We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Knife & Cleaver
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveler rating
304
88
43
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
304
88
43
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbletchley parkcheese boardfor sunday lunchsuperior roommain buildinglovely roomtwo night stayfollowing morningcooked breakfastknife cleaverchurch bellsterrystartersbedfordshiremillbrookaccommodationannex
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 470 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after a day at Woburn Safari park. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and warm. Beds comfortable and imaginatively named after different ales. A good nights sleep

The food was ok: there was a specific veggie menu but lots of meat substitutes (veggie sausages, quorn etc) which was a little disappointing. I had two starters which were the perfect size, but the ravioli came on a side salad with salad dressing rather than the bed of leaves as expected, and not enough sauce. They were however very open to feedback and passed it on to the chef who said he would change it, so I couldn't really ask for more. Lovely breakfast too!

Great location, great ales and nice staff

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bookmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks for wrighting your reveiw, all feed back is constructive and everyones taste is different but we are happy to listen.
Thanks again
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had a fantastic night. A excellent meal very good value plus a lovely gift and a red rose.The. Staff and owners always make you fill special.Not forgetting a glass of bubbly so glad we went there will be back that's for sure but you must book as it was very busy when we were there thank you Knife&Cleaver for a lovely night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 55555Only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thanks Linda, waht a great night it certainly was, so happy you enjoyed your time with us.
Thanks
Graham & terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We went for dinner with friends,the meal was expensive,and frankly not good,maybe the chef was having a bad night ?Other friends went recently,and complained ,what has happened ? We havent been for many years,and will not return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cubancigarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

How strange we have no recolaection of this??
Give me a ring please.
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent a day and night at the Knife and Cleaver ( as a couple )and had a great time.The staff were lovely, the food was excellent and the accommodation was great . Would highly recommend staying here .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thanks so much, we loved having you and please come again soon.
Thanks
Graham & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just returned from a visit to this wonderful pub/inn. We had lunch on the day of arrival, and an evening bar meal . Food was brilliant, staff very friendly and attentive, and the décor of the pub and accommodation was first class.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastone07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thanks so much you are great,
All the staff say a big hello and thank you
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews