We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fun for the kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super fun for the kids!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel was new and very well maintained. We stayed in a kids suite and it was great for us, 2 adults and 3 kids fit well. The water park that was attached was great, the bad part is that we still had to pay to enter.

The restaurants that were in the hotel were not my favorite. They had the Italian restaurant, the Buffet, and the pub, so there was not much of a option to eat healthy.

But all in all we would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_torgerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    100
    81
    49
    39
See reviews for
224
34
6
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Il
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our stay [4 days] was arranged by Grand Forks Flight Support at the airport the same day we arrived [we called ahead]. We had no idea that the hotel is a big complex. After seeing the rates we were going to go elsewhere after the first night but after discussing this with the front desk shortly after arrival they lowered the price for 3 nights AND threw in $25 certificates for four meals.
We didn't have kids along but those who did seemed to enjoy the waterpark. There were generally long waits for the elevators and you have to use your room card to go up [probably to deter waterpark only folks from wandering around].
There are 3 restaurants and a pizza counter. Food was OK.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

As far as amenities this hotel is second to none in Grand Forks. On site convention center, water park, restaurants, tavern and sports bar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Striker701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We are a family of 4 and we have stayed in many hotels both in the USA and other places as we do a lot of traveling and this was not our first stay in this hotel but our second stay directly at the Canad Inn in Grand Forks only to be disappointed yet again in the quality of the service compared to the price they charge for the overnight stay.

1) Air conditioner was broken in our room so room became very stuffy. When we called to have it looked at they told us there was no one available as it was already 8pm. So we asked to be moved to another room if possible and without even looking on the computer to see if another room was available the front desk answered quickly and said."no, sorry sir there are no rooms available" I find this very hard to believe in a large building that they were completely sold out with no other rooms especially since she didn't even attempt to look before she replied.

2) The cost of entering the waterpark should be included in the high price of the hotel accommodations considering the nightly stay averages on $170 USD plus taxes per night they should at least give you one wrist band each per guest in your room.

3) Not very close to the shopping malls in Grand Forks so if you're looking to go shopping it is not as close as some other really nice hotels in the mall area that are the exact same price. However, if you are staying in Grand Forks for the Alerus centre then this would be the best / closest choice since the hotel is connected to the facility and I'm sure that is why they feel their prices are justified but what's a 5 minutes drive when you can stay somewhere much cleaner and with better restaurants.

4) Stay away from L'Bistro restaurant...........not good at all and Allto's breakfast was not on because there were not enough people in the hotel so we drove to IHOPS and it was amazing, we were actually glad we were sent elsewhere for breakfast and each morning we continued to jump in the car and go to IHOPS or Denny's which are both great restaurants.

5) We were feeling pretty broke and unhappy by the second night so when we woke up in the morning we decided we would just use the free hot tub and the kids would be paid for to enter the water park so we walked over to the hot tub only to find out that it was broken and not running. We asked when it would be working and we were told by the staff that they were unsure so then we were really frustrated and sat and watched our children play for awhile and then decided to pack up our stuff and move to another hotel for the remainder of our 2 nights left in Grand Forks so we checked out and went to another downtown hotel with a pool and a working hot tub and breakfast included for only $139.

So, lesson learned, If you are paying top dollar for a hotel then you should expect great service and great food and the water park should be included in the stay since this is the only positive feature of this location other then being attached to the Alerus Centre. We have learned that we would much rather pay to stay closer to downtown shopping in a 5 star hotel where we payed the same amount of money but had a much better stay and then we drove over to the water park and paid to get in for the afternoon and then drove back to our own hotel. Since the hotel rate at Canad Inn does not include the water park, there is no reason left for us to continue our unhappy service with a 2 star hotel charging 5 star rates!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else and drive to waterpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wertogonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Our group was in Grand Forks for the Junior Grand Am tournament. We chose the Canada Inn because of the Water Park and location.

In general the rooms were ok. Nothing special when compared to other hotels and motels I have stayed in. The were clean and the emenities were kept up. We did have plumbing issues with three of our rooms that required Hotel staff to take care .
The key card system is absolutely horrible. The executive who dreamed that one up should be forced to use a key coded for a room on the 6th floor and make them visit rooms on all other floors. Guess what, take the stairs. AND if several persons get on the elevator requiring multiple swipes to go to the floors, you betteer do it in order going up. We had one person swipe for high high floor first, then before we could get the next swipe in for floor 4, the elevator was already past that floor. That person had to wait until all the others were taken care of and then re-swipe and enter 4 to get to that floor.

All this WHEN the swipe was working ok. About half the time if failed to work.

It became easier to use the stairwells. And that is very dangerous in my opinion. My wife and I found a young girl in the stairs at one point. She was lost and crying. We helped her find her floor and get safely to her room.
The stair system is very complicated and there are no signs. There were several places where more than one option existed. One of our group took a wrong turn and ended up outside.

If you are going to Grand Forks and considering the Canada Inn, call first and ask if they have removed the key swipe system from the elevator. If not, I would recommend finding a different venue.

One plus: We ordered pizza the first night delivered to our room. It was great. We ordered the next day again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJS1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My daughter, 2 teenage grandsons and I just spent Spring Break at Canadinn, N.D. We had a spacious, clean suite with a comfortable king sized bed. The sofa bed, for the boys, was inadequate and uncomfortable. One of them had to sleep on the floor.
The waterpark was worth going for, we all loved it, though I think when we paid $436 for 2 nights stay, the water park should have been included. Each day it cost $10. 50 for each person. Good location, spacious lobby; - BUT,- the Aalto's restaurant was terrible.!!! The waiter even apologised for the poor food but there was no reduction in cost!
Everything considered, yes - we'd go again. Joan Douglas Winnipeg

Room Tip: Sofa beds not big enough for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannaWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We just got back from a 2 night stay in a family themed suite. We were very disappointed. First of all, we showed up at 3:00 to check in (which is check in time) and were told the room wasn't ready. We had to check back every 1/2 hour until 5:30 when we finally got our room. When we complained, they reluctantly gave us wristbands to the waterpark and a minimal discount on our room. Having stayed there twice before, we were surprised (in a bad way) with our overall experience, from the wait times to talk to someone at the front desk to the amount of garbage laying around and overall cleanliness of the hotel. There was a group of over 200 teenagers staying during our visit, and my husband had to call the front desk at around 10:30 one night to ask them to do something about the noise level of this group who were running through the halls, raising voices etc.
I was wanting to use the business center to retrieve my e-mail, but was told someone hacked into their system and it was down. So the one computer they had was unavailable.
As we were leaving, our van wouldn't start and my husband asked at the front desk if they could help (they have Canad Inn Vans in the loading zone) and their reply was 'that it was against their policy", but fortunately we had some fellow Winnipegers who overheard the conversation and volunteered to help us jumpstart it.
Our overall impression was that the hotel is mismanaged, and they aren't even trying. For the amount they charge, they need to improve their customer service.
We definately will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfivecanada54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
#3 of 28 in Grand Forks
537 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Grand Forks
Staybridge Suites Grand Forks
#15 of 28 in Grand Forks
200 reviews
1.8 mi away
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
#13 of 28 in Grand Forks
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks

Property: Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks
Address: 1000 S 42nd St, Conneted to the Alerus Center, Grand Forks, ND 58201-3927
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
201 superior guest rooms, including Deluxe Queen Rooms, King Leisure Rooms, Kids Theme Rooms, Jacuzzi Theme Suites, Business Suites, Penthouse King Rooms & Suites, and our Penthouse on Main (1st floor level) business suites. We offer you three diverse restaurants, a two-level gaming lounge and inside access to the Alerus Center. Plus for the "children in all of us" our 40,000 square foot Splasher's of the South Seas Indoor Waterpark and Garbonzo's Pizza and Arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Canad Hotel Grand Forks
Canad Hotel Destination Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing