We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UND College Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Forks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Forks
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“UND College Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Recently, my family and I traveled to Grand Forks to visit UND (University of North Dakota). It is about 2.5 miles from the school campus. This hotel has a perfect mix of bright college colors and modern furnishings from the lobby to room, to the pool area. The room my family had was very clean and welcoming with bright colors, and comfortable beds. The layout of the bathroom(s) was quite unique, it was a split design, each with a sliding door, but the doors don't lock, so be sure to go when your pesky siblings don't know your'e there. One room had the toilet and a sink, and the other had the tub/shower and another sink. The indoor pool area was very pleasant, although it faced right into the rear parking lot and the apartment complex nearby. The heated pool was a perfect temperature, not freezing, nor nauseatingly warm. Also, the hot tub was very relaxing! I almost fell asleep in it. The breakfast though, was very limited compared to other hotels I've been to. Pretty much, it only consisted of Turkey sausage patties, waffles, eggs, juices, and a selection of pastries. I have to say, the muffins were very tasty!
I would recommend this hotel for those visiting UND and Grand Forks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    92
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
74
47
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
293 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is very new or new looking. Modern colors and furnishings. Entrance is a bit odd off 40th Street but lots of parking. Near Interstate exit and University of North Dakota campus. Check in was a bit odd in that the desk clerk was folding towels. Multitasking employees required?

Room Tip: Ground floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BossRino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The king room we had here was spacious and clean, well designed split bath with a sink in each, sliding glass doors for privacy and took up no space for the swing, making the area even larger. Decor is contempory with a swivel tv for use in sitting area or from the bed. Nicely thought out refrigerator/micro area with shelves for supplies. Small sink in here would have been nice, but then, I would have been totally spoiled. Food served in the morning was fresh, plentiful, clean and spotless areas for eating. Outside fire area was wonderful with stone wall and hearth and plenty of seats. We stayed 4 nights and I highly recommend this place. Kudos to the management and team.

Room Tip: I highly doubt there are any rooms not excellent. Pool area was clean and quiet, always plenty of to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Recently we had to travel to Grand Forks for an emergency late at night and after trying several other hotels that were all booked we stopped at the SpringHill and they had one room left which they gave us at a discounted price since it was 1:00 am when we checked in. The front desk staff was very kind and the room was amazing! The bathroom setup being split with the toilet in one part and the shower in the other was very nice! The size of the room was more than generous and the decor was perfect. Room was spotless and very comfortable. The only issue was our room was on the west side of the hotel and since I live in the country I found the interstate traffic a little noisy. We checked out of the hotel at 8:00 am thinking we would not need the room but by 10:30 am we found ourselves waiting for news on the medical emergency that brought us to Grand Forks and we had nowhere to go so I called SpringHill and explained our situation and asked if we could get back into our room till noon (normal checkout time) the front desk was more than kind and allowed us back into the room. At noon we still had no news and nowhere to go so I asked the front desk if we could stay a little longer and they generously offered us the room till 1:00 pm at no extra cost. I have stayed at many hotels in many different cities but the customer service in this hotel was better than any I have ever encountered. Staff was professional and kind. I will be looking for SpringHill hotels in all the cities I stay at from now on! Thanks for all your kindness SpringHill staff!!

DML

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed here on business recently. I have been Marriott Platinum for some time and one perk is that you get a free room upgrade if available. When I checked in I was congratulated by the young lady at the front desk for being Platinum, so I was a little surprised when after politely asking if there were any free upgrades to hear only a chuckle and a succinct "No"! I am usually successful for an upgrade about half of the time and if not I usually am told that the hotel is sold out. Not a good first impression. Everything else was standard and satisfactory for this Brand. The hotel is somewhat hidden if not for GPS navigation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I don't know how old this hotel is, but it is relatively new. The front desk staff was fantastic. I had a day of travel and all I wanted to do was get to my room and relax. The room was clean and perfect. I think my favorite part was the shower. I'm tall and most hotels I have to duck to get water on my head. They have real showers! I really enjoy the european feel that this brand of Marriott hotels have. Great value, this is probably the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a newer hotel and it is very clean. The rooms use a different design and style (European?) and the net result is very attractive. The only problem is that the rooms are a little small. In addition, the breakfast could be improved. However, service was great and our room was very quiet. Plus, Grand Forks is a really neat city to visit. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiramUlysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks
1.3 mi away
Expressway Suites of Grand Forks
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
#4 of 28 in Grand Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Forks

Property: SpringHill Suites Grand Forks
Address: 2837 S 42nd Street, Grand Forks, ND 58201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Grand Forks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Forks 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing