantly for us, right on the border -within one mile- to East Grand Forks, Minnesota. Many people don't realize, Grand Forks is split in two parts, Grand Forks, ND and East Grand Forks, MN. Hotel's location was a definite plus for us.

Room: good size, very clean. Comfortable beds with nice sheets. The bathroom had an old fashioned shower head with strong water pressure. I got an excellent back massage while taking a shower.
It was nice to have a refrigerator in the room.

Food: the hotel has a restaurant and a lounge with outside patio which wasn't available at that time. I had a steak and salad. It was OK, not GREAT but.. Just OK. My boyfriend had a few rounds of beer and a pizza which looked delicious.

Other facilities: great pool , large enough to go for a few laps back and forth. Nice enclosed atrium area with a golf course and an oasis with live trees and plants.

Whirlpool and sauna: we never used them. Looks like sauna could use a new paint job.

I would say this is a 3 star hotel on a budget, a bit aged but has a lot to offer at reasonable price. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have new flat screen TVs. Ask for a room with a new TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaird-gh, General Manager at Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for the nice things you had to say about our hotel. It sounds like you were really able to get the full experience, from the pool to the restaurant and the downtown location. Our downtown location is especially nice in the summer time. There are several things to see and do just within a few blocks. Also, as you may know, we are under new ownership and numerous improvements are under way. You will have to stay again and check them out. -Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
2.9 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#17 of 28 in Grand Forks
159 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks

Property: Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
Address: 710 1st Ave N, I-29 at Exits 140/138 Dimers, Grand Forks, ND 58203-3604 (Formerly GuestHouse TownHouse Hotel Grand Forks)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet-friendly, family-friendly Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks is located in downtown Grand Forks, ND with easy access to all that Grand Forks has to offer! Grand Forks business, entertainment, shopping & dining districts are all within walking distance to the hotel, including the Empire Arts Center, Cabela's Shopping, and River Cinema. Other nearby attractions include the University of North Dakota, Ralph Englestad Area, Alerus Center and the Grand Forks Air Force Base. The non-smoking Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks boasts a large atrium featuring an indoor heated pool, miniature golf course! The hotel offers a business center, meeting facilities, nearby gym access, free coffeehouse style coffee and tea in the lobby and an on-site, full service restaurant and bar offering American cuisine favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All guest rooms offer free WiFi, 39" Flat-Screen TV, hairdryer and in-room coffee. Select rooms offer a microwave & refrigerator. One well behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Inn - Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Hotel International Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing