We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yecch! Unclean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yecch! Unclean rooms”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We chose this hotel before discovering TripAdvisor, and really regretted not doing our research beforehand. The hotel is in a good location, but it really just gave us a feeling of sleaze. There is a difference between trying to be a budget place and being cheap but the manager here just doesn't get it.

Our sheets were super-thin, our pillows were the quality you would get on an airplane, and the beds were rock-hard. The breakfast offerings were basic, but just gave the impression they cut corners at every opportunity. The room was not cleaned well, and the towels had some large stains on them that appeared to be blood. Lots of hairs in the shower and around the toilet - lots! We even found part of a condom wrapper in the dresser drawer. We are not picky, but this hotel really had us saying "Yecch!"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MZelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    169
    131
    76
    86
See reviews for
235
112
45
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel a couple of months ago, I made a mistake and booked the wrong weekend, we were early, but the girl at the front desk was great and we worked it out, changed the date and stayed. We thought all was good, WRONG!! The following Friday, someone at the hotel tried to charge our credit card with charges, not just one or two attempts, but 9 different times and 8 differnt amounts within 18 minutes! Since we use one of the loadable credit cards, nothing could be put on it, (get one, they are the smartest and safest things to use), but they tried. I called the hotel and was informed that the manager was not available, but I could leave a message, so I did. After 2 hours without a call back, I called again, I was then informed that the manager wasn't in, I asked why wasn't I told that before, the girl hung up on me.
I found the head office number in NJ and called there, at first the person was good, till I caught her in a couple of lies, she then got pissed at me, gave me an incident number and she hung up on me. Great customer service. She was more concerned about me wasting her time then trying to figure out who at the hotel was trying to steal money and commit credit card fraud. Still haven't heard from them
DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL!! If you do, check your statements, if they tried to do this to us, then there is no way it was the first or last time.

Room Tip: Tip?? Don't stay here, thats the tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darrius11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fargo hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Too soft uncomfortable matress and a huge dry snot (or worse) on the wall of our room pale in comparison with the most unwelcome, rude, annoyed, cold and unsmiley front desk clerk Jasmine. She could not find our reservation and did not attempt to resolve the issue - just was not interested. The other clerk was great, but Jasmine's attitude outweighed her positive efforts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaLasovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderCry4, Manager at Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a review in regard to your stay at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2011

showers were cold two mornings in a row, walls are paper thin and could hear housekeeping at 7am, could hear the walffle maker going off at 7am. gave us a whole $5 off a night because of the cold showers and noise. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I have been staying at the Super 8 of Fargo for about 14 months. The reason I continue to stay there is because of there freindly proffesonal staff. They are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay an enjoyable one. I have been there when they have unruley quests that are dissturbing other quests. They always handle these problems with great dignity and proffesionalism. The rooms are always clean and fresh.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderCry4, Manager at Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us at the Fargo Super 8 & Suites. Your business is very important to us. We value and utilize your comments by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be! Our staff enjoys accommodating your lodging needs and at the same time welcomes you to our "at home" type comfort. We look forward to many more years of service with you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I was at this establishment when the hockey group was there. I complained about how the kids were running at all hours and loud and in my view there was NO supervision. Parents were too busy to be bothered. I heard security come over and ask then to quiet down and it was to no avail. Police were called 3-4 times and as soon as they left the party was on again. Whoever was in the room above mine sounded like they were bowling all night. They were asked to quiet down and as soon as security left it started again. There was NO consideration for any of the other guests in the hotel.

I stay at this hotel 3-4 times a month over the past 6 years and have always found the service to be exceptional. Rooms have always been clean and if there was a problem it was taken care of.

My evening was a disaster due to the hockey players and familys total lack of respect for others. This was not the fault of the motel as they have stated but their fault for causing the problems.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich56601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderCry4, Manager at Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
I would like to thank you for writing this review in regard to your stay with us during the Squirt Hockey event. It is very unfortunate that you had to experience the noise and inappropriate behavior that this hockey group brought into our hotel that weekend. I really appreciate your patience and that you understood that our hotel staff and security guards tried their very best to control this group. Unfortunately, they were unable to at some point and the Fargo Police Dept. were called for assistance. Again, thank you so very much for your time and your comments/review report. The staff @ Super 8 & Suites look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Some friends and I chose a weekend to meet up to catch up and relax. The rooms were great, the staff was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, there was an obnoxious, rude hockey group there that let their kids play hockey all over, hitting pucks off our door on several occasions, and because we also saw them playing in the parking lot, made us feel we needed to park a distance away. The only thing worse than this was the drunken parents who seemed to think they should have run of the place and run everyone else out. The front desk apologized repeatedly when we complained and did their very best to reason with the idiots, and again at checkout, promising this was not a typical stay and inviting us back. Considering we saw police swarming the place, I'm guessing the employees were doing their best to deal with an uncontrollable group. We WILL come back as long as this hockey group never does. What a bunch of animals! A friend who stays there regularly recommended the place, and says normally it's great - rooms, staff, price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrendyLady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge East
Econo Lodge East
#44 of 50 in Fargo
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Fargo Airport
Super 8 Fargo Airport
#38 of 50 in Fargo
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#36 of 50 in Fargo
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Fargo
Days Inn Fargo
#10 of 50 in Fargo
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn West Acres
Quality Inn West Acres
#43 of 50 in Fargo
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn Fargo
Kelly Inn Fargo
#30 of 50 in Fargo
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall

Property: Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall
Address: 3518 Interstate Blvd S, I-29 & West Acres Mall Exit 64, Fargo, ND 58103-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Super 8 Inn & Suites West Acres is a 108 room hotel located conveniently steps off I-94 & I-29. Passing through Fargo for business or pleasure, we offer Clean Comfort at an economical price! Hungry? Walk or quickly commute to many of our outstanding food service neighbors such as Perkins and Sickie's garage. In town to do some shopping, we are located diagonally from the West Acres Shopping Mall and minutes from Scheels' Sports and Scheels' Hardware. Our central location also lends our guest quick access to Hector International Airport, The Fargo Dome, as well as NDSU, MSU & Concordia Colleges. We offer FREE breakfast,FREE WiFi, A Large pool and conference area and plush parking with a smile that will greet you at the door. Entrust your $ will be spent right with us. Enjoy comfort and cleanliness along with affordability, and spend the money you save on something you've been saving for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fargo/i-29/West Acres Mall Hotel Fargo
Super Eight Fargo
Fargo Super Eight
Fargo Super 8
Super 8 Motel Fargo i 29 West Acres Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing