We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Stay Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Minot
2 reviews
“Will Stay Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have stayed 2 different time! Both have been Great Very Clean (most important), quite, comfortable, friendly staff welcoming me coming in the door!! they kept the breakfast stocked!! They will always be my first choice when going to Grand Forks!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    42
    13
    11
    14
See reviews for
54
51
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

we were up touring UND for my son. The room worked out well for the 4 of us, and we enjoyed dinner across the street at Green Mill and had some delicious pizza. No problems with the room or the service, things were clean and we were treated well. The beds were comfortable and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was a nice treat to get us on our way for the day. There is a pool but we did not take advantage of it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

we often go to grand forks from manitoba, it is so hard to find a good motel with proper handicap
facilities. well we found it! this place was awsome! the bathroom has all the proper things in place
for a handicapped person.the staff was excellent!

Room Tip: handicap rooms are awsome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had to stay after a plane delay from Phoenix which had us arriving around 10 pm at night. The clerk at the desk did not recognize the CAA card and i told him it was just like the AAA card for rates. Our favorite hotel the Travelodge was booked us during this night ( spring break). The rooms were clean, free internet, fridge, microwave, beds comfy. The breakfast had a wide arrange of choices, but on that particular morning there was no assigned person looking after the breakfast area like I have seen in other hotels. Maybe they had a sick call on that day. There were 2 people behind the desk and the breakfast area ran out of eggs, sausage by 9 am. We let the desk people know and it took about 15 minutes to get them made. Another couple were searching all the cupboards for forks. I think one of the two should have paid more attention to the breakfast time, restocking it and making sure there was plenty of food. The room rate is overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKESSS1111, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn Grand Forks. Our top priority is creating an environment in which our guests can relax, renew and recharge. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Constructive feedback from our guests is crucial in our continued quest to provide unparalleled guest service and impeccably clean lodging accommodations. Our rates are based on the area events, demand and area motels.

Our AmericInn has a very high standard and reputation of cleanliness. It appears we did not live up to that expectation. To more consistently accomplish that goal, we do have a total refurbishing of the motel coming up later this year. We have just added the additional breakfast items to our breakfast have over come some challenges to make sure the buffet is right. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.
Please contact me directly to help compensate you for the issue you had.
Thank you,
Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Planned on staying two nights on the return trip from Las Vegas (flew Allegiant) to do some shopping. Since this happened to be the tail end of Winnipeg's Spring Break, I could only get a "King Suite" and had to book for two nights - at $179.00 a night! The "suite" was small, dated, was right over the lobby (noisy), the sofa bed had a sketchy mattress (it dropped off on the sides and wasn't flat), the bathtub faucet continually ran. Definitely not worth $179.00 per night (we paid a little more than half that rate for a 5 star in Las Vegas). We checked out after one night, since we decided that we would rather drive the two and a half hours home rather than spend another night. The breakfast was good, but didn't make up for the rate gouge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen_KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKESSS1111, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the AmericInn Grand Forks. Our top priority is creating an environment in which our guests can relax, renew and recharge. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Constructive feedback from our guests is crucial in our continued quest to provide unparalleled guest service and impeccably clean lodging accommodations. Our rates are based on the area events, demand and area motels.

Our AmericInn has a very high standard and reputation of cleanliness. It appears we did not live up to that expectation. To more consistently accomplish that goal, we do have a total refurbishing of the motel coming up later this year. We have just added the additional breakfast items to our breakfast have over come some challenges to make sure the buffet is right. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.
Please contact me directly to help compensate you for the issue you had.
Thank you,
Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warroad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

The "front desk" lady was horribly rude!! We used a "prepaid" credit card...but enough for a 2 night stay on the card. We always use prepaid cards so we dont have to worry about paying more interest than price w/a regular credit card....They over charged us twice and then gave our room away to somebody else WHILE we were still IN IT!! They tried to tell us they have a suite available w/ no extra discount and an additional $90.00 MORE than our original room! It has been over 2 weeks and they still have not credited our card w/our money they owe us. AmericInn was my Favorite hotel! I have driven further on trips just to stay at an Americinn! We ended up at a lower end hotel w/oatmeal and dried bread for breakfast BUT they were so nice and accomodating, that I would rather stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heavenlygavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKESSS1111, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
We do make every effort to have satisfied guests.
It is unfortunate this problem occurred.
It takes up 45 days for a gift card charge authorization to return to the gift card.
We have made multiple attempts to get this back on the gift card but the company the gift card came from will not help us or the guest expedite the guest funds to the gift card. the motel has already released the authorization.
We do apologize for this issue and wish it could be cleared up.
Thank you,
Michael Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stay here whenever we come to Grand Forks, ND. We find it is a very nice hotel with very efficient, accommodating and friendly staff. The hotel is close to a number of restaurants and the mall is just down the road.
They have expanded their breakfasts since the last time we stayed here. I always liked that they had hard boiled eggs for breakfast but now they also have scrambled eggs and sausages along with toast, waffles, yogurt, fruit etc. The rooms are clean and comfortable with nice beds and flat screen TV's. No need to worry about noise from loud neighbours. It's very quiet because of the way the hotel is built.
We had problems with the dead bolt and latch on our door. When we told the front desk she was on the phone before we even left the desk. It was fixed by the time we got back from shopping. Another nice touch is the freshly baked cookies every evening. Too bad they disappear so fast. My only complaint is that I wish their kleenex was of a softer variety. My allergys were acting up and the tissues were very rough.on my nose. I went out and bought my own softer tissues.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daylili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
1.0 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 28 in Grand Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks
Address: 1820 S Columbia Rd, Grand Forks, ND 58201-5819
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Motel And Suites Grand Forks
Americinn Motel & Suites Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Americinn Hotel Grand Forks
Americinn Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing