We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointed”
Review of Dakota Harvest Bakers - CLOSED

Dakota Harvest Bakers
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: We create high quality food using goods from local farmers. North Dakota and Minnesota are truly bountiful places to live and we showcase those ingredients in our food. We believe we can create amazing breads and pastries to rival any bakery in the country (at least that is what our well traveled customers tell us!). Great ingredients, talented bakers and chefs, and a passion for food have come together at Dakota Harvest(R) Bakers when we opened our doors on May 8, 2006.
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was very excited to try this place. I'd heard good things and liked the sound of the joint. The sandwiches are ok....the use of the term “Panini” is misleading and the vegetarian sandwich was very slim on the vegetables. I had to ask for everything...napkins, my beverage, etc. They seemed really unorganized or maybe they were just short staffed....either way it was a disappointing visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJFfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Average Sandwiches, Good Drinks”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I really liked the idea of this place - a very community focused eatery with freshly baked goods. I was very happy to find that there was some vegetarian options here, but I was a bit disappointed by my lemon hummus sandwich. The hummus was overly salty and rather acidic, and they seemed to be very stingy with the veggies. I also ordered a raspberry white chocolate muffin, but it was a bit dry and the muffin itself was overly sugary. But their beverages are very good - I tried the cinnamon apple cider which was well spiced and sweet. Their indulgent hot chocolate is another worthy treat - especially with their fancy marshmallow toppings. I wanted to like it but it didn't deliver in the end.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessiquoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, ND
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful Baked Goods”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A great place to go if you are looking for a tasty breakfast or lunch that is not just your run of the mill flavors. Get a soup and half sandwich and try to save room for one of the wonderful desserts they have. Anything with the cream cheese frosting is a good choice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy_58201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Dunkin' cookies”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were traveling through the area and shared the baked oatmeal for breakfast; it was fine although it did have very large pecans in it (a good thing). We each got a cookie to go for later and were wishing we'd eaten it there so we could dunk them in our hot beverages. They have a good flavor but definitely would be better dunked in something.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food/atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a great local bakery. I once had banana cream pie that was so good I almost licked my plate clean. Everything I have tried has been wonderful. Sunday mornings are my favorite, get some biscuits and gravy, coffee and the morning paper - my little slice of heaven.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dakota Harvest Bakers also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing