We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Great waterpark.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Once with family and once on a girls trip. Hotel is nice. A bit off the beaten path (ie mall area) but it's less than a 5 min drive from the mall.

Room is nice. Beds are comfortable. I liked how we had a fridge and microwave in the room. Also loved the free wifi.

We went to the waterpark. It was fun! (Even for adults).

Staff was nice

The elevator would be my only complaint. We made the mistake of checking out at check out time. We waited OVER 15 mins for the elevator. We only seen it about 10 times and each one of them was packed so full that we couldn't make it. We ended up dragging our luggage down the stairs.

Other than that. I would stay here again. I would also check out earlier to avoid the rush.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadawj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Director of Sales at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you very your positive review of our property. It means a great deal to us and we hope to see you again next time you are in Grand Forks, Please feel free to contact us at cidcgfsales@canadinns.com with "Trip Advisor" in the subject line so we can make sure we repeat our positive performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 388 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here recently over Spring Break with my wife and twin 9 year olds. We've stayed here several times before - mainly for the waterpark and the convenience of staying in the attached hotel. This time we had a kids theme room with the bunk beds in a separate area/room which was nice for Mom/Dad to watch a late movie without keeping the kids up.

We had a number of nagging issues on our stay though. The wi-fi never worked for the entire 3 days of our stay - in this day and age that's just not acceptable to me. The excuse I was told was that the hotel was full due to Spring Break and the wi-fi just couldn't handle the demand. Well, we just stayed at 2 other Minneapolis area hotels over Spring Break and they didn't seem to have a problem with wi-fi?! Our room phone wasn't working on arrival either but the front desk attendant got that fixed up fairly quick. The other nagging issue was the fine spray/drizzle coming out of the showerhead - really!!? How much would it take to put some decent showerheads in these rooms?

One tip to remember is that hotel guests have free access to the hot tub and activity pool in the waterpark. The hotel doesn't really promote this very much so if you're not aware, you may end up buying a wrist band unnecessarily if you just want to hang around with your kids.

We ordered a pizza from l'Bistro and it was pretty decent and reasonably priced. There's a free coffee station at the entrance to Aalto's as well. Otherwise, we ate offsite.

This hotel is average at best and there are several new hotels popping up in the vicinity that will give visitors much nicer alternatives to choose from. The only big draw is the convenience for going to the waterpark.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thundercat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Director of Sales at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of our property. We hope to have you back again next time you come to Grand Forks. Some guests did experience some recent problems with our wi-fi. There were many therories offered by our staff as to why there was a problem.Was it an issue with the hotel infrastructure, our service provider's outside service to our hotel, a setting on the individual guest's machine, or some other variable?These were all questions we were asking during your stay and are confident we have remedied. This issue was tricky since the majority of our users had uninterrupted service.
I am glad you enjoyed our Children's Theme Rooms. Hopefully the kids had fun in the bunk bed area playing playstation games, watching TV, or listening to music. Our CTR's are a popular room type with families such as yours.
Please feel free to contact us prior to your next stay at cidggfsales@canadinns.com with "Trip Advisor" in the subject line. We will do all we can to make sure your next stay is nothing but enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Checked in Good Friday and took about 30 minutes as there was a long line up. The hotel did offer pizza and drinks to those of us waiting in line, many of us with small children. The cards that they gave us to the room didn't work, so we had to go back down to get new ones. so the whole experience of checking in took ~45 min. Too long in my opinion. Also, the phone didn't work in our room when we got there, had to go down to the front desk again to let them know.

Went to Aaltos for supper, ordered the soup and salad buffet which included dessert, no soup, no chili, no dessert, very slow and only about 3 tables in there. Still charged full price.

Tried to order room service, busy signal for about 15-20 min then rang and rang and rang, got hung up on. Called the front desk, they told me their were problems with the phone, and someone would call back to take my order 40 min later no call back, called again, told again that they would check into this, this time someone did call back... told that the phones to the restaurant were down, and that I could order room service, but would have
to go down to order it (defeats the purpose of room service)

Housekeepinug came to clean up our room after 4, when we had been out of the room since 9 am, I told the housekeeper that we were putting our young child down for a nap, and since we had just returned, it wouldn't work to have it cleaned now. Thirty minutes later, after having told her that, her partner knocked on the door and woke up my sleeping child.

Sent with concerns to email address listed as contact on their website, immediate response that whoever normally checks the emails is on mat loa til April 2014. Other numbers to contact, but again, more work on our end to contact and express our concerns to the right people.

Room was clean, staff were pleasant, but definately problems with service. The last time we stayed here was five years ago and we were really looking forward to returning.

The water park was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdn610girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have stayed here a few times with different amount of kids each time. The last time we stayed with three kids and we booked a family room. The room had a separate section with door that contained two bunk beds and a tv with dvd player. The room was comfortable and came with a mini fridge. The water park isn't cheap for adults, but for young kids parents don't have to pay in order to accompany them to the kids section. The water park is great for kids and there is an attached arcade. I don't recommend ordering pizza from garbonzos as it wasn't very good. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We booked through the canad inns site as the prices on their special days were the same as the discount sites we found. Staying here is clean and easy though not the cheapest rate you will find.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Director of Sales at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks very much Mark for your positive review of our property. Please contact me at cidcgfsales@canadinns.com with "Trip Advisor" in the subject line. I will personally make sure that your next stay with us is as positive as your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Was excited to check this hotel out, wasn't what I expected... check in took awhile had to wait 10 minutes or longer to use the elevator everytime we wanted to use it... we checked out the water park, water was cold my daughter was shivering and had to wait 20 minutes for towels .... we ate at the restaurant for breakfast of you like cold food thats the place to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cablechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Director of Sales at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please feel free to contact me at cidcgfsales@canadinns.com if you'd like to discuss the matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been to the Canad Inn MANY times. I always stay here when I go for Sioux Hockey. I love the location and the fact that you can get too and from the games on their bus. If you pay $5 you can ride the shuttle and get $5 off at any of the pubs when you return.
The rooms are fine, not worth what you pay at this hotel but for the convenience it is worth it to me. The food in their restaurants is really good. The riblets in the pub are really good.
It is the service in both their pub and Playmakers is absolutely horrible. We almost always seem to wait on ourselves in both of these establishments. They definitely need a better manager in the service areas of both of these bars.
If you have problems and need a manager during the weekend forget it they don't have one on staff from Friday night to Monday morning. Additionally don't waste your time calling the "assistant manager" once Monday comes because I have left three messages with her over the course of two weeks and she never returned any of my calls. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE and now we know why. If the manager doesn't call you back why would the employees give good service eiter.
EXCEPTION IS DUSTIN AT THE FRONT DESK...he was amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal...don't pay more for the "Penthouse" it isn't worth it AT ALL.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FargoJena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Director of Sales at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of your experience at Canad Inns Grand Forks. We greatly appreciate the very high marks you gave us in location and cleanliness. We also want to thank you for your review of the food in Tavern. Our service across the hotel is always an area we would like to improve. No matter how we deliver the service, we always feel we can improve. The manager of the venues you mentioned has distinguished herself in many areas since coming to the property and has made tremendous improvements. I know she will take this review very seriously and work with her staff to deliver nothing but the best the next time you stay with us.

Thank you as well for your kind words about Dustin. He obviously delivered a standard of service which is expected of all our employees.

In regard to your room tip about our Penthouse level, we do charge slightly more for the upgraded in room amenities and upgraded aesthetics of the floor.

I hope you choose to stay with us again. If you do, please feel free to email me at cidcgfsales@canadinns.com and I will make sure your next experience meets your expectations. We hope to see you for UND's home playoff hiockey game the weekend of March 15th.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here the night of the George Strait concert. Not having to deal with parking and traffic was excellent but that is the end of the pros. Room was not ready when we got there, which was after check-in time. Called for room service before the concert and was informed they are not offering room service due to the concert and having over 150 people waiting to be served. That would have been nice to know at check-in. Called front desk for assistance and Susie was very rude. Walls and ceilings are very thin...could hear people around us talking in their room and using the bathroom. Definitely not worth the $200 ... e. Walls and ceilings are very thin...could hear people around us talking in their room and using the bathroom. Not sure if it was worth the $200 ...

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank johnsonlnl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Director of Sales at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our property. Being attached to the Alerus Center is a great advantage for our guests that do not want to fight traffic on concert night. We hope new and repeat guests factor that in to their lodging decision. We apologize that room service may have been temporarily unavailable during the concert event. We should have informed all our guests of that upon check in. The fact is that the overwhelming demand in AALTOS, our provider of room service, did not allow for us to deliver to the floors. We have opportunities in the future to remedy your concern and appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
#4 of 28 in Grand Forks
556 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 28 in Grand Forks
301 reviews
1.8 mi away
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
#19 of 28 in Grand Forks
267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks

Address: 1000 S 42nd St, Conneted to the Alerus Center, Grand Forks, ND 58201-3927
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range: $115 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
201 superior guest rooms, including Deluxe Queen Rooms, King Leisure Rooms, Kids Theme Rooms, Jacuzzi Theme Suites, Business Suites, Penthouse King Rooms & Suites, and our Penthouse on Main (1st floor level) business suites. We offer you three diverse restaurants, a two-level gaming lounge and inside access to the Alerus Center. Plus for the "children in all of us" our 40,000 square foot Splasher's of the South Seas Indoor Waterpark and Garbonzo's Pizza and Arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Canad Hotel Grand Forks
Canad Hotel Destination Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing