We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

the price we paid to stay here two nights was 20% higher than a normal stay (when there isn't a major concert in town) and I detest places that do price gouging. Even on a non-event weekend, the pricing for this 2-star hotel is way too high and I won't stay in an AmericInn again.

Also, the breakfast was TERRIBLE--the sausage gravy was water and the biscuits were like rocks, the sausage links were rancid, and the scambled eggs were cold--NASTY! Our room was clean and the staff was great.

The handicapped parking spaces were not shoveled and were snow packed and slippery.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 151 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

This isn't the top of the line hotel but it isn't motel 6 either. Their hotel was well kept on the outside, the lobby was clean and pleasant. The continental breakfast was great!

The front desk person that checked us in was terrific! She helped with getting our UND hockey tickets printed even though she didn't have to. The business center (a small computer in the lobby) has a printer that was out of ink.

We had the handicap accessable room which worked out just fine. There was a microwave, a fridge, and...shockingly...a tube tv. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean.

The pool area looked very nice as well, although I never did use it. The downside on some of the experience was the ink problem (minor). Everything went by without a hitch.

Things to improve...there was obvious water damage on the wall in room 105. The ice machine is at one end of the building which was inconvenient. The rooms and lobby seem sort of dated but nothing major. All in all, it was a good stay and we would be back again the next time we come for a hockey game.

Room Tip: Don't plan on using the 'business center'. Although cute, not very applicable. There ar...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

this is the best place we have found. as we require a handicap room, it is great.
Wonderful breakfast, great service and very quiet. the 24 hr coffee and tea were a special treat, as was the fruit and cookies.we require a handicap room, and this one is the best! very quiet room.

Room Tip: great handicap facilities,especially the shower area. very comfortable bed..
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the AmericInn in Grand Forks over Christmas. They had computer trouble so didn't have our reservation but took us in and everything after that was top rate. The hotel entrance is tucked away off Columbia but worth finding. This hotel was not bothered by Interstate traffic and trucking noise. The front desk staff created a warm inviting ambiance through our stay. The breakfast was a bit more than the usual waffle/toast/juice spread with scrambled eggs and sausage. Coffee and fruit were available throughout the day and cookies were added in the afternoon. The lobby and entire hotel were clean. They're planning a remodel this spring; some things looked dated but still appeared cared for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFNDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel staff was nice and friendly but they were very unaccommodating when I asked to be moved from a smoker room to a non smoker room. Was given a can of air freshener instead. In addition, when I was checking out very early to catch a flight, two people were sleeping on the couches in the living room. As I checked out, they went outside and smoked a cigarette. As I was walking to my car they looked like they were ready to mug. Won't stay there or at any Americinn again.

Room Tip: wouldn't stay there again. Side on hotel on the fastfood drive-in is noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T8662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We seem to always stay here when in Grand Forks and have always enjoyed it. This time was no exception.
The freshly baked cookies in the early evening are wonderful. They go fast so you have to be quick to get any.
The expanded breakfast is very good but this time my husband found the muffin he had very dry and crumbly and I found the taste of the sausages were not to my liking even when I covered them with syrup. The scrambled eggs and waffles were good. I still miss the hard boiled eggs.
The hotel was not busy this stay but it was still very quiet. That is the best thing about this hotel. The way it is built there is no noise from upstairs or from the hall. The peace and quiet is wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daylili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were determined to stay overnight in North Dakota, having never been here before. The hotel did not disappoint. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable and breakfast was tasty and ample. The staff directed us to a restaurant nearby which was excellent. Our room was reasonably sized and the king bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
C'mon Inn - Grand Forks
#19 of 28 in Grand Forks
267 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
#4 of 28 in Grand Forks
556 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks

Address: 1820 S Columbia Rd, Grand Forks, ND 58201-5819
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Forks
Price Range: $85 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Motel And Suites Grand Forks
Americinn Motel & Suites Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Americinn Hotel Grand Forks
Americinn Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing