We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Trust the Staff”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Gimli, Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Trust the Staff”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have stayed here many times with my husband, or my sister, or my girlfriends and the hotel has been okay. Nothing special, but handy to shopping. The last time my girlfriends and I stayed, we had something stolen from our room. When the housekeeping staff was confronted, they denied it. The conversation about the stolen product was discussed at the front desk in the lobby with other guests present which made it very uncomfortable. A refund of $10 per night was given but that did not cover the cost of the missing item. We discovered it missing on a Saturday and were told we had to wait until Sunday for management. Manager still wasn't there on Sunday. In addition to this, the hotel has 4 hot tubs of which only 1 was working and taken over by guests in a poolside room. They weren't even using it, just sitting around it and others were dangling their feet in it. Not a great time at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Katherine C,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback. We strive daily for constant improvement in order to be the best hotel in the Greater Grand Forks area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and many repeat visits. Three of our hot tubs were out of order for a week for complete renovation. We installed new hot water heaters and pumps in order to maintain our high standards. We invite you back to try them out! All of our staff is required to complete and pass our Gold Standard hospitality training and we are surprised to hear of your issue. I would like to invite you to email me personally at Roadkinginn@live.com so that we can discuss making it up to you. All of our guests are our top priority; we want you to know that your concerns are being addressed and remedied. We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Douglas Glennen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    24
    17
    22
See reviews for
57
45
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thanks to Julie and Adrienne, we book out Grand Forks stay at Road King every time. Their patience and perseverance in accommodating our booking requests is outstanding each and every time. Thanks to these ladies, we are loyal Road King Inn customers. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ominski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Ominski,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I will be sure to let Julie and Adrienne know of a job well done. We all take great pride in our service as well as being the nicest hotel in the Grand Forks area at a price that won't break the bank. Have you joined our 11th Night Free Program yet? We love to reward loyal guests such as yourself.

Kindly,
Douglas Glennen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow City, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel for 5 nights recently. We found the staff to be very accommodating and pleasant. The room was very clean...a little outdated but very comfortable. We also travel with our dog and it is not always easy to find a nice place to stay in Grand Forks when you have a pet. This motel exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend it if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay. We will always stay here when we are in Grand Forks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a recliner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sonja I,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We take great pride in being one of the nicest hotels in the Great Grand Forks region at a price that won't break the bank. We'd love to invite you and your entire family back to experience some of the updates we've made in the rooms including new Gold Standard Mattresses. Did you get to take advantage of one of our spacious pool-side rooms or relax in one of our three hot tubs? We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again.

Regards,
Douglas Glennen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel about 1 year ago and it was great, however 1 year later was a real eye opener. I cannot believe how a hotel can go down hill so much in just one year! The rooms are disgustingly dirty, pubic hairs left in the bath tub and hair left in the bathroom, the toilet seat and bowl were not cleaned - VERY UNSANITARY, the vent in the bathroom had mounds of dust collected and was just hanging, yuk! We stayed in one of the end rooms on the first floor, there is a definite musty odor when you enter the room, carpets are filthy and very worn the chairs are dirty and have stains, visible dust around the edge of the carpets around the entire room - no wonder it is so dimly lit to camouflage the filth. The towels are a grey color and are very thin and the bathroom ceiling is peeling. This hotel is also in need of a major update everywhere. When we brought up the condition of the room to Management we were just sluffed off re the cleanliness due to having a busy season - and no one is perfect! Upon our return we stayed in a different hotel comparable in price that was clean to MY standards. Will NEVER stay in this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Deanne B,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to write us with your concerns and give us your honest feedback. Each and every housekeeper is required to undergo and complete our Gold Standard training process so that all of our guests can experience just how important our cleanliness standards are to us. We maintain the highest standards and regret that on this occasion we fell short of our commitment to "Wow!" you in each and every aspect of your stay. We have spent the last few months evaluating our Gold Standard training and are excited to announced that we've made some changes to totally prevent repeat situations such as yours. In addition to these changes, we've added some great new local promotions that make saving your money even easier with suite giveaways and frequent stay rewards. We'd love to be given the opportunity to make this up to you. We know you will love the changes we've made. Please email me personally at Roadkinginn@live.com with TripAdvisor in the header; I promise you will not regret reaching out.

Douglas Glennen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed the weekend at this hotel, we have before and each time the stay was very pleasant. The breakfast is always nicely done, would like it to last until 10 am thought. the room we get is a junoir suite with a hot tub. try to get the upper floor so you dont hear your neighbors. They take pets which for us is mandatory as we always travel with ours.

Room Tip: try for the junior suites rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Wpgbolori,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for being repeat guests. If your not already make sure you ask the front desk for an 11th night free card (stay 10 nights, get the 11th free). I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to ensure that all our guests are satisfied. Also you will be pleased to hear that breakfast is now open till 10am everyday of the week. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

FANTASTIC experience. I've never stayed in this hotel before but was down for a getaway with my daughter and we loved every single aspect of this hotel. Clean, comfortable, quite and did I mention CLEAN??? Will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rachel S,

Thank you for writing a review and choosing to stay with us. I am glad to hear that we exceeded your exspectaions. We look forward to having tyou stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and felt "blocked" in by an internet offer. Reasonable cost, but beds (Room 113) were soft and not comfortable and the room had a distinct odor, not pleasant like animal urine. Since visiting family we spent little time in the room and just sprayed a lot of odor neutralizer when there. Good internet connection and anequate breakfast. Staff was friendly.

Showed effort to please and was secure. For the price I cannot complain too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
2.8 mi away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#9 of 28 in Grand Forks
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
0.3 mi away
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
#13 of 28 in Grand Forks
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Columbia Mall
Days Inn Columbia Mall
#10 of 28 in Grand Forks
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 3300 30th Ave S, Grand Forks, ND 58201-6032 (Formerly Road King Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road King Inn Columbia Mall Hotel Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing