We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our first stops!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mexican Village

Mexican Village
Ranked #73 of 166 Restaurants in Grand Forks
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our first stops!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place is always one of our first stops when we return to Grand Forks as it has been a favorite for years! I wouldnt say it's "authentic" Mexican, but it is good food, good prices and quick. I don't live there anymore and miss having it around for a weekly lunch with my BFF!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    6
    3
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Mexican food I've ever eaten”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My fiance and I visited this restaurant looking for a decent Mexican dinner. There was no one by the door to seat us when we walked in, so the cash register was left unattended. Two groups of people had come in before us and were also waiting.

After being seated by a pleasant waitress, we opened our menus. The first thing we noticed was that their queso dip was titled "melted cheese." This should've been our clue to run out of the restaurant. The only alcoholic beverages were bottled, so if you are looking for a traditional margarita, you will not find one here. Additionally, all food was served covered in gravy.

We ordered the "melted cheese," only to find that it cooled within five minutes into a disgusting, buttery blob of fat. Their salsa had no taste. We ordered a burrito and quesadilla, hoping for better results. The burrito (which we ordered without gravy) was literally a shell with ground beef in it and was dry with no taste. The quesadilla, while containing the ingredients listed on the menu, had no taste. I could've microwaved a cheap homemade quesadilla that would taste much better.

The ONLY redeeming qualities were polite service and average prices. Disgusting food. Please don't waste your time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittanyK08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Cozy Dinning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great Staff Good Food reasonable prices, easy access lots of parking Mexican fare
Good mexican food very friendly staff!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sipete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Forks, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very good food, fast and friendly service. Atmosphere is very nice. Love the queso! Generous portions.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Elroco85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The food is good and reasonable priced. Service varies daily from very good to poor depending on staff. Free chips and sauce like the chain restaurants but locally owned. Minimal seating for large groups.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank thefamdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Village also viewed

 

Been to Mexican Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing