We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepless in Grand Forks”

Select Inn Grand Forks
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Select Inn Grand Forks
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Grand Forks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed alone at this Select Inn a couple years ago and had an ok experience: a cheap hotel that meets low expectations. However, this trip my wife and I were force into a smoking room that was so uncomfortable that we left after six hours of sleep. The stench wafted out the door when it opened but the desk could not give us another room. Sheets were stained, the comforter had a cigarette burn, the in between blanket was gritty to the touch. The smoke smell was so bad that I had to get up in the middle of the night to wash off from an allergic reaction. Showering the next morning, black streaks went down the drain from what I picked up from the carpet with my bare feet. My wife's Cpap machine had to be washed inside and out to stop the smokey smell from pushing through the machine at home.

When I confronted the person at the desk the next morning, she refused to put me to give me contact information for a manager or an owner. She was unable or unwilling to rectify the situation in any way shape or form.

If you must stay at this Select Inn, a nonsmoking room is a must. I don't have a high standard for a hotel and am pretty much willing in anything cheap, safe and clean. The smoking room is unacceptable by every measure.

Room Tip: Non-smoking only. Smoking rooms are not acceptable, even for a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSD, Owner at Select Inn Grand Forks, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am very sorry for the condition of the room that you experienced when you stayed at our hotel. We pride ourselves in having a clean and comfortable property and obviously we failed with your stay. We have 100% guarantee policy at this property and obviously that failed when you tried to communicate with our front desk. Please know that your experience will be used for a training purposes with our front desk staff and I assure you that if you give us another try. We will certainly exceed your expectations. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here with husband and kids for brief overnight on a road trip. This isn't our usual type of accommodations but we thought we'd give it a try as it was really just a place to lay our heads over night. I was pleasantly surprised! The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. All staff i interacted with were pleasant and courteos. Breakfast left much to be desired as it offered donuts, muffins and a couple of apples. I would stay again for the same reason (ie. bed for the night) but not for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for 1 night while on our way to our summer vacation destination, we paid less than $60 total for the night. It was clean and safe and better than what we expected. The continental breakfast is not worth setting your hopes on, so don't bank on that.

The area is quiet and just a little out of the way, but felt safe, I went for a run in the morning that we checked out and it is close to the university, and several other hotels that are douuble the cost.

overall, I would stay here again, as a stop over only, If i was looking to stay a coule of nights, I would look for something a little more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derloc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

With coupon from the traveller guide booklets found in some restaurants and truckstops, this hotel became $49/night for 2 people when other "deal" prices at other hotels ranged from $65 for poor quality to $125 for good hotels.

So, all was acceptable. But, beds were not very comfy...though did the job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey-Priscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed whole weekend and was pleasantly suprised. Had flat screen tv with plenty of channels and fast internt.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danboinwaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel doesn't make the best first impression but it's actually pretty good. The room was clean and spacious and had a mini-fridge. Didn't like that the TV was mounted to the wall, but that's not a big deal. The beds were firm but comfortable. The other furniture was a bit more dated but still in good overall condition. Although the cushions on the chairs were kinda cruddy with stains and a cigarette burn (even though we stayed in a no smoking room). The bathroom and shower was nice. The towels were very basic and the bed sheets seemed rather thin. The room air conditioner worked properly. Yes, I would stay here again but might try to find someplace a bit nicer if it wasn't too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoSyncro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Never tried one of their properties and used a coupon so paid $54 inc tax. Genuine friendly receptionist, speedy check in. Room fine clean with two queen beds, fridge and microwave. Table and two chairs. No coffee maker, no elevator.

Breakfast was juice, toast, pastries, english muffins and coffee.

Good location just short drive into Grand Forks. Would have no hesitation staying again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#24 of 28 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn and Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Grand Forks
Travelodge Grand Forks
#26 of 28 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 28 in Grand Forks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#17 of 28 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Inn Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Inn Grand Forks

Property: Select Inn Grand Forks
Address: 4001 Gateway Dr, Grand Forks, ND 58203-0833
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Select Inn Grand Forks 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Inn Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing