We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We've stayed twice this summer in their Family suite. Suite has two rooms - one with a king bed/TV and the other with either two twins or a sofabed, TV, table/chairs, fridge, microwave and large bathroom. Great to put the kids to bed in one room and stay up in the other room (or share with grandparents)!

Two hot tubs, kiddie pool with little slide and mushroom fountain, plus a main pool. The only problem is the tiles are slippery when wet and the kids wiped out numerous times.

I'd wager breakfast options varies on capacity. One time they had the fixings for fruit parfaits and cheese sticks in addition to eggs/sausage/waffles/cereal/toast/yogurt and the other time not. However, the day with the smaller breakfast also offered "appetizer" hour from 5-7 and served pulled pork on a bun and nachos with cheese. There are also sometimes cookies in the lobby, and always coffee and fruit for the taking.

I've stayed at lots of places and request a crib or playpen on my online reservation. This hotel is one of the rare places that actually must read the reservation requests as the crib was ready for us on both stays.

I'd describe this hotel as modern and clean and wouldn't hesitate to return. Good location (Menards/Mall/Target is walkable if you wish).

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank FortyBelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGRKS, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Thank you for the great review!

We are delighted to hear you and your children enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again at Country Inn and Suites Grand Forks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 462 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel caters to people attending sporting events and people with children. They have a nice pool but if you want some peace and quiet, rule that out. It's always loaded with kids!
The staff are friendly depending on the day but the rooms are clean.
If they are full, ask to be put on a waiting list. Unfortunately, they book blocks of rooms for weddings and don't set a date for confirmation. So, you can pretty much always expect a call after 6pm the night of the wedding since so many rooms aren't booked. I wish they would insist on confirmation at least the night before so people aren't finding out if they'll get a room later the same night they need one.
This hotel also bases their prices on what's happening in town. For sporting events or Canadian holidays, their prices shoot up considerably, which is unfair to customers in my humble opinion. Their prices vary week to week and is one of the more expensive hotels to stay in. I was once told by an employee there that, "the manager sets the prices higher when he knows something is happening in town. He can do what he wants."
In other words, "He'll get more money out of you because you need to have a place to stay." That seems pretty opportunistic to me. If I didn't get Club Carlson points, I would definitely stay at Hilton Garden Inn instead. Much nicer and the staff are much friendlier there!

Room Tip: Call and request a reasonable price. If not, call The Hilton Garden Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank followmearound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGRKS, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Thank you for the review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness and the pool area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The room was better than we had expected. We had a suite with a seperate living room, and television. The rooms were well appointed.The free breakfast had lots of choices.The location is perfect very close to Columbia Mall and the Super target.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGRKS, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Thank you for the great review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again at Country Inn and Suites Grand Forks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Friendly and very accommodating staff. Great location, close to all shopping and restaurants are nearby. Rooms are spacious and very clean . Comfortable beds and the hotel is very quiet. Excellent breakfast to get you started for a day of shopping!

Room Tip: Had a corner room with 2 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie2855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGRKS, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Thank you for the great review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again at Country Inn and Suites Grand Forks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We had heard good things about this hotel so we decided to take a chance on it! Check in was okay and the room was large and clean. We didn't hear noise during the night so the soundproofing must be okay.The pool area looked clean as well. We swam in both the pool and hot tub. The chlorine odor is quite strong. You must be very careful when walking as the tiles are very slippery. They ran out of pool towels twice. The biggest disappointment was breakfast. It was served from 7:30 to 10:00 on the weekends. We got there around 8:30. Couldn't believe it...NO COFFEE!!!!!! and almost no food....only cereal. The bread was gone. I could go on. There's no excuse for this. Management knows days before how many people are going to be staying overnight!!! For them to say they offer a full hearty breakfast and then to make people wait for even a cup of coffee is beyond cruel. I don't think we'll stay here again. It's a shame because they do have a nice place but it's just decent to supply to your guests what you've promised!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamadoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGRKS, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Thank you for the review.

We will be sure to use this feedback to improve our operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We are getting more and more hooked on this hotel, clean rooms and spacious . The continental breakfast is great to start off your day shopping.
I love the pool as it is so warm for the small children that they are not freezing the whole time in. the small kiddie pool is great for very small children.
When ever we ask for adjoining rooms they accomadate our request . Great front desk staff and management.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murchcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGRKS, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Thank you for the great review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again at Country Inn and Suites Grand Forks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We took our whole family including teenagers, adults children, grandchildren. Great service, clean spacious rooms, close to shopping, wonderful pool area, great kid's pool, great continental breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISGRKS, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Thank you for the great review!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your holidays!

We look forward to seeing you again at Country Inn and Suites Grand Forks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks-UND
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 28 in Grand Forks
313 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks

Address: 3101 S 42nd St, Grand Forks, ND 58201-5917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Forks
#5 Business Hotel in Grand Forks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grand Forks
Price Range: $59 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Country Inn & Suites Grand Forks! The hotel is conveniently located just off of I-29 and 32nd Ave South at exit 138 which is within 3 blocks of shopping, dining, entertainment, sporting facilities and golf courses. Location is also just minutes from the University of North Dakota, Alerus Center, Ralph Engelstad, Grand Forks International Airport and Grand Forks Air Force Base. Hotel offers complimentary Deluxe Continental breakfast, parking, weekday newspaper and High Speed Internet. Hotel also features indoor heated swimming pool, kiddie pool with slide and waterfall, fitness room and multiple suite options including the whirlpool and fireplace suite as well as the Family Suite which features a private king bedroom, 2 twin beds and a dining room table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Grand Forks
Country Inn & Suites Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Grand Forks Country Inn
Country Inn Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing